We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunset Plaza
Ranked #52 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Karon
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We were moved here as a last minute 'emergency' due to issues at another Villa. Management and staff were very efficient in getting us settled in.

We stayed in a 3 bedroom penthouse with 5 adults, plenty of room for all of us. Amazing views from the roof top balcony and from the main living area, the sunsets are breathtaking!

A courtesy shuttle bus to bring you up the hill in the afternoon is an added bonus, although walking up it was great exercise!

Only issues were the smell of sewerage that tended to waft out of the bathrooms. That typical Thailand smell, but we just could not get rid of it. Our rooms stunk when we did not have any windows open! Also, a bit of wear and tear in the rooms and the property that could be easily repaired with a quick coat of paint or a scrubbing brush and soap.

Aside from that, we felt very secure and safe here, and staff were all lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    27
    7
    3
    9
See reviews for
28
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
country WA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our family of 5 - 2 adults and 3 teens stayed here for a week recently after stays at resorts in Khao Lak and Patong. We had booked a 3 bed penthouse but were put into the 4 bed penthouse on the corner with gorgeous views. This was fantastic as our 3 teens had been sharing a room at our previous resorts and they now had their own space. Scott welcomed us and was always helpful with any queries. The other staff were always friendly. The courtesy shuttle up and down the hill was great and the driver always saw us coming and was ready. The pools were lovely and the modern apartment was just amazing with plenty of room, with proximity to shops, restaurants, beach etc, 2 tv areas for checking the cheap dvds, plenty of bathrooms for our family, automatic blinds, spacious kitchen with the basics if we stayed in to eat.
We only used the spa on the first night bu that was fine.
Up the hill just before Sunset Plaza is Ton's View where we got our laundry done (very convenient). Most taxi drivers took us up the hill but some refused but no big deal.

One of the air conditioners leaked when put at a lower temperature and our ensuite smelt of steamed cabbage during the last 2 days but otherwise a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Apartments in building A seem to have better views but ground floor in building B have pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iloveholidays077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our family recently stayed here. One room for hubby & I, one for the teenagers. Didn't get twin beds for them as requested. They didn't have any rubbish bins. We had 3. The had a broom, we didn't. They had an ironing board, but no iron. We had neither. Strong smell of sewerage in our rooms most nights. The hill up & down the resort's a killer. Courtesy bus offered downhill between 9am & 1pm. Uphill 1pm to 6pm.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We checked in very late but no problems with 24hour security who kindly heleped us with our bags. Apartment was light and airy, lovely views over the area and exceeded our expectations albeit the apartments are starting to need a little more care and attention. All staff were extremely helpful especially Scott who resolved any issues we had and helped with recommendations and taxis, etc. Yes there is a steep driveway but the courtesy bus is a great way up and down and we found most tuktuk or taxi could get up and down, it's a steep walk or decline but not the end of the world! Really a super base for your trip and handy for the more peaceful Kata / Karon 200baht trips and a 400baht trip to Patong for the parties. Our youngest daughter loved the pool, although unheated it didnt seem to stop the kids. There is a pool bar but unfortunately no snacks, a walk down the drive and you have several restuarants / bars to choose from. Recommended! Thank you Scott for all your help and the excllent security and office team plus the courtesy bus driver, great job all.

Room Tip: We had a sea facing suite lower floor and found it private and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Being on the island of Phuket in Thailand with a big back pain, what can a poor traveler? Besides the traditional Thai massage, if the pain does not disappear where it's possible go? Qualimedya at Sunset Plaza Karon it's a good place, with the specification that there do Re-enable the service to the body and back pain at home and in the room.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Macoo333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Dont miss the sea view, choose the appartment Not with the jacooz.
SO QUIT place youll love the silent.
Kind and helpful staff.
Dont worry about the hills they provide a car to pick u up and down.
Anazing view even outside ur place.
House keeping is twice a week, we didnt find any worries with that.

No restaurant, and thats the only missing part in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeBurhama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I travelled in the month of August-2012 along with my wife and my son who is approx 2 yrs old.
I had a difficult time staying at the hotel since this hotel is built on a very steep hill and there are many taxi vendors who refuse to drop you at such a height.

Hotel's own shuttle service is only between 9 AM - 6 PM which means if you have to go for shopping or something like that post 6PM, believe me it will be a nightmare for you.

We stayed in a 1BHK and most of the stuff provided was not in a good shape. Almost everything was rusted. Jacuzzi was leaking and it wasn't so hygienic and we never were able to use the bathtub since it never worked during our stay.

I would also suggest not to ever book your car/tours from the hotel. You will find many other options to book these things near to Kata beach which will be very very cheap.

There is also no staff at the hotel post 6PM which means if you require anything post 6PM, you have to arrange it yourself.

Room Tip: Do not take rooms near to the lift and in the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Atul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach
0.0 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#12 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manohra Cozy Resort
Manohra Cozy Resort
#53 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#66 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Karon Sino House
Karon Sino House
#25 of 105 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza

Property: Sunset Plaza
Address: 400/2 Patak Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious apartments with large balconies overlooking the Andaman Sea. Sunset Plaza offers modern and comfortable apartments located high above the sea at Karon Beach. The Andaman Sea is literally just in front of you. Enjoy the sunset from a lounge chair in the pool bar with a cool drink in your hand or while doing laps in the infinity pool! All apartments have modern furniture and high quality beds to give most possible comfort. Fully equipped kitchens, cable TV and high speed internet access. Free shuttle service to the main road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Hotel Karon
Sunset Plaza Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing