We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good condotel option in quiet Karon location, but close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baan Karon View Phuket
Ranked #110 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good condotel option in quiet Karon location, but close to everything”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a mini-suite at Baan Karon View for two weeks and enjoyed our stay here. The location is excellent - a quiet corner of Karon but less than 10 minutes walk to Karon Centre and the best parts of Karon Beach. The property itself is nice, despite a few funny design items - such as having to duck your head to walk through a low-ceiling service corridor to get to the pool (depending on which building you stay in). Staff are very friendly. The suite itself was comfortable enough, but would be better if it had screens on the windows (quite a lot of mosquitos around) and a second air conditioner in the living room (only one, is in bedroom). The kitchen in the mini-suite is quite basic, but it was enough to let us prepare a few home-cooked dinners after months of traveling and eating in restaurants. The included breakfast of the hotel is fair, but not great.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

It was quite difficult to actually find the Baan Karon. Best way to describe how to get there is to take the first small road on your left as you enter Karon town, just before the small go kart track. We were a family of 4 - 2 adults and our 2 older children. Our 2 bed apartment served the purpose of our 6 night stay which was a restful stopover back to New Zealand after travelling to the UK and China. The apartment was in the first block, so perhaps a little road noise, but also handy to the pool, breakfast and the car park. The rooms very generally large with modern furniture. Open plan kitchen and living area. Large bathrooms. The apartment was diligently cleaned everyday by an army of lovely, friendly Thai ladies. Towels were changed daily and new bottled water supplied. There were only thin white towels supplied (one each) but it wasn't really an issue. We borrowed 4 towels daily from the reception which we used for the pool or took to the beach. Beds were comfy enough (more comfortable than our beds in China anyway) and were tidied or changed daily. Breakfast was fine - a bonus actually as we were very aware that we were not staying in a resort but just an apartment complex, which is what we prefer. On offer each day was fresh fruit, toast, a choice of ham, sausages, eggs cooked to your liking and a Thai noodle style option. The couple who run the cafe were friendly and welcoming. Just fine really as included in the room price. Overall, Baan Karon was just fine. It certainly is not a resort but more a holiday apartment complex. It is a 5 - 10 minute walk to the shops and beach but there is plenty to look at on the way. It is probably not suitable for young children or older people because of steps, slopes and the deep pools but is fine for a family with teenagers or just adults.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The building is tucked away in a little side street which is fine. Our room though was tucked away behind two more buidings and again the very last room, so we had walls all around. The rooms are large but a bit passed their prime. Service was minimal, breakfast very very basic and not worth getting up for. We had 2 tiny towels a day and it wasn't possible to get more. we had to dry ourselves with wet towels. The kitchen had no towels or kitchenpaper nor anything else of the basic stuff you would expect to help you cook. The so called kids pool is dangerous and made in some kind of sharp but slippery stone, completely unfit for children. Pillows were impossible to use because so hard... It was OK I guess, we stayed for 4 nights and that was more than enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

The Villa where we stayed is well-maintained, floors, furnitures, kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms are clean. It is ideal for those spending holiday in groups or families. Vicinity is quiet and peaceful, ideal for families who are avoiding crowded areas like Patong. It will take approximately 10-15mins. walk to get through to Karon Beach. Restaurants, convenience store and Forex are just nearby.
If you want to go to explore the night life in Patong, it's just 35mins. away from Karon via the local transport called Tuk-tuk or may also take a cab for about THB600 depends on your negotiation.

Their receptionist was very helpful with our needs. However, the local calls we made have been charged. We were not able to use the phone to call local numbers, have to call the reception first and ask them to dial the local number and will connect you through.

Nonetheless, our overall experience was very satisfactory.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubyquartz25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I booked at this apartment complex as there were 5 of us, myself my husband 2 daughters 20 and 24yrs and my stepson 10yrs. We were greeted at reception and dealt with so professionally. When we were taken to the apartment we were delighted by it as it more than met our needs as a family. It was comfortable, including the beds, which can be a challenge anywhere in Thailand!
The breakfast is served in a small area next to the pool, and consisted of toast, any style eggs, bacon and some Thai dishes, juice tea and coffee. It was more than enough to start the day on.
Yes we had some power cuts, but to be honest it added to the fun and having stayed in 5* hotels as cabin crew in Thailand we had them in those hotels too, it is not uncommon in Thailand! We had housekeeping every day and always came back to nicely made beds and a clean room. The location was very good indeed, as we were about 20mins by Tuk Tuk to the busier town. At first we did not use the Tuk Tuk parked outside believing it to be more expensive, but on one day due to rain we decided to ask him the price and he was actually cheaper, and a very polite man, so use him! All in all a great and cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FuntoursDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My Family went to this hotel in August 2012 for three weeks, The two bedroom apartment was very big and spacious.
The bathrooms were fantastic & the staff were very friendly, The rooms were cleaned and bedding was changed every day.
Great location only 5 minutes to the shops and restarants & beach. We will be back next year.
The Rush Family.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Suziej44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I was part of a group of 3 that travelled to this hotel for 8 nights in June 2012. I did not choose the hotel myself and was very apprehensive when I read the reviews online. Comments such as 'unclean', 'terrible breakfasts' and 'staff don't speak english' had me very concerned. When we arrived at the hotel I was worried when we were led to a tiny reception hidden inside one of the apartment buildings, but this is where my concerns ended. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment, which was absolutely amazing! It was brand new, overlooking one of the pools and could not have been cleaner. The kitchen was a pleasant surprise, the TV was enormous and the spa in the bathroom was enticing (although we never used it). We paid just over $800 for the 8 nights, and frankly, you would struggle to get a room half to size for less than twice the cost.

The restaurant area was small, but the food they served was more that adequate. No it wasn't the same size buffet that you would get at a larger resort, but I thought it was fine. The three pools were small, but they were clean, they were a nice temperature, and they were very quiet.

As previously mentioned, I arrived expecting to struggle to communicate with the staff, but they were competent english speakers and were more than able to handle anything we asked of them.

The hotel itself is situated at the northern end of Karong, so the area is much quieter than it is in the centre of town, which was nice. The property is on quite a steep hill, so be prepared for that, but it isn't too bad. The hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk from the beach, where there are cheap restaurants (we were able to feed 3 of us comfortably for 450 baht or ~$15 AUD). There is also a supermarket and a 7-eleven less than 5 minutes from the hotel, and given the enormous fridge in the apartment, we were able to stock up on cheap drinks. Contrary to what we had been told, the hotel provides free bottles of drinking water every day.

In summary, this hotel is no competition for the big beachside resorts of Phuket, but nor does it pretend to be. But in all honesty, if you are paying $100 a night and are expecting to get a 5 star resort, of course you are going to be disappointed. But if you head there recognising that you are not paying a lot and that you are getting a very good deal, you are going to be very satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aj_0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.2 mi away
In on the Beach
In on the Beach
#100 of 134 in Karon
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Front Village Hotel
The Front Village Hotel
#79 of 134 in Karon
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Island Guest House
Green Island Guest House
#116 of 134 in Karon
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Phunawa Resort
Phunawa Resort
#78 of 134 in Karon
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
On the Hill Karon Resort
On the Hill Karon Resort
#62 of 134 in Karon
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Karon View Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Karon View Phuket

Property: Baan Karon View Phuket
Address: 4/26 Soi Patak 24, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#62 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Baan Karon View Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Karonview Phuket Resort offers a truly unique experience in every one of our stylish 24 Luxurious suite rooms. Located at Karon Beach, Baan Karon View Phuket offers suite rooms with free internet, satellite TV, living area, Kitchenette. It features an outdoor pool, fitness room, restaurant and free parking. Each air-conditioned room at the Baan Karon View Phuket has a private bathroom with bathtub and shower. Bedroom en-suite bathroom. A balcony offers views of the hotel’s pool or the Andaman Sea.Car rentals and tour desk services are available. The resort provides free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour front desk. Thai and International cuisine is served at the resort’s restaurant. Baan Karon View Phuket is a 15-minute drive from Patong Beach and various nightlife outlets. It is a 40-minute drive from Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Baan Karon View Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Karon View Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing