We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent 5 days at Centara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Ranked #14 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Excellent 5 days at Centara”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I would love to write a detailed review about our stay at Centara, but that can wait. Here is a quick excerpt.

I was very confused early on about where to stay given the number of mixed reviews. Few things I was clear about were - it should be a five star, should be next to the beach, should be safe, and should be big enough so that we can hang around in the hotel itself when we don't feel like going out. Centara turned out to be the perfect match.

We were there for our honeymoon and Centara was a surprise for my wife. While making the reservation, I had requested a room in building # 9. The hotel staff kept room # 947 for us (which I believe was the most private). If you are seeking privacy, building # 9 is the way to go.

The staff, restaurants, food (buffet), bars, pools etc. were very good and what you would expect at a 5 star property.. The location couldn't have been perfect. It wasn't very crowded, but we had to just walk few minutes to get to the thick of action. Patong also wasn't very far and we visited Patong for 3 nights (between 7pm and 1am).

Room Tip: The resort is huge, but it may not be the most private. If you want privacy, go for building # 9. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steviegerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,439
    688
    258
    95
    70
See reviews for
1,213
827
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This hotel is perfect! stayed at the 4th floor at building 2 facing the view of the pool and the sea. The view is so beautiful and I could enjoy it either by sitting on the chair or from the jacuzzi at the verandah. The place is quiet and you could hear the sound of the wave at night even at 4th floor since it is so near to the sea. The service is quite good but I have to wait a little bit longer when I requested for an adaptor for my handphones, probably due to the distance between the reception and the rooms. There is no free wifi in the room or at the meeting room.
Since I came for business, I did not have much time to enjoy the place but I wish to come again next time with my family.

Room Tip: if you can afford it, choose the room with a swimming pool in the room, facing the view of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RosSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This resort was the ultimate in luxury and service. We returned to Brisbane Friday 23rd and tried to book for December and found out it is fully booked out. We cannot wait to get back,.Hopefully we will manage to get a cancellation.We recommend this resort 100%.

Room Tip: Deluxe ocean facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isabella1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We are currently staying at this fabulous resort for 2 weeks and half way thru our stay...We normally stay at the Holiday Inn Patong but decided to stay at Centara Grand this time and boy are we glad we did..Having worked for the airlines in the past we have stayed at many excellent hotels and resorts but this has to be one of the best .This resort is one of the best 5 star resorts we have stayed at and we have stayed at many worldwide. We are from the Gold Coast in Qld and come to Phuket every year. We have been so impressed with the location, and the staff are all so fantastic, always smiling and friendly and cannot do enough for us. Our room is overlooking the beach, right on the beach and it is lovely. We arrived at the resort at 3am in the morn with our 2 children asleep and very tired and we were escorted to our room promptly and very efficiently. We cannot praise the staff enough especially the Kids Club lovely ladies. We have 2 children ages 4 and 8 and our son who is 8 has Aspergers [ autism ] and adhd so he is a little 'full on' at times and the ladies are so great with him and our daughter. We bought them some chocolates yest for being so fantastic...We are looking forward to the next week at this very relaxing and luxury resort right on the beach..Would definalely recommenend for both couples and families. The lazy rivers, swimming pools and water slides are out of this world...It is Kids Paradiese....We are already planning another trip here in the future...Love it !!!!! Thankyou to the wonderful staff !!.

Room Tip: We are in block 9 right on the beach..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank victoria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Excellent location and very nice service and recorded for families, and is value for your money

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Altroosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We just got back from the Centara Grand Beach Resort at Karon Beach. The place is amazing, it is immaculately clean and very well looked after. It's like the Hotel is brand new. We stayed in Room 547 which was in Building 5. Our room was right up the top and furthest away from the beach but it was very private and I would recommend it to anyone. Even though it is furthest away, it's only a 5 min walk down to the beach and 2 mins to the pool so it doesn't really matter. The staff here are amazing, they are so friendly and welcoming and will do anything for you to ensure you have a lovely stay. The guys at the pool bar were great. Thanks to Chen, Chon, L, and all of the others for looking after us. A special thanks to Ausum for his wonderful hospitality. Our room had a spa on the balcony which was fantastic to relax in and overlook the wonderful view (see pics attached). The breakfast buffet was brilliant, so much variety. The Thai Buffet was disappointing but I think it's because we got there at 9pm and pretty much everything was empty and they weren't filling up the empty dishes, so if you go to the buffet for dinner maybe arrive by about 7pm. If you want to be closer to the beach request building 9. The Italian Restaurant was fabulous, the food was so fresh and the menu was really good. The lazy river was really relaxing to just swim around and the waterslides were fun. It was great to stay here and be away from busy Karon and Patong. Of all the beaches we saw the one out the front of the Centara was by far the best. The bed in our room was a bit hard but we still slept pretty well.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the beach, request Building 9. If you want peace, privacy and don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ingrid101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

My husband and I were there Sept 2011 for 5 days. Ideal central location and yet far enough from the hustle of Patong. Clean room and great room service. Fantastic buffet brekky and helpful staff especially as we arrived at midnight. Ocean view room is a must! The pools were perfect and although families were there with children we felt we had privacy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lotus29x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
20.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
3.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 Spa Hotel in Karon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#22 Family Hotel in Karon
#29 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drawing its design theme from the classic Sino-Portuguese architecture that characterises Phuket Town, Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is set directly on the sands at Karon Beach, backed by a green hill, and grouped around its own water park. The resort offers a memorable holiday experience for everyone: couples and families will love the exhilarating leisure activities, the water sports, and of course the water park, and corporate and incentive groups have fine meeting facilities. The accommodation offers a comforting and relaxing ambience for all, and for guests preferring seclusion, the villas provide exclusivity along with great views, and come with the Club category benefits. The award-winning spa, SPA Cenvaree, is a luxurious treat that everyone will enjoy, and has suites for singles and couples. The drive to and from Phuket International Airport is easy and convenient, and takes less than one hour by road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing