We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,372)
Filter reviews
3,373 results
Traveler rating
1,955
903
320
111
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,955
903
320
111
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy riverluna barkids clubdeluxe pool suitewater slidesmare restaurantjumping rockcliff jumpadult poolthe club loungekaron townocean facingentertainment teamseafood buffettwo double bedsmain poolcarpe diem
Filter
Updating list...
2,532 - 2,537 of 3,373 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Located at the start of the Karon Beach in Phuket, it provides beautiful accommodation and recreation facilities for the whole family. The Karon Beach stretches 3 kilometers long with fine white sand that extends far into the water. The sea at Karon Bay is presitine and clear, reflecting the blue colour of the sky, matching those offered by exclusive resorts in South Pacific or in the Carebean.

Whilst the resort is not as exclusive as those expensive resorts in Maldives or Bora bora, however it is more affordable and offer excellent value for money.

The rooms are spacious, each having a balcony facing the bay with private jacuzzie. The deluxe room even has its own prive small swimming pool. You can watch the sun set ian your own room and/or the roof top Bar during Happy Hour. Staff are all very friendly and greets you with lots of smiles. Will certainly go back again with my grandson next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the bay, higher floors offers better view. Corner room has bigger balcony.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GardenHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Great hotel very worthy of it's 5 stars, in appearance only. The staff were very friendly and helpful, however the language barrier at times proved quite testing. The breakfast buffet was good. However after arriving on our first day, we were reluctant to go out looking for restaurants, as we were tired from our journey. We decided to go to the cove restaurant at the hotel, we arrived at round 9 . We were shown to a table that was dirty and had to bring it to the waitress attention. Bearing in mind the restaurant, vast as it was was practically empty! They had a steak night buffet on this particular evening. The food was sparse and I felt I was scratching around to find something that I liked. The food was mostly cold apart from the two ounce steak my husband had cooked for him. The staff didn't speak or understand English. Which was very frustrating. It wasn't a cheap meal but it certainly was the last we had in the hotel. We found places in town far more traditional to the Thai cuisine
The lobby staff were very well spoken in English, especially a young guy called Cruz he was invaluable to our stay.
The hotel is advertised as being located on the beach, however this is a public beach where the Centara Grand has no sun loungers actually on the beach! Beware the sun loungers on the beach are not the property of the hotel, therefore you will be charged for them!
Overall a great looking hotel with a spa to die for, they certainly know how to treat you like a queen! Just a shame the language barrier was a bother.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shirley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

my wife & i spent 8 fantastics days & nights at centara grand beach resort in october & november 2011 & we both enjoyed it so much - we are going back again in october & november 2012 - great rooms - very friendly & helpful staff - the breakfast is superb - great location with the beach a very short walk away & the pools are just great

Room Tip: ocean facing rooms are superb - great view of the beach & ocean
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Stayed here the last week of February for 6 nights at the end of our holiday. When booking our holiday I wanted our final destination to have great facilities for my 2 boys (7 & 9). I don't like huge hotels & have always shied away from hotels with kids clubs but now that my children are getting a bit older I felt that 18 nights with a beach alone may get a bit boring. So we thought that we would go for a hotel with some extra facilities. The Centara drew me in with it's lovely exterior, beach front location & of course the water slides & lazy river. After much deliberation, will it be like a holiday camp with the kids club, is the hotel too big (we prefer max 100 rooms) But we took the dive and certainly didn't regret it.

Amazing we loved every bit of it, absolutely perfect for a family.
We only booked the basic room & having read reviews I requested a room in block 8 or 9. We had a room in block 8 & it was fabulous. Although we didn't have a separate room for the boys it was fine. The rooms are spacious & have a lovely bathroom.

Breakfast..... You couldn't ask for more choice. They was a gorgeous array of food & it was delicious. The only negative was that the breakfast room was always heaving & the staff at times found it hard to keep up but the hotel was at 100% capacity.

Pool, water slides, lazy river all fab, the kids loved it, especially the big jumps you could do!
If i coukd find a negative it felt like there were perhaps a few too many sun beds cramped in but the positive was that we always found some free ones. It's a very relaxing atmosphere and with views over the beach & sea.

Kids club- we had no intention of our boys using this. They have never been interested but not at the Centara, we actually had to battle to get them to stay with us at times. The wii, playstation & air hockey were a big draw but they also took part in lots of the activities, clay modelling, Lego, origami, Thai writing to name a few. The girls who work there were lovely & the boys were really sad to say goodbye.

Hotel in general is very clean, extremely well kept & has a very relaxed atmosphere.
The location was good for us. We prefer to be away from the hustle & bustle. It's a short taxi ride away or you can walk along the beach. The other big benefit of the Centara is the beach front location. Many if the hotels don't have this.you do have to pay for sun beds that are situated right on the beach but we were happy by the pool.

Food & drink in general. We ate at the hotel a couple of times. We went to the steak buffet night & ton the Italian & both times the food was exceptionally good. We also had just good old burgers & club sandwiches which were again yummy. We also ate in kata a couple of times & had good value for money meals.

So would I recommend this hotel to a friend, absolutely. It's is perfect for families but if you are a couple, don't be put off by the thought of there being kids everywhere, it's really not like that.
We would love to return & I'm sure one day we will.

Thank you Centara for a truly wonderful end to our holiday.

Room Tip: Request a room in block 8 or 9. Top tip go to the Luna bar for happy hour for the most Devine mojitos & lovely sunset.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank komandoo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed as a family of 5 with 3 little children: 4 m.o, 2 y.o, 4 y.o in the Luxury Pool Suite. We we very happy with the room and the pool, the pool area was shaded - perfect for mid day swim. We were in building # 7, which was a short convinient walk til Kids club and the Club :-) Children loved being in the Kid's club and we enjoyed ourselves in the Club, that's why we stayed in Centara 5 days instead of 3 intially booked :-) Club access is worth the purchase, as the snacks there are really good and can take you through the day. Spa is heaven, try it! The only minor hiccup was the beach experience. The sunbeds provided by the local business for 100 bhat are ugly. Centara should have it is own sunbeds on the beach closer to the sea. Also the massage salas on the beach looked dirty and uninviting. The sea was dirty. Most of the time it was wavy and with strong currents underneath, dangerous.
The resort is child friendly with activities for the kids and nice smiling staff. You can stroll with the buggy everythere except for the Club, which is on the 2 nd floor, no elevator. They have only one children's channel Cartoon Network, which is very violent, so improvement needed there. We tryed the Cove restaurant, where they recommended us the duck, but it was so spicy, it was uneatable, also service was slow. The breakfast buffé is ok. We had also problems with wifi throughout our stay, but the staff was fixing it for us every time. Lots of moscitos everywhere.

Room Tip: Get a Club access.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Spusekatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews