We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Ranked #16 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great holiday at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

This hotel is fabulous, it is a tropical paradise where the staff are so kind and friendly. The hotel and the rooms are so clear they sparkly and the staff really go over and beyond for you. The hotel is nestled on beautiful Karon Beach, which has a lifeguard on the beach and clear flags displayed when the tides are strong, however with the choice of numerous pools, water slides and a lazy river you are spoilt for choice. The pool bars all operate on payment on checkout, acting like an all inclusive, so not to worry about money for food and drink.
Karon beach is a short walk, however in 40 degrees heat a tuc tuc is advisable and very cheap.
Patang is the opposite direction for a wild night out and equally affordable.
The food and restaurants on site are nice however a little on the pricey side, but the lunar bar has fabulous cocktails.
We had a large family holiday of ten of us, four sets of couples one with two young children, and all found that the hotel and the location caters for all ages, tastes, and whether you want a relaxing or crazy time Phuket is the place for you. I strongly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: all rooms have a beach view lovely to wake up to and to watch the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,412
    675
    255
    95
    69
See reviews for
1,188
815
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our stay was excellent. We found pool area was fantastic for all ages. Even mum at 66 years old going down the water slides and enjoying the lazy river.

Rooms:
Our stay in our first room was a disaster due to maintenance, eg. No fans in the balcony area.
Rained for two days, our balcony was soaked including our day bead, we had to spend time in the room. We called management and explained the situation. They were very concerned and helpful, so, they upgraded us to a Delux room with a private pool, which was excellent.

Further into our stay we then had problems with maintenance again,

1: Sliding door falling off tracks
2: Bed side light not working
3: Hand towel rail broken
4: Pelmet lights not working
5: Fan on the balcony not working
6: Fridge not working to compacity.
7: Pool light not working.

House keeping needs to be looked at.

All in all, Fantastic hotel but a lot of issues that need to be looked at.

Room Tip: Ocean facing Delux, good balcony, lovely view to the adult pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

i went there with my family for a holiday. we stayed in room 832 (in the block #8), from where we had a great view. Overall, our stay was excellent. The beach was very good, clean, and not crowded, and very accessible from the hotel. The pool was the best...kids loved it...it had a water slide, lazy river, and jumping pool - all of which made it exciting (rather than just have a mass of water body). Rates were reasonable too. Staff was extremely warm, friendly, and hospitable (special mention for Ms. Monthip at the Cove restaurant - always smiling and eager to help). Finally - the location was great , a 10 minute walk to Karon, and a 10 min taxi/tuk tuk ride to Paton, giving you the flexibility to explore the local towns for food, massage etc. Breakfast spread, and food in general, was excellent at both the restaurants.

Only downside - there were only two restaurants in the hotel (limiting the choice), and i thought they could have done a better job cleaning the rooms everyday.

Room Tip: Rooms in Block 8 and 9 are the best. We couldn't get block 9, but block 8 was good enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunilPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

We found this hotel to be wonderful. The rooms are spacious and we had a view straight onto the beach which was so beautiful. The bars and restaurants were super and the Thai service was second to none. My only complaints about this hotel would be that there is no LCD clock in the room which I find so useful when away as I like to keep my phone/watch on home time. Also there are alot of steps around the complex to get to restaurants and bars and they could do with some lighting at night as it is very hard to see where one is walking. Overall though, a lovely place and would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbara_cantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from 8 day holiday to Phuket, staying at this wonderful resort. We arrived around 11am and after a welcome drink were provided with early access to our Room, namely Room 921 in Block 9 as has been recommended by so many. We had upgraded to a Premium Delux room which means its on a corner with a wrap around balcony-this is a great feature for a warm climate as you can really enjoy outside time on the day bed, afternoon tea at the table or relaxing on the deck chairs-yes, all these options were on the balcony. The room itself was so close to the ocean (maybe 10m from the beach sand) with wrap around views of the pool too. As it was a special trip, we were surprised on day one with a romantic sprinkling of rose petals on our bed/bath plus a special cake-such a nice touch. Everyday they would deliver afternoon tea snack too. The breakfast was amazing (banana roti yum) and the hotel gym was the best I've experienced at a hotel. Fabulous number of pools to laze about, complete with swim up bar. The lazy river was fun too. We can highly recommend the on-site cooking class which involves a visit to market, expert teaching, then a do-it class with a four course lunch. Alex was a fabulous chef! Another nice touch was the managers cocktail party we were invited to one evening. Dinner at the resort was good quality, even if about double external restaurant costs. Only improvements are wifi should be included and so should a DVD player in each room ( both available at extra cost). Karon town is a nice 10-15 min walk straight down beach and a 200b taxi back at night. We'd have no hesitation returning and recommending to others as a nice romantic place to stay as a couple.

Room Tip: Block 9 in a Premium Delux Room (921 or 931).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fetch69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

We have just returned from there, we went there for our honeymoon and loved everything about it there, the food, the staff was fantastic cant really complian, the only thing was mosiquitos that got me!!!

would love to go there again

m harrow

Room Tip: The block 6 is facing the pool area can get nosiy with kids!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Just spent 6 glorious (and romantic) nights with the wife in a corner pool suite. Clearly the best place I have ever stayed. Service was extraordinary, food was sublime and the overall ambience was exquisite. Absolutely loved the stroll back at night from the restaurant to our room as this hotel is lit up like a palace at night. Pleased to say that the Baht Bonanza made eating in at the restaurants very economical. Very very happy.
If I was to find 1 fault it would be with the beach. Quite a bit of debris that was certainly a feature of all of the Karon stretch but I reckon the hotel could do more to ensure that te area in front of the hotel is kept spotless given the extreme cleanliness of the hotel grounds themselves.
So glad I chose this place and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Would definitely fork out the extra money and go for the corner pool or spa suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
20.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
3.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Karon
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#9 Spa Hotel in Karon
#15 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#22 Family Hotel in Karon
#29 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drawing its design theme from the classic Sino-Portuguese architecture that characterises Phuket Town, Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is set directly on the sands at Karon Beach, backed by a green hill, and grouped around its own water park. The resort offers a memorable holiday experience for everyone: couples and families will love the exhilarating leisure activities, the water sports, and of course the water park, and corporate and incentive groups have fine meeting facilities. The accommodation offers a comforting and relaxing ambience for all, and for guests preferring seclusion, the villas provide exclusivity along with great views, and come with the Club category benefits. The award-winning spa, SPA Cenvaree, is a luxurious treat that everyone will enjoy, and has suites for singles and couples. The drive to and from Phuket International Airport is easy and convenient, and takes less than one hour by road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing