We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Marina Resort - ART

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Ranked #52 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

good location, just round the triangle for karan beach.
modern facilities, clear room, big swimming pool, good buffet breakfast
it provide free baby cot for the little child and the cot is quite comfortable and safe

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    323
    92
    29
    28
See reviews for
105
217
50
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chengdu, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have stayed here in Sep.2012,with the excellent experience which made everyone happy, we stayed here again in Feb.2013.There are many advantages staying,especially as follows:
1.There's a clean and comfortable swimming pool, we reserved a superior room, they upgraded a pool access room which let us access to the pool directly.
2.The room is colorful,which makes us feel delighted.
3.The staff are very kindly and helpful, whenever you have problems, they are willing to solve, and with bright smiles.
4.It's near the Karon Beach and Bar, but it's also queit.

Room Tip: If you are choosing a hotel for "Holiday", don't hesitate to choose sugar palm,especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

The reviews on this place may have been confused w/the Sugar Palm at Kata instead of Karon because I thought this place was kind of funky. The location was good because it was literally two blocks from the beach, but the walls needed a touch of paint and the breakfast buffet was kind of oily. All the meats sat in water, don't ask me why, the bacon was brown and everything else was not of the best quality. I guess you could say, you get what you pay for. If you're just wanting a cheap hotel that's centrally located, and close to the beach, this is your place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelbi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in Sugar Palm Karon on a top floor for the first time as it was recommended to us. We had to change the room once as the other guests were so inadequately loud as they were making unbearable noise around the clock. We were totally disappointed as the only good thing in the hotel was the room - we had the biggest room for which we paid more of course. On the one side, the staff was completely inadequate and with zero knowledge of any foreign language which made it impossible to resolve any problems. The breakfast was typically inadequate for a 3 star hotel and maybe a bit worse. The 99% of the quests of the hotel contributed to the other side of our unpleasant stay as their Vodka-drive attitude did not respect the privacy of other guests so we will never come back to this place I am afraid. Value for money - only at first side, the reality is the other 3 star hotels in the area give much better service, quality of food and environment. Definitely Phuket is not what it was 2 years ago and Karon in general is a big disappointment - it is dirty, the new wave of tourists changed the place for worse - read Phuket Gazette re the night life and how dangerous it became in there. The pool was surprisingly dirty and it was quite disgusting sometimes - when we asked the reception to take care of it just from time to time, they could not care less. On a positive side, there are many other places to discover in Thailand so be open minded. Enjoy!

Room Tip: There is not good room - for those who do not care about details and are going with families it is u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tessyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked this hotel via a groupon deal in Australia and by all accounts it was a fantastic deal when we compared to other hotels at this time of year.

The room itself was very clean and nicely presented, with a decent bed for our 12 yo daughter. The bathroom was neat and tidy.

We were on the 1st floor, which was a good location overlooking the pool.

The hotel is a very short walk to the beach and also to the main street for shopping and eateries.

Unfortunately, the staff let the hotel down.

The staff let the hotel down. There were rude and unsmiling, any small request met with disdain. The only time I had help was in the middle of the night when the toilet broke and the owner was manning the front desk. He ensured the matter was fixed immediately.

The pool was falling apart, with lots of tiles floating at the bottom and sharp edges to look out for, I thought maybe there was a big maintenance overhaul due.

The free internet would have been nice but the constant power failures and internet outages were just frustrating.

The constant fireworks booming at all hours of the night was offputting, but can't be sure the hotel staff were responsible for this.

The buffet breakfast was passable, nothing outstanding, cereal, fruit, toast and hots, devoured completely by the hoard of Russians that were staying at the hotel.

Sadly, this hotel with it's location and the placement of the pool off the rooms has potential for something better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool side, it is cooler and looks over a nice vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yecarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the beach, shops and restaurants. Plenty of parking spaces. We had a pool facing room on the second floor (Level 2) and we are glad because we wanted some couple privacy. The room on the 1st floors would be great for families with kids, The room was clean and the beds, since our bed was two single bed squeeze together, were comfortable. Upon our arrival, the receptionist brought us directly to the room and gave us a short briefing on where things are located. That was a nice touch. Breakfast has a decent selection.Overall stay was pleasant but wifi could be better.

Room Tip: The pool rooms on the 1st floors would be great for families with kids but couples may request for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BunnyDahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Sugar palm karon is e nice place to stay, nothing special but if you have a good deal than is it ok.
Rooms are clean and the pool acces rooms are nice, near the beachat 5 minutes walk.
Staff are ok but nothing special, breakfast average.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ronald-on-Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
2.6 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#20 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
0.1 mi away
On Hotel Phuket
On Hotel Phuket
#97 of 132 in Karon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
0.4 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#65 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Simplitel Hotel
Simplitel Hotel
#37 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - ART? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - ART

Property: Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Address: 542/1 Patak Road, | Karon Beach, Muang, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Karon Beach)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#43 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Marina Resort - ART 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exciting new resort concept brings art into every aspect of your stay. Check out the cool eye catching sculptures and displays made from everyday hotel items that will tempt you to take a photo. But more than this, each creative piece of installation art is produced by our own team of staff whose talent goes beyond their gracious hospitality. The installation art has a stunning visual effect that will make you smile from the mighty stack of chairs on the lawn to the paintbrush towel hangers in your deluxe room. Check out the oversized staff photo gallery, huge mobile made from pencils, the upside down umbrellas display and the facilities wall full of TVs to name just a few. There are so many artistic delights to discover at Sugar Marina Resort-ART-Karon Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - ART reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Karon Hotel Karon
Sugar Palm Hotel Karon
Sugar Marina Resort - ART Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing