We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my recent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Marina Resort - ART

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Ranked #45 of 129 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“my recent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

stayed 4 days 3 nights here with friends and family. had a superb time, booked a pool access room, the rooms were huge and fantastic no complaints at all . the room has a smart tv whereby we can surf the net on tv .house keeping is prompt and friendly mini-bar is totally free everyday topped up with one can of beer,soft drink and two mineral water bottles . air con is good fresh and powerful . morning breakfast is american buffet style which has a eggs station. would prefer if they also had a pancakes station as well.overall had a fun time and thumbs up for the hotel
In Thailand there seem to have mosquito problem all around hope the management can provide a electric diffuser for the rooms which will make it compete

Room Tip: please get the pool access room you will not regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wildmakkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    289
    74
    23
    21
See reviews for
89
175
44
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed here for 9 nights in June 2012. Great value for money. Staff always smiling and helpful. Booked online and didn't organize a late checkout, spoke to the manager and she gave us another room to have a shower before our evening flight free of charge. Great location.

Room Tip: Pool access room was really worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We arrived at this beautiful hotel a little early as we had driven down from Patong Beach. When we arrived our room wasn't ready, however we were made to feel very welcome, we were given a welcome drink of juice and then were told that as our room wasn't ready we would be bumped up to a different room. And wow what a room this was the doors led out to a deck that went straight to the pool. I have to say this was a welcome surprise. I would stay here again as it was also a very well located hotel close to everything.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jen2teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahaheel, Kuwait
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were pleasently surprised when we arrived at the hotel. The rooms are well sized and the ones on the beach side have a really nice view over the garden/pool. Clean, well located, nicely decorated, slightly large passages if you're in the last rooms. The pool is very large and very enjoyable. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EstebanMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

this hotel was pleasant,clean and in a good location in Karon. The service, and breakfast was all fine. Fine for the price, but i wasnt overly fussed in Karon. Bit too quiet for me and the beach although lovely is not as good as i have in my own backyard in Wollongong, Australia.
To be honest i wasnt fussed on Phuket. I loved Bangla Road and the fun of the bars and things but I found the people a bit rude, stand offish. They didnt seem to like having tourists around to be honest and certainly didnt have much of a sense of humour. Dont get me wrong we did meet some lovely thai people and can totally recommend the red onion resteraunt and the small one up from that on the same side of the road. We found a lovely thai woman driver Kud, she was lovely. The Nepalese and Burmese people seemed to have more time for us and was happy to have a bit of a joke, but they can be rogues. Their english was alot better and they seemed mostly happy to have a chat, I think they realised the tourist dollar. It felt like there was more money in Phuket than in other parts of Thailand and Indonesia..
Shopping was much better in old phuket town, a great market and loved the weekend night market.

Room Tip: the pool is massive, and you can get a room directly into the pool, Dont know if that would be a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhonda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Sugar Palm Resort was fabulous. Great service, clean and close to everything and only a short taxi ride to Patong at reasonable price. We had a fabulous time all round and plan on going back.

Room Tip: Ground floor goes straight onto pool - terrific. But no stairs to get back out so you have to walk a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank basketballjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

If you are going to stay near Karon Beach (which is infamous for its riptides during the low season), you could do a lot worse than staying here. The rooms are of respectable size. Wifi is free throughout hotel, although slow in the rooms. I like to do laps when swimming, and the pool is perfect for this since it's about the length of a football field and about 5-6 feet across. Breakfast is average, but expensive if it is not included in your roomrate. It's a great location -- minutes from beach in one direction; bars/restaurants etc. in the other. We ran into a bit of a problem the first day -- AC didn't work -- so they upgraded us to a better room overlooking pool for the rest of our stay. That was a mixed blessing, since drunk Russians were particularly loud late at night for several nights. And, best of all, they gave us one can of free beer most days we stayed there. If I stay in Karon again, I'll definitely stay at the Sugar Palm.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better chance you have of seeing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aspennow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
2.6 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort
2.6 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#18 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#55 of 129 in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Simplitel Hotel
Simplitel Hotel
#30 of 129 in Karon
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
0.3 mi away
In on the Beach
In on the Beach
#84 of 129 in Karon
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - ART? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - ART

Property: Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Address: 542/1 Patak Road, | Karon Beach, Muang, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Karon Beach)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Marina Resort - ART 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exciting new resort concept brings art into every aspect of your stay. Check out the cool eye catching sculptures and displays made from everyday hotel items that will tempt you to take a photo. But more than this, each creative piece of installation art is produced by our own team of staff whose talent goes beyond their gracious hospitality. The installation art has a stunning visual effect that will make you smile from the mighty stack of chairs on the lawn to the paintbrush towel hangers in your deluxe room. Check out the oversized staff photo gallery, huge mobile made from pencils, the upside down umbrellas display and the facilities wall full of TVs to name just a few. There are so many artistic delights to discover at Sugar Marina Resort-ART-Karon Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - ART reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Karon Hotel Karon
Sugar Palm Hotel Karon
Sugar Marina Resort - ART Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing