We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gings - Great Place to Be”
Review of Ging Restaurant

Ging Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 367 Restaurants in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Kennewick, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gings - Great Place to Be”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My girlfriend and I came here a couple times for lunch, we both thought it was one of the best places we ate during our trip to Phuket. Our first meal she got Beef w/Oyster Sauce, and I got the Crab in Green Curry w/Coconut Milk. The beef was good but she got a little tired of so much meat, and the curry was probably the best I had the whole time I was there, it is just REALLY messy to eat. Shelled crab legs are generally a messy food, but when it has been covered in a green curry....

We also tried the mango pancake which was great. The second time around she had the Beef w/Cashews which she loved much more than the one with oyster sauce. I went for the special that day which was the Sweet & Sour fish, it was 2 huge filets...somehow I managed to eat it all, and we got fried rice shaped into a clam shell. We loved the place, and I have put up pictures of everything we ordered.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dustin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    268
    94
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Big portions and good food”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We visited in the 'low season' Oct 12 when Karon was very quiet, but Ging was doing a good trade = a good sign. It was a long walk from our hotel but we were staying a bit out of Karon. The reviews that contain directions really helped, using Google we would never have found it. The serving portions were large and they gave our 7 yr old an ice cream at the end so everyone was happy! Would have gone back if we hadn't been staying so far away.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmgsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great meal”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

the meal was great & price was great, the service was really good & the prximity to our hotel was fantastic

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kathy2363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming and plentiful”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

generous portions, attentive service and free WiFi. Walk past them during the day and they ask you 'when you come back?'

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“WoWa WeeWa!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Absolutely fabulous atmosphere and great quality food in Karon. We were staying at the Movenpick and it was about a 15 minute walk which was perfect.

We came here based on the reviews we have read. The food quality is outstanding and the staff make you feel like you are part of the family.

We dined here on two occasions. Had the fried squid and prawns (delicious), the cashew salad (my wife's favorite), Herbal Salad (comes smothered on a white snapper fish), green curry crab (my personal favorite) with Pina Coladas and a Phuket Paradise (Gin with other stuff--delicious but strong).

At the end of the meal they offer complimentary juice in champagne glasses. Super cute.

Highly recommend! Huge TIP: Ask for the Honeymooner's Discount (20% off) before coming in...they had it hidden under some books and to entice us to come in they asked if we were Honeymooners! They will even bring out rice plates in the shape of hearts =)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VenetziaOleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ging Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing