We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best family hotel I've ever stayed. Simply stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Ranked #15 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The best family hotel I've ever stayed. Simply stunning”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

This hotel is fantastic. We stayed here as a family with 2 young children aged 3 and 6 and had a great time. The pools are great, especially for kids. The lazy river, slides and cliff jumps are a real winner. There were always plenty of sunbeds available at whatever time we went to the pool, and although the resort is large, it never feels busy.
We stayed in the basic room, which is called a Deluxe Ocean facing and these came with 2 x King beds and a great bath/shower, the quality in the room was fantastic. Cartoon Network is on the TV, and you can hire a DVD player too for when the children need to chill. All the balconies at the resort are deep and have great chairs to sit and relax on them. Rooms also get serviced twice a day, and 4 bottles of complimentary water and fruit are provided each day. The aircon is thankfully excellent too.
We all got the odd mosquito bite, but you are in a tropical country so what do you expect!
Food at the hotel is very expensive compared to elsewhere, we ate here a few times off the menu and off the buffet they do on a night. The Thai buffet was a real let down, but the Silk Road Night was fantastic and so much better than the Thai buffet. Breakfasts here are excellent, great service by all the staff and like others have said especially Mam.
If you are venturing out of the hotel, then Gings in Karon is a winner, as is Sea Hag in Patong. Deang's on the beach (turn right as you walk out of the hotel) with its blue/white decor is also excellent value, 60BHT for chicken noodles etc, and you can get takeaway and bring them back to the hotel pool if you like. Drinks from here or the Kai beach hut can also be brought back to have around the pool, and are a fraction of the hotels prices.
Taxi to Karon is 200BHT, but only a 5 min walk along the beach, and Patong is 300BHT. We managed to get a taxi from the airport to the hotel for 500BHT too from the taxi rank on the far right as you leave the airport.
I've attached a map of the resort so people can request which building them may want to be in before arriving. We stayed in building 5, which was set back and you could see the whole of the resort, but building 9 is the most popular as its on the beach.
There is no free wifi here, but thats pretty standard now in hotels. It is available for a charge.
The staff and service levels are fantastic, sometimes things can be lost in translation a bit, but you get there in the end.
Kids club here is good, but not outstanding, it does a job though. Its a shame you have to pay to use the games consoles and PC's.
Overall I thought this hotel was amazing, and we will definately be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in building 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jambo1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,406
    672
    255
    95
    70
See reviews for
1,182
813
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed at the resort for 10 nights as a family of 4. All I can say is that the service was outstanding. They made us feel as though we were the only guests at the resort. In particular I was very impressed with Noom, Mam and Fon. Talk about going out of their way to making us happy.
The resort itself was a winner for the kids with the lazy river, slides and the rock. Before we would know it. it would be getting late. The whole family loved it here and we will definitely be going back to the same place.
The food was a bit pricey but it was nice. They had theme buffet dinners most nights which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zelihat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Just returned from 10 days at this wonderful establishment. It is everything we thought it would be and more! Service was brilliant, staff very friendly and ammenties amazing. Favourite experience was the lazy river - floating along without a care in the world in gorgeous warm water.

We could not believe the view from our balcony and the amazing shower and bath in our room. It certainly is a place where you can relax and chill out. No hustle and bustle like other resorts in Karon, yet only a 5 minute walk along the beach to reach the shopping area.

Outstanding service from Mam (Cove Reastaurant manager) who ensured that our stay was extremely memorable. Her expertise in hospitality was very apparent. She made every guest feel as if they were the only ones in the resort, as she always remembered everyone's name. No request was too hard for hard.

We will certainly be back. It was a grand experience!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed here for ten nights. We initially had booked to stay at Centara Villas but due to maintenance were moved to the Centara grand beach. This could not have been any better for us! The rooms were beautiful. We were in the most 'basic' room style and it was the nicest hotel room I've ever stayed in. Beds were huge and comfy and they are superbly decorated. All rooms have a sea view.
The location was ideal for us, not right in the action but within walking distance to Karon (about ten minutes) and short Tuk Tuk ride to Patong. Karon is much smaller and quieter than Patong but we enjoyed both. Both had lots of nice restaurants but Pating had more bars and places to just drink.
Hotel pools were lovely, plenty to do! More than enough sunbeds and parasols. Hotel food is far more expensive than other restuarants around. Though it is very good food. There is a little beach restaurant just outside the hotel called daeng. It's cheap and the food is really good. Mainly Thai food. We had lunch there most days. It's about quarter of the price of the hotel. Hotel breakfast was great lots of choice and plenty of lovely fresh food and an ommelette station.
Would highly recommend this hotel. We were upgraded here for free so not too sure of actual price although I can say that it is a truly fanastic hotel full of friendly and helpful staff excellent and right on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hannah_banannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gotham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I have already made known my concerns to management and await their response.

This is a heads up for future guests :

Not only is the internet not free but the hotel has a bizarre wifi system that teases you into thinking that you are going to get it for free. What a disappointment! (But I carry a back up 3G device).

The TV channel selection is beyond lame for non Thai speaking guests. I have the local Phuket $10 per month minimus cable selection at home and it is vastly superior.

The resort is incomprehensibly unfriendly to physically challenged guests. I am quite ambulatory but with a weak knee and found all the different levels a challenge. Worse is that the 3rd restaurant/bar Luna has no lift/elevator, just a flight of very steep stairs.

Monsieur Denis, one thing I forgot to put in my comments to you was the major SECURITY issue of adjoining balconies between rooms. This is a doozy. Instead of double interconnecting doors between adjacent rooms, they designed access between rooms to be across a shared balcony, divided by a flimsy folding door which was UNLOCKED.

I live in Phuket and I know the standards here. The Cove restaurant is a major FAIL. Even getting 50% off with the Centara Gold Card, it's no bargain.

The Teen Club is another FAIL, charging for the good stuff.

The water part of the swimming pool complex is superb but, but, there's an amazing shortage of loungers and a pool lay out that forces you to walk through the (cute) sand to get from one side to the other. Once this resort enjoys normal occupancy levels, there will be major strife at the pool.

And goodness knows what they will do about parking. At bursting point already.

There will be nasty accidents in the lazy river/slide area. It's only a matter of time, mainly due to the twin slides but also because of the "cliff diving" I saw. I actually think the "rock" diving platform is a design feature! One lifeguard is woefully inadequate and is gross negligence on your part.

The hotel was designed with a future Tsunami in mind. None of the guest rooms would be affected. I am not so sure about the hotel being protected from a cloudburst or monsoon rains, flooding down the gully at the back. Let's hope the civil engineers put in the necessary flood channels!

Did I say I am a big fan of Central (the holding company)?

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank BoughtMyPoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We just have discovered our new favourite in Phuket. This hotel has it all: It's new, it's roomy, bright, first class, good food, right on the beach, several pools, no traffic.. And you get it all for less than 5,000 bath a night.
There's only one drawback: You have to pay for internet.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We are a family of 4 staying currently at the resort for 10 nights- if you are looking for an as- new luxury resort with the best facilities, amazing pools with waters slides, spas, lazy river ect - look no further. The rooms are beautifully finished and still new, the location is very good, close to busy Patong by Tuk Tuk and walking distance to the restaurants of Karon. Have been eating out at night so cant comment on the restaurants, but the breakfast is great with something to suit everyone. The resort looks beautiful during the day and even better at night. We love it so much were off to the Centara Grand Beach resort Krabi for 2 weeks!!! Have stayed elsewhere in another big resort before Centara was built- think this would definitely have to be the best around.

Room Tip: Close to pool is good for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joshua154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
20.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
3.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
5,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Karon
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#8 Spa Hotel in Karon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#22 Family Hotel in Karon
#29 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drawing its design theme from the classic Sino-Portuguese architecture that characterises Phuket Town, Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is set directly on the sands at Karon Beach, backed by a green hill, and grouped around its own water park. The resort offers a memorable holiday experience for everyone: couples and families will love the exhilarating leisure activities, the water sports, and of course the water park, and corporate and incentive groups have fine meeting facilities. The accommodation offers a comforting and relaxing ambience for all, and for guests preferring seclusion, the villas provide exclusivity along with great views, and come with the Club category benefits. The award-winning spa, SPA Cenvaree, is a luxurious treat that everyone will enjoy, and has suites for singles and couples. The drive to and from Phuket International Airport is easy and convenient, and takes less than one hour by road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Jetsetter, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing