We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Ranked #53 of 133 Hotels in Karon
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My parents and I had a wonderful stay over the New Years. Helpful and friendly staff, rooms are in good condition (room service every day). The location of the hotel is great, as it's very close to the beach (approx. 5 minutes walking distance) and to heaps of different shops, bars and restaurants around. The New Years party organised by the hotel was awesome - concert with live music and fun games, buffet with a huge variety of meals to choose from. Also, the staff helped me to organize my Dad's bday surprise, they have ordered cake and sang a Bday song for him during breakfast! Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers.

Room Tip: get the one with balcony to dry your clothes
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    335
    99
    32
    31
See reviews for
117
235
52
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

From the outside you would not see that the hotel is perfect. But when you check in you would find that The Sugar Palm / Sugar Marina Karon Beach is perfect! I stayed in Superior Room, I do satisfied with what i got, i was not expected the 3 stars hotel would be very good. The location is a few minutes walk for shops, bars, restaurant, and to the beach for sure. The room is big, had flat TV, DVD, refrigerator, completed toiletries,bathroom with shower and bath, sandals, bathrobe, etc. The staff were nice and helpful. I would recommended this hotel and would stay again in the future.

Room Tip: I prefer to have a higher floors room so I can had good view, instead of a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mella19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2013

It was very pleasent stay in Sugar Marina. The Hotel located in front of Karon Beach & in the market. Overall I will recommend this hotel to stay. The Room Service was very good, Staffs were really co-operative.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhishekoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Sugar Palm is in a great location, a few minutes walk from shops, bars, restaurants and of course the beach. You could not ask for a better location. With the resort down a lane way away from the main road, it is quiet and an enjoyable area of Karon Beach. All the staff were courteous and helpful, always on hand to assist with anything needed during our stay. The rooms are cleaned to a high standard everyday and the breakfast is plentiful with a good variety of choice. Would definitely stay again at this lovely resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L55_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birminghm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We arrived at Sugar Palm in Oct 2013, the room was satisfactory, nothing special.

Pro's
Friendly and helpful staff
Clean and tidy hotel
Breakfast is good, with a lot of choice for everyone
The beach is just a 5min walk

Con's
Not the best of locations - Karon area was fairly quite, it seemed like Patong was the area to be in, everyone talks about it and there seems to be a lot happening there, however bare in mind it's also more touristy so you will be paying touristy prices around there too.
Lighting in rooms is poor
Only one toilet roll per day per room, no additional provided in room
Only one pool which is small, in other words long and narrow
No gymnasium - just a few treadmills and one cross trainer
No spa

Other advice
Forget about negotiating, even the taxi drivers nor tuk tuk drivers are willing to negotiate on prices. There is a regular and reliable bus service which we used for 35bht one way to travel to Phuket town and Patong.

Generally an average hotel in an average location at an average price.

Ash

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4shfaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We went on a vacation in June 2013 after a long time, and phuket can rightly be called a piece of heaven... I fell in love with the place :)

We stayed at Sugar palm resort at Karon beach, not a very great resort to boast about but decent with its offerings. We booked a pool access room and it was a relaxing stay. Only problem with the poo; was the water being too salty, will be great if resort can do something about it. A pretty decent place with a wonderful location, just a walk away from Karon beach.

Room Tip: Pool Access are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankitachaturvedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I spent 5 days there and my stay was really great. My room (delux pool view) was big enough with I spent 5 days there and my stay was really great. My room (deluxe pool view) was big enough with a private terrace straight to the pool. And the pool was not so deep and very clean. In green season there were no too many guests around so I never felt myself out of privacy.
Furniture was easy, but I love this style. Maybe my bathroom was little bit dark, but it didn’t worry me.
Cleaning was on the highest level.
Free minibar(with Singha, Cola and Still water) came as a nice surprise for me.
Wi-Fi was ok, comparing with other places I’ve been in Thailand. Moreover there is a real Mac in the room so it is easy to check a mail or look up maps or so.

Breakfast was average – just couple of main courses (quite similar every day) bread and 2 kinds of fresh fruits, so it doesn’t worth to pay any extras for it.

Well, I can strictly recommend this hotel for young travelers.
private

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Midoricolada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.8 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#20 of 57 in Kata Beach
308 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#68 of 133 in Karon
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - ART? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - ART

Property: Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Address: 542/1 Patak Road, | Karon Beach, Muang, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Karon Beach)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#45 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Marina Resort - ART 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exciting new resort concept brings art into every aspect of your stay. Check out the cool eye catching sculptures and displays made from everyday hotel items that will tempt you to take a photo. But more than this, each creative piece of installation art is produced by our own team of staff whose talent goes beyond their gracious hospitality. The installation art has a stunning visual effect that will make you smile from the mighty stack of chairs on the lawn to the paintbrush towel hangers in your deluxe room. Check out the oversized staff photo gallery, huge mobile made from pencils, the upside down umbrellas display and the facilities wall full of TVs to name just a few. There are so many artistic delights to discover at Sugar Marina Resort-ART-Karon Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - ART reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Karon Hotel Karon
Sugar Palm Hotel Karon
Sugar Marina Resort - ART Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing