We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kata Beach Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kata Beach Center Hotel
Ranked #101 of 146 Karon B&B and Inns
San Clemente
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Having been to Phuket several times, I like the Kata Beach Center area, but this is the first time I stayed at the Kata Beach Center Hotel. This time we were traveling with our 9-year-old son so needed a bigger room that other hotels in the area could not provide.

Our room was large and had an extra bed for our son. Mind you, this was a real extra bed and not a folding cot so the bed was very comfortable. Our room was rather large and included cable TV, which was great! We also had free use of the jacuzzi and steam room. The room and the whole hotel environment were very clean!

The price for our room was also less expensive than at other nearby hotels with inferior rooms & service. We paid about $40 per night, which included a delicious breakfast for all three of us in the hotel's restaurant. Speaking of their restaurant, the restaurant is reasonable priced and the food there is really good.

One other thing that makes Kata Beach Center Hotel truly special is the family atmosphere. The owners of the hotel are always around at the restaurant and are very, very helpful and friendly. I cannot think of returning to Phuket and staying at a different hotel from now on.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    30
    23
    6
    8
See reviews for
6
64
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

When I arrived I was welcomed by the Dutch family who own this hotel. They made me feel at home right away! By check in they told me about the hotel and that it has 3 buildings close to eachother. One building with the reception, one with the restaurant and swimming pool and the third one with the Spa (Jacuzzi, steam room, massage room etc). I stayed at the "restaurant building" and had a large room with balcony and free Wi-Fi. I booked for 3 nights at first and ended up staying there for almost 2 weeks and spended a lot of time in the evenings with the owners Josca & Jeroen at the restaurant.
Thanks for the great stay and I will be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

After staying on Patong Beach, we were eager to head down to Karon/Kata which we have read was beautiful and much quieter. We decided to get dropped off on a main road and then find accommodation. After walking around with big backpacks we headed down a quiet side road and were very happy to find this hotel. It is in a sort of man made complex street so modern and very quiet.

We were welcomed openly by the sibling owners who immediately made the 6 of us feel very at ease and happy to pay the cheap price of 650 bht per night (£13). The rooms were amazing for this price, very clean, spacious and nicely designed-painted by the owners themselves. The hotel includes a clean pool, its small but big enough for us as we were the only 6 by the pool in the low season. They also have a spa with a jacuzzi and steam a short walk up the road which are just as clean and enjoyable.

Rooms had wifi, air con, fridge with complimentary water, complimentary shower gels, etc. The only thing I can find to comment negatively on was that we did not get new sower gel/shampoo for our second night....if thats the only thing then you can see that we loved this hotel.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night as they had a hot stone grill buffet which was amazing for the price and very good food.

It is short walk to kata beach which is beautiful. We rented scooters and drove short distances to the further south beaches Kata Noi and Nai Harn. We rented scooters through the hotel-cheap and easy, and also booked our transfers to Phi Phi with them. The Dutch male owner is very good with helping out with local culture and places to see-we would never have gone to Nai Harn beach without his recommendation, and this is a must.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy_tucker1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

On arrival the reception is not immediately obvious as the hotel is split over 3 blocks with rooms situated above shops and offices. Our room was of a good size and quite comfortable but although fairly new showed signs of being a bit tired. We were situated directly above the hotels bar/restaurant and woken at 5.30/6am each morning by the staff opening up. As much as they may have tried, you cant quietly open steel roller shutters. Nothing too much wrong with this hotel, except the early morning wake up, but much better hotels within 50 yards at around half the price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PCRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiloo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

We stayed for 10 days in this really nice hotel. The people are very friendly and helpful and the room is super clean en big! The bed was really great, so much better than most beds in Asia! You can book several tours with the hotel, hire a scooter (very cheap!) or go to the beach, which is close to the hotel. The hotel also organises dinnerparty's like stonegrilling or karaoke. The hotel is in a quiet street far away from the buzzling traffic and bars. Really great! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosefromholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

Last week I stayed a few days in Kata! With a limited budget it was rather difficult to find a good place to stay at the Phuket Island! As this part of the island is by my opinion is the best spot, it is normally expensive! And a cheaper hotel is normally not what you had one's in mind... But this hotel offers the best of both. Not expensive and high quality!
The rooms, in the 1,5 years old
building are clean and spacious! On the ground floor there is a good restaurant, belonging to the hotel, giving fine breakfast and a good diner! The BBQ we had when we stayed there was even more then good!
This review sounds maybe a little
over the top, but it all was more we ever expected to get for this price!
A big compliment for the owners, for arranging the very last minute taxi we needed, to go back to the airport, after the local minibus not turned up...
Next time I'll go back here for sure!
With all the best beaches of Phuket just around the corner, it is a good place to start your discovery of Phuket Island! Enjoy your stay!:)

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E_Force1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
352 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed in the Hotel for one night and taken the overall high prices in Phuket into account the place was OK and you get for what you pay for. Our room was clean even though it could have been slightly larger. The owners (Dutch) are very friendly and welcoming and the restaurant of the Hotel is also OK: good breakfast and for dinner you can have “hot stone”, i.e. you fry meat/seafood on a flat hot stone which is being put at the center of your table.
Only drawback: the hotel is located in the back of the town and you either have to walk around the gigantic Clubmed compound which occupies most of the beach front or you need to walk along a most disgusting open sewage canal. Unfortunately, urban services have not kept pace with the high volume of tourists and apparently not enough revenues/taxes derived from tourism are channeled back into those services which is a pity. The canal goes underground at a certain point but then straight into the bay: happy snorkeling! Kata as such (as well as Phathong) is a disaster, stay away! Full of the package crowd.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnskybeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
3.0 mi away
Manohra Cozy Resort
Manohra Cozy Resort
#53 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
3.2 mi away
Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach
3.4 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#66 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Simplitel Hotel
Simplitel Hotel
#36 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
2.5 mi away
Baan Karon Resort
Baan Karon Resort
#69 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
3.9 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Beach Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Center Hotel

Property: Kata Beach Center Hotel
Address: 98/47 Kata Road, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Karon
Hotel Class:3 star — Kata Beach Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Karon
Kata Beach Center Hotel Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing