We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Rooms and Friendly Welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green Island Guest House
Ranked #114 of 137 Hotels in Karon
Reviewed November 12, 2009

Have stayed here twice. Tony, his family and staff are most welcoming. Rooms were of a decent size with good showers and decent air conditioning. Comfortable bar downstairs and only a 5 minute walk to the beautiful beach. Central position with plenty of eating and drinking options nearby. Great value. Will be going back !

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 46 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2009

The owner and staff are so friendly that you feel like one of the family.The rooms are large spotless and cheap(700 Baht a night) and nothing is too much trouble.The positioning of the guesthouse could hardly be better : Nightlife 2 minutes away and only 4 minutes to the beach.Excelent resteraunts within 100 yards.
This place has everything you could want in a guesthouse.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatBGlasgowScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

I am a long-time visitor to Karon (since 1993), which is probably my favorite beach in the world (and I am a serious beach bum). In July 2008, I went back for the first time in a few years and noticed the Green Island and its almost perfect location, which is both close to the beach (3-5 minutes on my crutches) and a host of good restaurants and bars (even closer).

I then booked a 4-night stay during my most recent trip for December via email to the property's website. The owner, Tony and his staff, turned out to be most helpful, despite the fact that my diving instructor friend kept bugging them with many phone calls at all hours. I was also most impressed by the wonderful rooms, which far surpass most rooms in hotels that are 3-4 times more expensive. The steep stairs presented some difficulty for me as I am on crutches (bad hip) but that difficulty was surmountable with a little patience. The bar downstairs is also one of the nicest hangouts in a wonderful neighborhood full of fun alternatives for those who like to drink whatever, chat with whoever, and learn about various experiences not often available to the less fortunate.

The Green Island was particularly refreshing for me because I had just escaped from the much crazier Patong after 4 days of 5hrs/day ot Thai language lessons. Perhaps I am prejudiced because green is my favorite color, but this is indeed a green island in paradise. My only recommendation: please enjoy.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank beachboyfromkyoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

I first visited Karon in March 2008 and stayed in another hotel which I reviewed then.While I was there I spent some time in the bar of the Green Island and got to know the people who run it.
It is owned by Tony and his wife Tran and their 2 little girls Bea and Anna.
I found the Green Island to be the most relaxing accomadation I have ever stayed in.My friend and I stayed there from the 7th to the 18th of September and although it is not as oppulant as some places it had everything that we needed.
The position of the Green Island is just about perfect. A 3-4 minute walk through town brings you to the beautiful beach and to the nightlife it takes only 1-2 minutes.
Tony and Tran are a great source of information and Tuk who runs the Tour Agency which is attached to the Green Island was most helpful in arranging trips and transfers.
All in all I would say that the Green Island is perhaps the most comfortable and relaxing guesthouse I have ever stayed in.
In terms of value again I think that for what we paid(less than £11 per night) for a single room this will take a lot of beating.
I would recomend the Green Island to anyone except people with walking difficulties because some of the internal stairs are quite steep.
I plan to visit Karon next year and will be staying at the Green Island.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jreid54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2008

I stay at the green island when i want night out in karon Beach. Nice quiet soi the Green island guesthouse is located in. Close to bars, restaurants and only 5 minutes walk from the beach.
Tony the owner is a great host for relaxing in there bar in the evening before hitting the bars in the local area.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PhuketBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Io soggiornosempre nei Quest house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aniello B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatmir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach
2.7 mi away
Phuket InterHouse
Phuket InterHouse
#109 of 137 in Karon
28 reviews
1.3 mi away
Karon View Resort
Karon View Resort
#125 of 137 in Karon
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
On Hotel Phuket
On Hotel Phuket
#96 of 137 in Karon
107 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Color Kata
The Color Kata
#47 of 56 in Kata Beach
123 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Village & Natural Garden Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Island Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Island Guest House

Address: 516/15 Patak Road, Soi Islandia | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 137 Hotels in Karon
Price Range: $23 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Island Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Green Island Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Island Hotel
Green Island Guest House Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing