We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Worst hotel ever.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Phuket Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phuket Heritage Hotel
Ranked #123 of 129 Hotels in Karon
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed 2 nights there. The room was not clean (towels are filthy), facing to the busy road and it kept me awake all night. Tuk tuks kept going by playing loud music, mosquitos in the room. The swimming pool didn't look clean so we didn't use it. When we came back from dinner, the receptionist gave our room key to another guests by mistake, and it was a very bad security. There is no safe in each room. Then we asked them to change our room because of the noise, then the air con was broken in the second room, which kept us awake all night because of the heat. Also the other side of the room was noisy from the market anyways. Two sleepless nights, dirty towels and not great bathroom, never want to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thomkatsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    27
    18
    9
    15
See reviews for
13
27
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

After looking at the glossy pics and reading some reviews our eagerly awaited visit to Phuket and the Phuket Heritage arrived.
Our booking was for 12 nights in an " Executive Suite"
First impressions were not good, small feature less reception, with a poorly lit internet corner. It was all down hill from there !!

Before I continue I will tell you the good bits, Grace the beautiful Thai lady on reception, smiling helpfull and obviously inundated with complaints. MMMMMMM ????????? thats it one good point !

We booked in and parted with payment via credit card, we were led to our " executive suite". Up two flights of stairs( NO LIFTS HERE )across a wooden bridge over a fish pond, down a flight of stairs and we are there. Executive my backside ! a bed(not against a wall no headboard) in the middle of the room, a shower, bath, toilet and sink. Sounds great ? its not ! The room was damp, musty, grubby and left a lot to be desired. Bath was huge plenty of room for two, three, possibly four. Major drawback is the water is barely warm, runs about as fast as a 45 stone one legged man, by the time the water reaches the far side of the bath its cold !! Bath is a waste of space !! Toilet is hidden in an alcove behind the shower, need a wee ? someone in the shower? tough your gonna get wet !!. Shower base is two paving slabs on a selection of pebbles. Breeding ground for mozzy's . Want to wash your hands after using the loo? come out of the alcove walk around the room to the bed and behind there you will find the sink !!
After 30 minutes and the look on my wifes face , coupled with the 3 bites she had already received it was time for a room change, Grace agreed without any problem and we moved. Sadly it was exactly the same with the exception of two windows that did not open!.

After roughly an hour our decision was to move, not rooms but Hotels, after a phone call it was agreed that I would haved to pay for a night and would be refunded the remainder(not sure it that has happened will check tomorrow). We found an internet cafe and booked into the Andamann Beach suites , now thats what you call executive !
We stayed one night at the Heritage, I spent the night fighting to keep my pillows on the bed, and stopping myself getting strangled by the mozzy net, my wife just fought the mozzy's Final score Mozzy's won 7-0 .

Room Tip: Book into another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markamandaNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Karon hotels

johannesburg
Level Contributor
89 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Spent 5 nights here. Rooms have been refurbished. Clean, big rooms, big bathroom, simple, very friendly staff, good location.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank es786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My 3 girlfriends and I made a short holiday to Phuket and stayed at Heritage Hotel Phuket. It was a lovely hotel with friendly staff. The room is clean and comfortable. The only drawback was that the hotel does not have multi plug as my charger is a 3-plug pin while theirs is a 2-plug pin. I ended up with no handphone service which could prove to be a blessing in disguise.
Though it rained from the time we arrived till the time we depart(!), this stay did not damper our mood and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. There were pockets of sunshine where we manage to have a quick walk to the beach to enjoy the waves and sun. When it was rained, we would spent our time lounging on one of the 4 cabanas located on the swimming pool at the 3rd floor of our hotel. It was just amazing as each cabana had a roof, to keep us dry where we enjoyed the breeze coming from the rain and hearing the pitter patter of the drizzle. We just put our towels on the large bean bags on the cabana, lie down with a good book and chat or snooze among ourselves. At one point, we even went down to pack fried rice from the nearest restaurant and order drinks from the pool bar and had a good picnic from our cabana.
Our hotel stay comes with breakfast which though has limited choice, but was delicious. If you don't feel like hotel food, some walking distance to the hotel's right, you will come to a restaurant serving authentic thai food. It was spicy and delicious! As for our dinner, just behind hotel was an array of shop houses with lots of restaurant pubs and massage centres. You need to pass by a bazaar of shops to get to these shoplots. We even manage to do daily massage at a reasonable price.
The taxi in front of our hotel were friendly people and we got one to take us to Patong on our first night, for our first cabaret show and we manage to have dinner at one of the shopping complex there.
As our main intention to go Phuket was just to relax, enjoy the sun (sometimes rain), sand and unwind, this was exactly what we had done. We love it.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petite_rainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

I highly recommended for this hotel,good services,cozy rooms,very strategic location,and friendly staffs.Never forget Phuket moments without staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lionheart81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed here for one week and got a great rate (quoted 1,600 baht and as we walked away to find somewhere else, the manager came out and said she would go down to 800 baht a night including breakfast (about £6.50/£7- was low season though)

It is a lovely hotel and convenient location but the staff do not speak very good english at all and was the worst we came across. Even basic things such as 'is there a doctor nearby?' they couldnt understand or give us an answer to. Although the staff are very friendly and pleasant it is a bit of downfall.

Breakfast wasnt all that nice - not worth getting up for anyway, plus the restaurant is located right next to the road - which is ok for people watching but pretty loud.

The swimming pool is loacted in the roof and is a lovely area to chill out in, complete with mostly manned pool bar. The young guy who was working there was very determined and friendly but again english quite poor.

Rooms are spacious and mainly nicely decorated. Found it strange that they would change bedding everyday if you wanted them to, but the bathroom wouldnt even get wiped down.

Located near to, what we thought was karon town (full of markets, massage places, and pubs) but on the last day we discovered somewhere called 'Karon Plaza' which was about 15 min walk away - walking along the beach front. Although behind the hotel you can access the main markets and pubs etc and this was fine for the week we stayed. Wat Chalong temple is nearby as is 'The Big Buddha', I think about about half hour/hour driving.

Karon on the whole alright, but probably not great for families, unless you are in more of resort. I didnt think there was a lot to do for families. Although close to the beach which we read as 'clean to swim in'. also across the road from a nice large lake. Probably good to visit for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BFem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogyakarta
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

I stayed in phuket heritage for 5 days with my sister, mom, and other 4 relatives. So we booked 3 rooms. The hotel is okay, although they need to put some air conditioners at lobby since it is totally hot! The room is basic and my bathroom need to repaint. The food for breakfast sometimes tasted like re-cooked from yesterday and the menu are boring to be honest. The pool and jacuzzi is located on the top roof, which is ideal for me, but unfortunately they closed the area at 7 pm, so why we need a jacuzzi after all since the day weather is so hot so jacuzzi is a definatelly not an option. However, the staff are so effective and friendly. They are helpful, especially when I asked them to rent a motorbike, they could prepared it less than 30 minutes. The location is ideal, only 3 minutes waking to the Karon Beach, and the 7-11 mini market is only next door. The hotel put some sign for us not to bring food and drinks from outside, but I broke it anyway and they never complained (they must saw pile of food package in the bin). The highlight of the hotel is the travel agent. I have surveyed the other tour agents, they can give us the cheapest rate, but then we can get golden seat at Phuket fantasea and VIP room on the cruise ship to phi-phi island (we only paid standard rate). Internet connection is available but you have to pay 50 baht for an hour (wifi connection but they provide a PC for free).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank galanglufityanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8117, General Manager at Phuket Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2010
Warmest greeting from Phuket Heritage Hotel, The Sino-Portuguese style hotel.

We highly appreciate your comment posted on tripadvisor.com and we hope to welcome you to our hotel and have an enjoyable time again.

Kind regards,
The Management
Phuket Heritage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.4 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#90 of 129 in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Sunset Hotel
Grand Sunset Hotel
#74 of 129 in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
1.1 mi away
In on the Beach
In on the Beach
#84 of 129 in Karon
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Divers Inn
Divers Inn
#122 of 129 in Karon
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
0.8 mi away
On Hotel Phuket
On Hotel Phuket
#93 of 129 in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral Inn
Coral Inn
#19 of 141 in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Heritage Hotel

Property: Phuket Heritage Hotel
Address: 558 / 6 Patak Road, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phuket Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the rolling waves and golden sands of Karon Beach while you stay at the Phuket Heritage Hotel. With its Chinese and Portuguese influenced architecture, the resort offers comfortable accommodation at an affordable price.If you are looking for shopping and nightlife options, the hotels location makes traveling around easy, as it is only 5 minutes away from Patong Beach.There are a total of 65 rooms. The rooms are available with next types:- Superior- Deluxe- Spa DeluxeEvery room with cable TV and satellite Russian TV, IDD Telephone, Bathtub and shower with hot and cold water, Bathroom amenities, hair dryer, refrigerator with mini bar, air conditioning system, coffee table and chairs. For SPA Deluxe Rooms also LCD TV, DVD Player, Large bathtub, Digital safe box, Coffee and tea facilities, Bathrobe and Sleepers.Service and Facilities:- 24-hour reception- Russian guest service representative- Outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi- Digital safe box in room- Safe deposit box at Reception (free of charge)- Iron and iron Board (free of charge)- Baggage check (free of charge)- Wireless Internet Service (free of charge at lobby area)- Internet Corner- Room service- Laundry service- Pool table- Thai traditional massage and SPA- Car/Motorbike rental- Transfer service- Tour desk- Currency Exchange- Meeting roomDinning:- Baron Restaurant Karon serving International food, Russian food by Russian chef, Italian food, Thai food and Fresh Seafood- The Loft - pool bar - Cafe-ine - coffee corner- Breakfast is served daily from 07.00 am to 10.00 am at Baron Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Phuket Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket Heritage Hotel Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing