We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget Resort near Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Honey Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Honey Resort
Ranked #85 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
326 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Budget Resort near Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Stay here in September 2012 // 13 nights for business trip.

Location:Not bad closed to Kata beach by using short cut smelly canal sewage only10 min walk.
Closed to local weekend market;7-11;local cheap Thai stand restaurant. Night time many moneygirl with worked at bars massage parlours in these resort alley area are everywhere beware ur wallet.

Exterior: 4 story building with small long narrow pool(with dunno what a last time they clean it// full of sand bottom of the pond) Small restaurant area with cheap menu price only 75 thb. However; breakfast has more selection only weekend middle buffet type thai style. if weekday(as i stay 2 week)
there no buffet and jus same duplicated a la carte choice!! eggs-2breads-jam-2or 3 mini sausages and thats it!!

Interior:
Cons:Worn out towel. stain on bathtub or furnished. moldy shower curtain. no tea coffee free maker.broken phone.no free umbrella-slipper-bathrobe.Not free wifi. Airport transfer overcharged!!

Pros:Big bed: Safe box: more room space than Ibis kata property.Hair dryer.free daily bottle of water.



  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimSip81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    74
    43
    7
    13
See reviews for
31
103
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I think I must start by saying we didn't pay a lot so wasn't expecting 5* hotel, but good value for the money, staff a very pleasant and will help you as much as they can.
ROOMS.. Spacious and clean, however the wooden furniture has well passed its sell by date, and looks it, not a lot of closet space or drawer space if planning on bringing many clothes, big bed and quite comfortable, fridge to store your goods, water replenished every day. Like others have said, bathroom smells, and again could do with an overhaul. If you are vertically challenged getting in and out of the bath won't be easy as the sides are built up quite high, also hot water has been hit n miss. A/c works well and is not too noisy. No kettle in the room, but there is a flask and you can go and get boiling water from the restaurant.
POOL.. it is a small but nice pool, we had a pool access room which did help, however if the hotel is busy there are about 15 sunbeds by the pool so towels out early! As of today 4 June there is major construction next door and incredibly noisy if by the pool, personally I think the hotel should have this information on their website,
Breakfast... Bit of a joke really, we go out every day nothing to write home about. Plenty of local restaurants for all day dining
Beach... Is just a few minutes walk the short cut tho is a smelly one as it seems to be alongside an open sewer, but a fantastic beach when you get there.
Overall not a bad place to stay, it's clean we'll positioned and friendly

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george_jow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at the Honey Resort last July and have booked to go back this July. A simple resort but very neat, tidy and clean. Small pool but enough to cool off in, not for you if you want to professionally swim lots of laps. Close to everything in Kata Karon, Kata, bars aplenty, great tattooist nearby, beach in close promixity.

The resort itself has friendly staff, ample enough breakfast, rooms are a very good size, shower over the bath and quite a step to get into it but no problems. Looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the poolside deluxe room but this year have opted for rooms above, just for a compariso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

First of all, this hotel is in Kata Beach and not Karon as listed on tripadvisor. The location is very good, in the middle of everything, but away from the road, so nice and quiet. We have been twice to Phuket before, and both times stayed in a 4 star hotel called Andaman Seaview. This time we chose a 3 star hotel in stead because we wanted to stay 3 weeks and this was half the price. We said to each other lets try it, if it is too bad we will just move. We have enjoyed the stay very, very much. The room is nice and big and clean. But what really makes the difference is their staff. They are so nice all of them, you just want to hug them. Very nice indeed!! The truth is that we have enjoyed our stay here more than the Andaman, because the atmosphere here is better. It is more relaxed and the staff make you feel more at home. A big thank you to everyone in the hotel as our trip is coming to an end and we must go back to Norway and to the snow. We will definitely come back next year if our health permits us!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bente S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nice clean hotel with good location: close to beach and restaurants but in quiet street. From ground floor rooms you have straight access to pool. Small pool also for kids.
Breakfast is okay: omelets, toast, nudels, fruits etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elviiram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Deutschland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I will start with the negative on the hotel:
The staff almost does not speak English at all. We had a bunch of questions as we were leaving on the next day: taxi, price of boots, where is this and that: one has really to use gestures.
The bathroom was ok, but there was a strange smell coming out of it.
Our telephone in the room was broken and although we informed the staff, it was not changed until we left
The breakfast was so European, that more is not possible, not even fruits different from bananas and watermelon.
The WORST: We needed a taxi and they ordered us one for the price of 220% more than what we found just going out on the street.

Positive:
Rooms were clean and with nice small balkon for the long-stayers to enjoy the afternoon.
Near to the beach-5 min

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank alsyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

location is very good. cozy area and affordable restaurant around and easy access to kata beach. but there is no mosquito net in the balconi window. if you open the window at night you will be the dinner of mosquito. otherwise you would use aircon all night which is not good too. and bathroon stink alot( they use airfresher alot to hide it) water pressure is low. and i dont know why that i always felt the blanket is humide and heavy (my husband felt the same). and behinde the buiding there is pubs with ladies where they sing a song and play music until 2am. i couldnt sleep well. staff speak basic english but if you ask in more detail and request something specifically most of them dont understand what you want so i just gave up. the place is not that bad and even look fine. but i dont think i go back there for next vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank min820414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
Must Sea Hotel
Must Sea Hotel
#37 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#30 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capannina Inn
Capannina Inn
#44 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phuket Chaba Hotel
Phuket Chaba Hotel
#46 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kata Silver Sand Hotel
Kata Silver Sand Hotel
#92 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Natalie Resort
Natalie Resort
#39 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honey Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honey Resort

Property: Honey Resort
Address: 100/69 Kata Rd | Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Honey Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Honey Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honey Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing