We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Ranked #14 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket.
My wife and I have stayed at a lot of resorts, if you tried you can pick fault's with them all, that's life, nothing is always going to go to plan.
I loved the Centara Grand Beach Resort, it is world class, in line with all top resorts, i'm going to post what made it great for us.
Arriving all went to plan, getting our room,been greeted with smiling faces from Centara staff.
Most good resort's this is the norm, i found there was something extra here at the Centara,.
the staff have such a genuine feel.
Loved the food, Andrew the chef with the staff AWESOME, Italian food sooo good Italian chef there as well,
Pools for the Adult's one for the kid's, big kid's too,Gym all you will be happy with, but what got me the most was the staff Monthip and Mam with staff who worked so hard and felt so real we thank you.
i recommend Centara every one around me going to Phuket and just can't wait to go back!!!

.

Room Tip: If you have more than 2 the bigger top room's with the pool spa or bottom family rooms with thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnWilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,504
    721
    268
    98
    73
See reviews for
1,284
853
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

The Centara Grand Beach Resort is a new 5-Star Resort directly on the beach. In fact all the rooms have beach view rooms.

The breakfast is very nice with alot of selections to choose from. We paid extra to have access to the Executive Lounge - it is nice - but really not worth it - as food and drinks at the local restaurants are very inexpensive. It is a little walk to the town - but taxis back are cheap. In town you will great places for massages and shopping.

If you want to have some custom made clothes go to UOMO Fashion in Patong Beach. Take whatever you want copied for best results. Remember to negotiate the price - it is really expected. I highly recommend this hotel and Phuket in general. Qatar Airways flies direct to Phuket.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Enjoy our stay, staff are friendly and helpful. Different pools and facilities kept our family occupied the whole afternoon. Location not near to any local dining or shopping stalls, need to take taxi if you don't want to eat in the hotel restaurant.
Great selection of food during breakfast but fruits are covered with flies, not too hygiene. Also ice cream is melting. Overall stay is comfortable and hotel still can improve better to charge at this price.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durianwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

we travel a lot especially to the beach for the kids holiday. several times in a year at least. juts got back from japan on april. bangkok in june. we have been to two other Centara in the last 2 months. centara mirage pattaya and centara world in bangkok. expecting the same service on the same chain hotel but this hotel is a total dissapoinment.
we checked in at 9 evening, exhausted and the children are starving, yet it took an hour or so for them to explain an upgrade to club, giving special rate and continualy call the supervisor for better rate.
overall staff are not very friendly. breakfast of 2 adult cannot be replace by a child. so the children have to pay though i didn't even show up to the restaurant.
the room are not cleaned properly. they do not clean thoroughly. only certain areas. everything on the corner are sticky and dusty.
we stayed there for 7 nights, 2 rooms and charged for another extra night for the 2 rooms with assumption that we requested a late check out. strange as i thought that even with late check out, only half rate applied. fortunately we check out at 1 o'clock and able to pick out the extra charges when the bill is presented.
the pools was wonderfull but the view of the main pool is not the beach. it's obstructed by little ugly store in front of the beach. not run by the hotel i think. the access to pool or beach is quite far from some rooms.
we dine pizza on the beach one evening, the patrol watch us the whole time suspiciously.
the hotel itself was nice. the premium rooms was equipped with a large balcony and nice sofa. it's very unfortunate that the service is not a standard of 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mchendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Rooms, view, staff, resort, location, privacy, security, amenities all 5.5 stars. Internet access could be improved and the Mara (Italian) restaurant food might concern someone from Naples. Beautiful people. Children friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for beach front (building 9 is best) 1 & 2 also very good. Floors 2-4, lots of steps on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boggle103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

My Friends and I stayed here in late August the hotel is absolutely amazing and the staff are really friendly i would recommend this hotel to anyone. The swimming pools are second to none. The rooms are really nice and modern and all with very nice bathrooms. We arrived on a night when it was pouring down with rain and the staff did everything they could to make our stay as comfortable as possible. They gave us a choice of rooms and showed us them so we could pick. We eat at the restaurant on the first night which was really good probably the best food we had all holiday. If you are looking for a quiet resort away from the night life or dont mind paying for the taxis this place is unbelievable and i would recommend you book. I did look on trip advisor before going to Thailand and did not know what to expect due to the mixed reviews but dont believe a bad word you here about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

This resort gives a good first impression! New facilities, modern rooms and great location, however once the first impressions wear off we were left thinking that the resort was no better than the 4 star Centara Karon resort.
We stayed in a Spa deluxe room which was on the top level of our building. We were in building 9 which is the last building directly overlooking the beach. This building is the only one that is right on the beach. All the other buildings overlook the pools or restaurants.

The things we loved about the resort were-
-The breakfast. Alot of variety
-The view from our room- It was very nice to fall asleep to the sound of the waves
-The pools (however the sand around the main pool does become very annoying)
-The gym was fantastic!!

The cons-
-The price of food for room service and around the pool. I don't mind paying money for nice food but the food was average and tiny portions. Disappointing paying the same price as I would at home for lousy food.
-The resort is not quite finished-still quite a bit of work going on
-Service is quite cold without any personal touch
-Can often be difficult to communicate with staff and often conversations are confused.
-Things in the room haven't been finished properly. When we arrived the spa pump wasn't working. This was rectified quite quickly. It seems the construction of the hotel has been rushed to open the resort quickly but this has resulted in poor quality in the finishes.
-Not a lot of privacy. You can see most of the balconies and therefore into the rooms as most of them front onto the grounds where people walking around can see into the rooms.

Overall this a nice resort but lacks personal service. I wouldn't stay here again but will be looking for a smaller resort.

On a side note. If you're wanting somewhere to eat without having to go all the way into Karon and don't want to spend the money eating at the resort, than Daengs Restaurant on the beach is great for a cheap, quick meal.
Also the taxis at the top of the driveway of the resort are a lot cheaper than the resort taxis.

Room Tip: Building 9 has the best views as right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YasandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
20.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,972 reviews
0.7 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,774 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#7 Spa Hotel in Karon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#22 Family Hotel in Karon
#29 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drawing its design theme from the classic Sino-Portuguese architecture that characterises Phuket Town, Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is set directly on the sands at Karon Beach, backed by a green hill, and grouped around its own water park. The resort offers a memorable holiday experience for everyone: couples and families will love the exhilarating leisure activities, the water sports, and of course the water park, and corporate and incentive groups have fine meeting facilities. The accommodation offers a comforting and relaxing ambience for all, and for guests preferring seclusion, the villas provide exclusivity along with great views, and come with the Club category benefits. The award-winning spa, SPA Cenvaree, is a luxurious treat that everyone will enjoy, and has suites for singles and couples. The drive to and from Phuket International Airport is easy and convenient, and takes less than one hour by road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing