We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Ranked #15 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Absolutely great!”
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We just have discovered our new favourite in Phuket. This hotel has it all: It's new, it's roomy, bright, first class, good food, right on the beach, several pools, no traffic.. And you get it all for less than 5,000 bath a night.
There's only one drawback: You have to pay for internet.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,439
    688
    258
    95
    70
See reviews for
1,213
827
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We are a family of 4 staying currently at the resort for 10 nights- if you are looking for an as- new luxury resort with the best facilities, amazing pools with waters slides, spas, lazy river ect - look no further. The rooms are beautifully finished and still new, the location is very good, close to busy Patong by Tuk Tuk and walking distance to the restaurants of Karon. Have been eating out at night so cant comment on the restaurants, but the breakfast is great with something to suit everyone. The resort looks beautiful during the day and even better at night. We love it so much were off to the Centara Grand Beach resort Krabi for 2 weeks!!! Have stayed elsewhere in another big resort before Centara was built- think this would definitely have to be the best around.

Room Tip: Close to pool is good for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joshua154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Best hotel we have stayed at in Asia
Absolutely a sensation situated on the best beach in Phuket
Stunning rooms excellent food and facilities .close to patong
Will be back Asap

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bsstyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

As many others have commented over the past few months I have been reading the numerous reviews posted on Trip Advisor on this resort. I must say I was nervous a couple of months ago as the comments were not positive. However the more recent reviews were more complimentary which was encouraging.

I have to say my family and I ( kids are 6 and 3) had a fantastic time. The resort is very well designed and the various pools, slides and lazy river were a big hit with the kids ( and mum & dad). Our room was great and the extra space we got by having a Deluxe Spa Club room was put to good use with the 4 of us in the room for the limited time we were in our room.

For those thinking about paying a bit more and getting a Club type room, I highly recommend it. With young kids it was great to be able to take them to the Club lounge for a cold drink and snack any time of the day. The cocktails each night were also nice for mum and dad. The staff were great and very accomodating.

The location of resort was good, though I admit it was a hot 15 minute walk to Karon town, but I liked being away from the hussle and bussle of town.

A few negatives.....

Resort resturants.... I agree with other about the high prices, though to be honest this didn't annoy us as much as the quilty and range on offer in the 2 resturants. The options were very limited for a la carte and the service in both resturants was average verging on poor. Not good for a 5 star resort. We didn't do the dinner buffets, but we heard good comments from other guests.

Kids Club......Our kids didn't spend alot of time in the Kids Club, but my wife and I were dissapointed with the staff who seemed disintered and bored (??) much of the time. They seemed to relate ok with the kids and our kids liked going there, but it just didn't seem to have a "welcoming" feel.

Overall, a lovely holiday and the kids have been pestering us when we are going back ....we only got back 2 days ago!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Califron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

DECEMBER 18TH 2010

This is our second stay with the Centara group and its hotels and were were quite keen to see this new property .

We were there a month after it opened and first impresions were a bit mixed .

The place is large and the tall building structures give a very different feel to what one expects in a beach resort - no beach villas or cute cottages on the sea front here .
After a day or so the place grows on you and one settels in .

The rooms are large and bathrooms great , everything is spanking new and so it all feels top class .
We had a sea view room with a jacuzzi on the balconey so it felt quite nice to relax in bubbling tub after a day at the beach and pool and watch the sunset .
However walking to the towers , up and down steep enterances and catching lifts to the floors are a bit much when u have to do it 5-6 times a day .

The centara group hotels are about families and so to this hotel with great pools -over 5
in different sizes and depths ,a lazy pool , a deep plunge pool , etc etc so its easy to find a spot for the entire family no matter what pool u choose .

The playcentre is absolutely great , fully stocked for all kids of all ages and the kids are really looked after well .
Mine loved the pizza class with the italian chefs helping him make his own pizza .!!!

The breakfast is top notch and everything is fresh and the choice huge .

The resteraunts are okay good food but limited in choice .
If you want even better step outside to the numerous resteraunts along various streets u cant go wrong.

The resort is on a beach front so its very convienient for families , the beach clean and the water clear . A big plus when one has to trudge to the beach with kids , beach toys , beach bags and then trudge back to the hotel carrying all 3 !

Like i said the hotel had just opened and so teething issues were expected
but the hotel staff all did their best to sort out any bumps that we encountered .

The staff are very friendly and the resort provides a safe environment for young,old, single travellers and those with children .

If youre visiting Phuket with kids this is definately a good option to look at .

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Stayed only 1 night at the Centara Grand Karon - it was wonderful. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was great and the bed was very comfortable! The pools are great and the beach is really nice too.

The food at the restaurant was pricey (by Thailand standards) but VERY good.

The only drawback is that its about a mile from the town of Karon and the hotel (and taxi drivers) will charge a small fortune to get you there and back. It's really not that far to walk, but in the heat it feels like a lot further than it is.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brneyes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

The Centara Grand is a fabulous Hotel. It did help that on arrival we were given a free upgrade from a deluxe room to a pool suite.... what a bonus!! That said i think all the rooms would be excellent.
We were a couple but I think it is a brilliant hotel for families with lots of water based activities.
I would urge anyone staying to take them up on the Centara Baht Bonanza Plan. It has to be taken within 24hours of arrival and gives you up to 100% more spending for free, on food, beverages and spa treatments. Certainly helps with our hard hit pound!
The breakfast was fantastic, we ate in the hotel several evenings, it was ok but not as good as in Karon.
The staff are excellent and cant do enough for you. I had back ache on the third morning as the beds are quite firm, i asked the maid for an extra topper and it was on the bed next time we returned to the room.
Would I recommend this hotel to anyone..... ABSOLUTELY!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShazziB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
20.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
3.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#8 Spa Hotel in Karon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#22 Family Hotel in Karon
#29 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drawing its design theme from the classic Sino-Portuguese architecture that characterises Phuket Town, Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is set directly on the sands at Karon Beach, backed by a green hill, and grouped around its own water park. The resort offers a memorable holiday experience for everyone: couples and families will love the exhilarating leisure activities, the water sports, and of course the water park, and corporate and incentive groups have fine meeting facilities. The accommodation offers a comforting and relaxing ambience for all, and for guests preferring seclusion, the villas provide exclusivity along with great views, and come with the Club category benefits. The award-winning spa, SPA Cenvaree, is a luxurious treat that everyone will enjoy, and has suites for singles and couples. The drive to and from Phuket International Airport is easy and convenient, and takes less than one hour by road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing