We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning rooms with stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Ranked #14 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning rooms with stunning views”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We booked the Premium Spa Deluxe - The Club and was very impressed. The room was amazing with a huge balcony and good quality furniture and of course the Spa tub.
The staff are extremely helpful and very friendly. Both my husband and i had a problem with a few bites and when the staff saw us, took us straight to their medical room and where we were tended too by a Nurse Practitioner who gave us medication and cream at no cost to us. The Manager checked on our progress over the next few days which we thought was a lovely touch.
The Club is a nice touch where you can relax and escape from the sun and serves limited snacks and teas, coffee and juice throughout the day and cocktails, beers and wines between 5:30 and 7pm and Brandy, Baileys and Amaretto from 8:30 - 9:30pm. A nice way to start or finish the evening off.
We could find no fault here and only praise. This is our second Centara Grand hotel with our previous being in Pattaya. I was a little worried that this one would not match up to Pattaya but needn't of as it was equally fab.
Amazing hotel, amazing staff in a lovely setting. The only improvement that could be made is a pathway from the hotel along the road but that is more a resort issue than the hotels.

Room Tip: Book a Premium Spa Deluxe - corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrs001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,439
    687
    258
    95
    70
See reviews for
1,212
827
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Almost half way through our 10 night stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort - a family holiday - myself and my husband with our 6 month old son together with my parents.
The resort itself is great - the pools are fantastic, the locaton on the beach is great. The restaurants right outside on the beach are cheap and tasty.
There has been some inconsistencies with our bookings:
I asked the travel agent to request that our rooms were close together - we have been put in 2 seperate buildings and when we requested to move we were told no as the resort is full.
I also gave the travel agent a list of our building preferences - we are in building no 1 which was our last preference.
There was confusion with our bookings when we arrived (check in took about an hour). One room was ready but we had to wait for the other room - as part of our package a drink voucher is meant to be offered as the room wasn't ready but this has not happened.
We also booked a cot but had to ask for this to be put in our room.
We did not receive a welcome pack in our room - therefore missing the CD, spa credit voucher etc.
The first 2 nights my parents received a little gift with turn down service (cheese and bickies and then creme brulee). We asked if we could have this also - so the next 2 nights we received a tray with food but my parents have missed out.
Yesterday after the rooms were cleaned my parents were left with no towels.
My parents received an invite to the managers cocktail party but we have no invite.
The plug in our bathroom is broken and have told reception twice but it is still not fixed (so washing baby bottles in the ice bucket).
We had 24 hours with no water coming out of the hot tap. Over hearing people around the pool the next morning this seemed to be an issue with all of building one.
The lift has been broken on a couple of occasions.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Guest Relations Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Amber H

Many thanks for taking your time sending us your feedback.

Since the resort is running very high occupancy, therefore it is very challenging for us to confirm everyone’s preference. However, we did try our best to have your room in building 1 and your parents are staying at building 2.

We have received 2 separated bookings from your agent, one is for your own room for the period of stay between 18th Oct – 29th Oct 2012 for 11.5 nights but you did not show up on the day, we then have contacted your agent and let them know about this but heard nothing back from the agent. We assumed the booking might have been cancelled for some reason. The other booking is for your parents, staying between 20 Oct – 30 Oct 2012 for 10 nights, therefore the room was ready upon their check-in at 1.00pm. We gave your parents’ room to you since you are traveling with a baby, this is why your parents have to wait for another hour to get the room. The baby cot has not been set upon arrival because we did not have your booking confirm to check in on 20th October, anyway, we did it right away once room was ready.

Apologize for not preparing the welcome pack in the room upon arrival, the broken plug in the bathroom and no hot water for a day in building 1, these have been fixed accordingly. We will ensure with our team regarding the turn down service, thank you for letting us know about this.

The management cocktail party invitation card was placed in your room by our housekeeper when they did the daily turn down service on Tuesday evening. Of course, you are invited for this weekly cocktail party.

I have checked with your room attendant that when she was making up your parents’ room, she was running out of towels from her own trolley, she then closed the door running to get more towels from the pantry, but when she came back to the room, your parents were already there and asked for the towels. She refilled the towels and said sorry to your parents.

Warm regards
Fongfa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Currently in a spa Delux room sitting on my luxury lounge overlooking the magnificent pool area which blends into the ocean. My biggest problem is do I jump into pool and have a cocktail, go for a massage or should I have breakfast first? Yes breakfast I can't begin to explain how good the food is here, I know I will be greeted by smiling helpful staff where nothing is a problem my every need is catered for. I will be trying very hard not to eat too much today but I can't go past the eggs cooked to order however I want and I mean however with freshly baked ham and the widest variety of other things you could ever imagine having for breakfast. The Cove restaurant just amazes me every time I walk in I thought nothing could top my first dinner with a steak buffet but everyday they manage to meet the same high standards. Probably the only thing they don't have right are the theme names for their buffets because there is no way you could call it steak night when there is also a selection of Thai and other international dishes along with the most amazing desserts I have ever seen right down to the chocolate fountain. I could go on all day about the food but breakfast is calling. Would not be fair before I go to not mention housekeeping room services and reception who are all extremely friendly, even when passing staff around the resort I am met with a smile and greeting. I have had taxi, special request and lost property situations and every one of these has been handled above and beyond. I have club benefits which I have hardly used because the overall standard is so high anyway, the staff at Centara have got it so right. Well Done.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The reception area is not the size you would expect from a five star resort but from then on everything else is.
The pools are designed for kids and kids at heart with the 3 metre rock jump, water slides and river + the other 3 pools. Our kids (10 & 8) loved Yu (life guard) and he interacted perfectly with all the kids and they looked forward to seeing him each day. Kids club was entertaining from organised events to chilling out playinig on the computers and video games.
We had room 841 and would recommend it as one of the best dozen located rooms in the resort. Large balcony overlooking the pool area perfect for an afternoon drink and able to keep an eye on the kids below.
Breakfast buffet went of for miles. Went to the BBQ night and only managed to get through a quarter of the spread. It was all cooked to your request and brought to your table. It was my daughters birthday and they presented a cake and had the band come to our table and play a couple of songs for her.
The resort is well located away from the shops but close enough for a good stroll or short taxi ride into Karon and Kate for an evening out.
Must admit a couple of us did get a 12 hour bug (including friends from another resort) but we ate off the resort many times so can not confirm its source.
One thing I do not recommend it teaching your kids how to order drinks and ice-creams and assign them back to the room ;).
Spent 10 nights and enjoyed it immensley .

Room Tip: ask for a room in blocks 6, 7, 8 or 9 if you have kids to be near the pools or lower numbers to be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Staff are lovely ,very helpful , and so much more ,easy access to Karon and surrounding areas ,
I would defiantly come back to this resort ,clean beaches ,pool areas and fantastic lazy river or even adult pool ,for relaxation ,
Rooms very comfortable ,bar and restaurants are amazing !
What more can I say ,lovely lovely lovely!!!!
So a big thank you to all the staff for making our holiday a very special holiday , and also thank you to Kee and Beedee ,and the girls xxxxx

Room Tip: Spa delux ocean view, very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelawoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned after spending 3 fantastic weeks at this resort. We are frequent travellers to Phuket and we would highly recommend this resort, especially if you have kids. The pools were awesome, our kids (4 & 7 years old) almost developed gills and fins spending so much time in the water. I can not speak more highly of the pool area staff. The way they interact with the kids was special. My children felt totally relaxed and "part of the family" The kids club was interactive and interesting and the staff treated all the kids as their own. A big "thank-you" to some staff that made our holiday one to remember - Pool staff - Nok, Boy, Sak, Mai, Kom, Yu, (my children love you all), the kids club - Tai, Namwham, Pat and the young man, who's english is extremely good. The holiday was such a success, we will be back next year! Thanks also to Alex and Saabi who were always friendly & helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms have good beach views, however Block 9 and 6 have excellent views of the pools and beach a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The resort is set on Karon Beach, well away from the hustle and bustle of Patong which is both a good and bad thing. The resort is a long way from everywhere. If you need shops or restaurants they can be reached by a 10 minute walk along the beach or by the resorts free shuttle bus into Patong. The resorts restaurant food is quite limited for vegetarians except for the buffet breakfast which was extensive. The resort is huge so I think it could be quite crowded in high season. We stayed in low season and there were only a small number of guests which made it quite charming. We loved the adults only pool and enjoyed daily mocktails and lunch delivered to our deck chairs.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean and have stairs / lift access. Don't book a room with a plunge pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quicker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
20.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
3.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#7 Spa Hotel in Karon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#22 Family Hotel in Karon
#29 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drawing its design theme from the classic Sino-Portuguese architecture that characterises Phuket Town, Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is set directly on the sands at Karon Beach, backed by a green hill, and grouped around its own water park. The resort offers a memorable holiday experience for everyone: couples and families will love the exhilarating leisure activities, the water sports, and of course the water park, and corporate and incentive groups have fine meeting facilities. The accommodation offers a comforting and relaxing ambience for all, and for guests preferring seclusion, the villas provide exclusivity along with great views, and come with the Club category benefits. The award-winning spa, SPA Cenvaree, is a luxurious treat that everyone will enjoy, and has suites for singles and couples. The drive to and from Phuket International Airport is easy and convenient, and takes less than one hour by road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing