We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Ranked #15 of 133 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful Resort”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We have just returned from a 9 night stay at the Centara Grand Resort and it was a memorable stay. We have enjoyed our stay and we would stay there again if we return back to Phuket.
Pros:
- Fantastic modern facility. We have loved the sino-portegese architecture.
- Pools were excellent. Our kids have enjoyed the variety of water activities.
- Room was supurb and modern.
- The landscape was fantastic.
- Restaurants were good but "too relativley too expensive"

Cons:
- Reception staff sometimes lacks courtsey. Not well trained to deal with complaints.
- Transport from the hotel was too expensive and to access taxis from outside the hotel was a long walk to Karon town or outside the hotel (still expensive). One of the transport desk staff was very rude. We booked a city tour and the driver took us to places that they earn comission from. You need to specifically ask for the places you would like to vist.

Room Tip: Blocks 8 and 9 close to the beach and kids swimming pools. Blocks 6 & 7 close to kids swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,462
    696
    262
    97
    71
See reviews for
1,236
837
29
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

we have just returned from 10 days at the centara grand and can truely say we had a great time hotel staff are lovely, they just want to please you and make you happy. it really is the island of smiles. hotel is modern, clean and spacious with fantastic buffet breakfast with something for everyones taste. its only a 10 min walk along the beautiful beach and it takes you to karon, where you can shop and eat very cheap and book all your trips as they charge much more at hotel. dont be afraid to try where the locals eat, it truely is a
mazing. we have already booked again for nxt year, its well worth the long journey

Room Tip: we had a superior pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feeeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
111 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed 8 nights earlier this month at this beautiful resort and enjoyed every minute. It is truelly worthy of its five star rating.
We had been a little worried that it would be a noisy place to stay with all the attractions it offers children but we found it to be such a quiet and secluded haven. A short 10 minute walk along the squeky sands of the beach leads you to the town of Karon. The ladies at the set of five or so joined restaurants along the way are a scream and had us laughing in the end with their jolly beckoning.
Internet - You can either purchase pre paid or a package, the package being much cheaper.
Luna Bar - Here you will find the most bubbly staff, the outdoor area is something else. The cocktails are great and the Long Island Tea cocktail packs a punch.
Mare Restaurant breakfast - Plenty of choice and very fresh. The salads are very nice (especially the chinese sausage). I loved the chunks of fresh fruit with frozen yoghurt drizzled with natural honey. The only negative is that the fruit juices are not pure and taste like sweet cordial.
Mare Restaurant dinner- We ate dinner here many times as the food was second to none. Although we had the seafood buffet it was inferior to the offers on the a la carte menu. Some of the a la carte meals were up there with the best we have ever had. The price of the a la carte food was very reasonable given the quality and the hotel, there was no need to risk eating outside the hotel.
Room - We stayed in a premium deluxe which had a huge corner balcony, there were three sets of high quality wooden furniture on it. The layout and decor of the room was lovely and the bathroom was huge. The cleaners do a fantastic job of tidying the room and getting rid of all the sand. We only had a turndown service on one night and it would have been nice to have this every night. Although we asked for a newspaper, we only ever recieved it twice. The bar is right next to the entrance door and somehow a couple of our own chocolate bars went missing from the bench whilst we were out. Amenities are in abundance and good quality. The bed is very hard but you get used to it.
Welcome - it was very nice to have a cool towel and drink upon arrival. They seem very strict on their 2.00pm check in unless you want to upgrade (we arrived at 12.00pm).
Front desk staff - they are very efficient, prompt and helpful.
The Manager - Mr Opes is a very nice genuine gentleman and really knows how to look after his customers in a friendly and considerate manner.
Pools - the lazy river and pool slides are great. The adults pool is such a quite oasis.
Buildings - all rooms do not have an ocean view. We were kindly moved from block six to block nine when we asked for a proper view. We were on the corner of block 9 which is the closest to the ocean and had a clear view from the front and a view of the hill on the side, it felt totally secluded. The only problem with this location is that it is really, really loud when it is raining and the wind is blowing, it can be very windy on the balcony also. My preference would be a little further back, higher on the cliff in either building 2 or 3. These are close to the main entrance and the adult pool with the best views. The only drawback would be all the climbing. Not all buildings have their own lift.
Gardens- for such a new hotel they are amazing and the variety is great, I'm sure something is always in flower. Be very careful if wearing thongs (flipflops) around the resort as the paths are always slippery when wet, in fact it was safer to walk bare footed.

I think there are many factors that contributed to this being the most relaxing, restful and romantic place that we have ever stayed at. I would not hesitate this lovely resort to anyone and I hope we get the chance to stay there again and I am not one who likes staying at the same hotels, let alone a whole nine days.

I sincerely thank the staff and management for making this a most memorable experiance.

Room Tip: Stay in a building further back from the ocean if it is going to be wet. The corner suites with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PegususPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Very attractive location in terms of beach front mountains background, excellent services,
awesome water park.

Room Tip: Spa rooms are ++++
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

To all staff and management thank you for a wonderful 10 night stay at the start of August 2011. My girlfriend and i have stayed at a number of resorts in Phuket, however our travel agent Natasha Kislinski from Escape Travel (Melbourne South Yarra Recommend Highly) suggested we try the Centara Grand Beach Resort and we certainly were not disappointed. Stayed in Premium Deluxe Ocean Facing Room 911 Room was perfect 100 meters to beach right next to pool. Gardens, slides pools all great fun would not hesitate recommending this to couples/families. Karen and myself felt a little spoily being invited to two canape/cocktail evenings (delicious).made the effort of trying to converse in Thai (it was terrible but i'm sure the locals appreciate you giving it a go, however bad it is)
All staff were polite friendly and always had a smile and only willing to make your holiday a better one. Unfortunately second last day (had run in with tuk tuk at top or resort entrarance resulting in sprained ankle/ligament damage) to and all staff and Resort Doctor who rushed to my aid Thank You. . Spent next two days at poolside thanks to Maxime for your idea for me to raise my crutch anytime i needed something (beer), as my girlfriend got sick of my whinning ?? and went shopping for the next two days. Will definetely be back soon best time we have had in Phuket in many years - my only gripe please make the entrance at the top of your resort a bit safer. Have been off work a couple of weeks with ligament damage. Should be off crutches in a few more days - i'm sorry i can't remember the names of all the staff who we had contact with but thanks to you all for such a great holiday. To the Hotel Manager will you please pass on these comments to your staff. Please perhaps take the above comments into consideration when we next stay with you next year or possibly Christmas if your not already booked out.
Would appreciate your feed back. All the best !

Regards T Williams


Thai - it was terrible but i am sure locals and staff appreciate tourists trying to converse in the local language(however bad it is).

Room Tip: Stay in block 8 or 9 - and to all tourists a smile costs nothing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BOSTAR5026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed at the Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket in June 2011 what a beautiful hotel. The room was large with adjoining bathroom which was modern and spaceous. All rooms looked out to sea lovely to wake up to each morning and sunsets were also impressive. All the pools were immaculate, clean and very nice soft towells at poolside. Stayed on a B & B basis which was also great. The food was excellent and plenty of variety and all the staff were always polite and friendly. The Hotel was situated right on the beach and it was great to walk along the beach either day or night to go into Karon about 10 mins away. The shuttle bus was really good and we had no trouble booking this for our trips for the shopping in Patong and sometimes we would stay late and have a taxis back at a reasonable price. We really enjoyed this holiday and would recommend this Hotel - would definitely go back perhaps in 2012.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view and what we could see looked excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blueburygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Went for a business convention. Very nice surroundings for such. Room also very nice, some with own pool... 10 minutes walk from Karon centre. Staff are extremely friendly and service minded.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danish_travellerDk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
20.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
3.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#8 Spa Hotel in Karon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#22 Family Hotel in Karon
#29 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drawing its design theme from the classic Sino-Portuguese architecture that characterises Phuket Town, Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is set directly on the sands at Karon Beach, backed by a green hill, and grouped around its own water park. The resort offers a memorable holiday experience for everyone: couples and families will love the exhilarating leisure activities, the water sports, and of course the water park, and corporate and incentive groups have fine meeting facilities. The accommodation offers a comforting and relaxing ambience for all, and for guests preferring seclusion, the villas provide exclusivity along with great views, and come with the Club category benefits. The award-winning spa, SPA Cenvaree, is a luxurious treat that everyone will enjoy, and has suites for singles and couples. The drive to and from Phuket International Airport is easy and convenient, and takes less than one hour by road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing