We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Nearby Hotels
$145
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$105
$90
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sawasdee Village(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$109
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mom Tri's Villa Royale(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$190
$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort(Kata Noi Beach)(Great Value!)
$150
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Beyond Resort Karon(Karon)(Great Value!)
$168
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Baray Villa(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$257
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chanalai Garden Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$37
$33
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,087)
Filter reviews
3,087 results
Traveler rating
1,766
839
295
106
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,766
839
295
106
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy riverluna barcove restaurantkids clubdeluxe pool suitewater slidesjumping rockcliff jumpadult poolthe club loungekaron townocean facingentertainment teampool facilitiescarpe diemseafood buffetmain pool
Filter
Updating list...
2,086 - 2,091 of 3,087 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in August and for first time ever in Thailand only eating at this resort and drinking bottle water we got gastro and were sick for two weeks after returning home. The worst holiday we have ever had! After having just stayed at The Shore Katathani (a true 5 star resort) we were extremely disappointed to arrive at this resort and be driven to our room past a stinky smelling river that nearly made us vomit. This smell is everywhere near the whole front of the resort and on the dirty beach. After having left the beautiful Kata Noi beach we were very upset considering the price we were paying for our balcony spa deluxe room.

Having said that one positive is the room, they are quite beautiful with plenty of space and a wonderful view from the balcony of the pool and beach (building 8). The bathroom is large if not a little strange with a spacelike shower and a mirror right in front of it but I still liked it. The cleaning staff were efficient, no problems there. The negatives are the food is terrible for a five star resort, they have a stupid towel/ticket system which I have never encountered anywhere in the world and our lift in building 8 was out of order for nearly our whole stay. We did enjoy the adults only pool but again its not very big with few loungers available. I would avoid this hotel if you are a couple with no children, its more like a cement jungle with crazy kids everywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyliemac79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for your review,

We must admit our resort is not the type suitable for you.
As stated earlier, the beach was not under our control till Oct 01.

Should we have been informed of your stomach discomfort we would have found ways to help you.

As for the river, in most of South Asia this is an issue the Governments will one day have to seriously address.
In the case you reported it happen for a couple of hours.
I remembered having been very annoyed by the general level of hygiene and cleanliness of so called developed countries recently.

Best regards,

Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Family of 2 adults and 2 children stayed in the Premier Spa Deluxe room in building 6 in June of 2012. First time ‘trip’ user and I am floored at the amount of complaints I’m reading for this resort.
Here’s my family experience. Booked this resort 9 months in advance from the wonderful reviews on trip advisor and of-coarse it’s location and star rating.
At first I was hesitant with our building as our room was directly above the jumping cliff. In fact it was perfect as all we could hear was the waterfall from the cave below and I think we received the best afternoon/evening sun.
Our sink did run brown and it was clogged. We called the plumber and yes, it took longer than normal, but it was fixed in a few hours.
We did get sick and the cleaners changed all linen. As the resort was 95% capacity, they did not have a spare duvet to replace that night, but we managed and it was replaced the following day.
We would have preferred more choices in restaurants but found it was sufficient. Yes, prices for food maybe cheaper elsewhere or around the corner but here, you are dining in a five star hotel.
I would suggest taking up the option of their Bonanza Deals they offer you upon check in, where you buy so many Thai credits to dine at the resort. This is to be accepted/paid within 24 hours from check in and well worth it as you receive extra Thai depending on the deal you pay for.
Location: Depends what kind of a holiday you want. The beach is great and adjacent from the resort with no road, and there are security men patrolling the area in the evening. If you wanted to be walking distance to Patong – then book yourself a hotel in Patong. If you wanted to be closer to Karon Town then check the map. Sorry, but I’m reading far too many complaints on the location. This resort offers guests privacy, with the option to easily get a taxi/tuk tuk to wherever you want from the front desk.
The pools! Wow – Absolutely Amazing, and all the positives you have read – it’s all true.
Staff – Truly beautiful people. They do their best to accommodate us and if they don’t understand our English, it may be because we talk to fast or want it now.

See you Centara Grand in 2013.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for choosing Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket and for the review of your stay with us. We are glad that you had a good time with us.

We do hope we can welcome you & your family back soon.

Warm regards
Fongfa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were not too impressed by this hotel. Previously we stayed in the Le Meridien hotel (Karon) which was better. This hotel is meant to be a 5 star hotel. Some of the issues we ran into. Items on the dinner menu were not available on the first day we got there. Room sink was always clogged. The night before we checked out, the entire hotel had no flush water for over 12hrs. Overall wasnt too impressed. Some plus points I guess - Pools were nice, rooms were clean. Staff very friendly. One thing to note, beach wasnt that good either as we were told that it wasnt a private beach. And lastly I dont understand why they dont provide free wifi all over the hotel just in the lobby and one restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms with the small private pool is pretty good. Has a large balcony
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanjay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPBR, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to send us your feedback.

As we take particular care in offering the highest quality food in our restaurants we do use local fresh products and are subject to market availabilities.

We are sorry for the water shortage you experienced it was rather exceptional and affected the whole Karon area as the municipality water treatment plan was out of order this particular evening.

We all look forward to welcoming you again to have another chance to impress you this time.

Warm regards,

Christophe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Centara Grand Beach Resort Karon in September for 8 nights and can certainly speak highly of both the staff and the facilities. Like many people we read the reviews prior to booking and although they included a number of negatives on balance we felt it would be the right place - we were certainly pleased we chose Centara Grand Beach. As a couple, we were concerned that it may be a little too noisy and I could imagine if you have children this place would be fabulous. That said, we were still very happy to be there. We arrived just prior to the Australian school holidays so we saw the hotel in both a quieter time and then near capacity. If we had the choice we would avoid the main school holiday period as it does get loud and busy in the pools and at breakfast time with lots of families - but this was an indication of people having a fun time. Also the way the resort is laid out it never seemed too crowded. Fortunately there is the adults pool which was a lot quieter. We were on the top floor of block 7 so right in the middle with great views over the pools and the ocean. I would imagine that blocks 2/3 or 9 may be quieter during the day.The highlight for us were the staff – we could not have asked for better service from all we came in contact with – we will write to the Management directly to praise individuals but from the restaurants, the Club, reception and housekeeping they were all delightful. Other recommendations would be try the Thai cooking class and the spa is fabulous. We ate most meals at the resort which were good (and yes they can be less expensive in Karon or on the beach but they were still very reasonable prices). The nightly dance performance themed with the Cove restaurant buffet offerings added some fun and made the resort special with a feeling that there is always something to do. A special mention of the grounds staff – the gardens are beautiful.

Room Tip: Great views from the top floors. Block 2/3 or 9 may be quieter but we were in Block 7 great position and although a bit noisy during the day from the pools still a good position
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbacMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPBR, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you very much for staying with us and placing a review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us here.

We all look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Warm regards

Fongfa
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Great resort - Had Pool villa, was perfect for two (would describe better as large Spa size) to cool off. - Room Great, bathroom perfect, all very clean.
Staff very friendly and helpful, some improvements in English here and there might be helpful but this would be nitpicking to find something to improve upon.
LOVED the adult pool to relax; A great facility for single couples; No problem getting beds and service again first class.
Food good; breakfast comprehensive for any taste or culture, and restaurant good.
Is a car or taxi ride down to Patong beach, a courtesy bus a few times a day would be a useful addition.
Perfect location on a lovely beach. Save up for better rooms in good spots in the complex and you shouldn't have to complain about anything!!
Would stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: Save up for a Pool Villa!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

We would love to have you back in our resort and show the effort made to improve our spoken English skill, our in house teacher is working hard at this.

Thank you for staying with us and for your great review.

Warm regards,

Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews