We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful for couples”
Review of The Slate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Slate
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nai Yang
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful for couples”
Reviewed September 8, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Indigo Pearl from 23-26 Aug 08. Overall, we had a wonderful experience, and I would definitely recommend couples and those searching for peace and quiet to go there. We booked them from Asiarooms.com


Service

Had wonderful service all round from housekeepers to gym staff to waitresses, which made a huge difference.


Accomodation

We stayed at the Pearl Room. The bed was large and very comfortable. There was a holding area to dump all your clothes and stuff so that the main area would be free of clutter. Rain shower was great. Fragrance was also burnt in the room, and I was a sucker for this.

There were a couple of shortcomings: bathtub was located at the balcony in sight of everyone, so we did not use it. TV was mounted near the ceiling, so not very comfortable height-wise. Too much useless space at the bathroom, would prefer more room in the main area. Curtains were hard to pull.


Facilities & Spa

Gym had modern functioning equipment and smells clean and airy. The treadmill were better than those at my office :) A small TV was provided for each treadmill. There were table tennis and tennis facilities as well.

Tennis court was in bad condition though. The rackets there were just as bad.

We tried the spa which was up to par with other 4-star establishments we had been to. Expect to pay though. Approx 3000-4500 baht per person.


Food

This is where Indigo Pearl shines. 2 of its 3 restaurants, Black Ginger and Rivet, had wonderful evening ambience. Very romantic atmosphere and wonderful staff. Food quality wise, Black Ginger serves Thai (good) while Rivet is sort of a steakhouse (average to above-average?). Be prepared to pay at Rivet though, it's as expensive as eating at a prime steakhouse in Singapore (S$50 upwards).

Head out to the beach (2 min walk), turn right to this small beachfront restaurant called Marina Seafood Restaurant. Ladies there very welcoming and whips up tasty, authentic treats. Cheaply. We had our lunch there everyday.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank subadditivity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,477
    736
    222
    81
    46
See reviews for
762
2,017
90
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

My husband and I stayed 1 night there cause it's closest to the airport.
It's a high standard hotel with a good service and food.
It's a very big resort, even much big, you need long time to get everywhere...
the beach is not so beautiful (probably the position...) and there are few restaurant and shop outside.

Finally I suggest this hotel only for its' closest position than for other, I think you can get best places in othe rparts of Phuket, even if I didn't find Phuket a beautiful place.
Too tourism and low standard , also for the beach, in my opinion.

  • Liked — Clean, service, room
  • Disliked — Beach, place
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bestlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

I just want this review to be short. There is only one word to describe indigo pearl --> AWESOME!!! The hotel itself is designed with a tin-min theme. Staff are so friendly and the hotel admin staff are so organized. You don't need to worry about anything. The breakfast was so delicious. I would love to go to this place soon!!!

  • Liked — The service was awesome.
  • Disliked — Nothing. Everything was so perfect!!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SK8881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

we stayed here in March this year and had the most amazing stay! The hotel is absolutely beautiful, the rooms total luxury, the food was to die for and the service was perfect! I can not sing the praises of the hotel and their satff enough! We stayed for 10 nights in a room with our own pool. we keep on referring to our stay as our second honeymoon as it was the most relaxing and luxurious holiday we had experienced in years. we hardly left the hotel for our whole stay, why would we?! My only advice is to book now!!!

  • Liked — The smell of the essential oil they burnt everywhere!
  • Disliked — I can' think of a single thing!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hollyheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Indigo Pearl for our honeymoon and were very impressed at the service, the fantastic food, the impressive grounds, the pools, free mountain bike hire, tennis court, gym - you name it. And it's close to the beach (Linda's seafood, just across from the hotel, is great) where you can go on the hotel's kayak and surfboards for free.
And all for a very reasonable price, which included a huge fresh breakfast - well worth it. Afterwards, we moved across town and stayed at a cheaper place which we now regret. It's definitely worth spending a little more for the Pearl!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

How you like this hotel will depend on what you are looking for-if you want to be drinking and partying till 4 a.m. in the bars of Patong every night-rolling into the hotel drunk disturbing everyone- it’s definitely NOT for you. If you are looking for peace, rest and relaxation in a great hotel- read on.

We booked because of a special offer and TripAdvisor reviews and selected 12 days bed and breakfast. Summary?- for us it was an absolute “oasis” and excellent in so many ways. We are extremely well travelled “private” people looking for quality, relaxation, elegance, good food, good service, and good value. We got everything we wanted at the Indigo Pearl- for us it was a superb 12 days-lots of time to spend with each other in a great surroundings, but not without it’s foibles.

It’s a 200 Bht (£3) 10 minute taxi ride from Phuket airport, on arrival around 5 p.m. we were greeted by the staff with a welcome drink/sign in process- where we were also met by the “Tin Mine” theme of the hotel, (the owner’s family ran a tin mine in Phuket), which whilst strange at first, grew on us- some clever use of industrial artefacts and themes, to build the décor and sculptures around the grounds.

We were then taken to our “Kelly Quarter room” on the 1st level in block A, near the reception. It was good- nice room, balcony overlooking the lush grounds, near the Tin Mine restaurant- interesting décor/bathroom in keeping with the tin-mine theme. I recommend not taking a ground floor Kelly room-even though they do have a small patio, they are nicer with a balcony.

The first “shock” we had was the beach- my wife couldn’t wait to get to the beach- this was an initial disappointment- we are used to resorts that the hotel owns the beach-and they are kept pristine. In this case- the beach is part of Nai-Yang National Park. The Hotel grounds stop- then outside the hotel are some shanty bars, shops and massage places, and the beach area. When we saw it first the beach was very dirty- it looked like it hadn’t been cleaned for days-we were quite taken aback- and my wife was very disappointed.

We found out the facts the next day- the hotel has a tuk-tuk service to a small, clean section on the beach around 500M away from the hotel, which it has around 10 sets of loungers- a “make do” bar. It’s staffed from 10 -5 pm. - Towels complementary water etc. Not huge on water sports, but it was comfortable, quiet and private, great for reading/swimming/relaxing. For sure it’s not the same standard as the hotel facilities- but we quickly got used to it, and it wasn’t a problem, The rest of the beach was OK-after it was cleaned the next day up by the people running all of the small businesses/café-restaurants, cleaning happened the day after we arrived. If you are looking for “Maldive Beaches” you will be disappointed- overall the sea around Phuket itself is fairly grubby-this is possibly the longer term effects tsunami- compounded by bad tourists and bad local care. It was OK to swim, clean enough, warm enough but grubby.

Back to the hotel-once we got over the beach issue, each day we found more and more to like about the Pearl-don’t let the beach issue put you off. It’s not a big enough downside to miss out on the rest of the hotel and the beach club is fine enough.. (I don’t think any other beaches in Phuket will be much better given what we saw in the water on our trip to Kho Phi Phi.)

The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, and the breakfasts were excellent- plenty of choice-fruits, pastries, cooked, freshly made cappuccino/latte if you wanted.

The grounds were lovely- superb greenery, lush tropical plants everywhere in abundance- very well maintained.

The gym was free and excellent- we used the holiday to get fit- machinery was new, a TV/headset on each cardio exercise unit. Towels and water provided, personal trainer if you wanted (extra $ I think- we didn’t use).

Next to the gym was a childrens play area, although I don’t think this hotel was designed as a family resort-unless, OK for smaller children-older ones will probably be a bit limited here for activities and entertainment. For the “peace and quiet” seeking adults it was perfect- there were probably 25% of the guests when we were there with children, and they were all sub 10 years old and well behaved.

There were three pools, all with plenty of loungers, towel services and a bar near (one had a bar in the pool). The two adult-only pools were well designed “infinity pools”, very elegant, very clean and the service was good- there were complimentary waters and occasional fruits, as well as the “pay as you go” drinks/snacks menu. Even had a happy hour from 5-6. The main pool was fine for families, with shallow areas, a waterfall and a children’s pool.

We normally like to go “all inclusive”-as too many times a hotel has gouged us with eye-watering prices once it’s got you- here this was not the case- we found most things to be good value, and there were some things that were excellent:-although you needed to add on 10% service 7% tax to the displayed prices on the menu to get the final price. If you are on a tight budget- a few nights at the beach restaurants would help- good food, very basic environments.

Restaurant’s/Bars-several to choose from-

Rebar-elegant bar, happy hour was 6-7 with great décor, ambience and mood music. Great bar-food- we had several evenings with a couple of cocktails (~2 for £5 happy hour price) followed by Sushi (£5 for 12 piece plate). Really enjoyable place for a light dinner

Rivet restaurant- this was the up-market European/World restaurant- and was pricey. We didn’t try but it looked good, very elegantly laid out.

The Black Ginger Thai restaurant was delightful- beautifully designed, very “Thai” you were advised to book, and we had a couple of nights there having the set menu, and a once a “cook it yourself pot”. Prices were similar to a Thai restaurant at home- around £16 per person for a set menu. Food was excellent. They also had a deck where you could eat al-fresco with a lovely setting.

The main restaurant was the Tin Mine-for breakfast and several evenings we ate here. Typically a buffet would be themed (Asian, Seafood evening etc) was around 980 Bht++ which ended up being ~£17 per head- and we found them excellent value with good quality food. Service on the whole was very good, very professional and very friendly, although we had one night where they were short staffed and were off the pace a touch, it didn’t spoil anything much but was noticeable.

The last bar was the Tongkha Tin Syndicate- which as a nice bar with a couple of free pool/snooker tables to while away some time-did have a “ 50% off happy hour” and drinks were OK prices- £1.80 for fresh juice / £4.50 or so for a cocktail at normal prices.

The management invited all the guests once a week on Tuesday for a “cocktail hour” which was a nice gesture and allowed you to mix with the senior staff and other guests- we made some good friends at these.

Activities-

You could book activities at the hotel- typically a day trip was £50- per person- we did Koh Phi-Phi by boat which was a good day out but there were quite a few others to do-like Khao Lak or Phang-Na Bay.

We did the 2.5 hour bike ride round the locality- this was fun, not too hard work and £10 per person. For those seeking powered transport- just outside the hotel front gate was a shop hiring scooters- we rented a pretty new one one for a day- all of 250Bht (£4) and we did the whole island on £1.50 of petrol and had a blast…. However- the traffic can be challenging, and there is no insurance so you need to be careful.

Massage- the hotel spa was quite expensive- but just outside the hotel the beach exit were massage shops- we tried the two closest to the hotel exit, the oil massage was 400Bht (£8) for an hour, about a quarter of the hotel spa price, and was absolute bliss. We did this pretty much every day- recommended!

Night life- little or none at the Pearl and it’s some way North of the hotspots-you need to go to the more tourist areas such as Patong (800-1000 Bht taxi ride) for a night out- for shopping and partying. If this is what you want every day- you need to be in one of the hotels down there at Patong, Kata or Karon Beach.

For us- doing Patong twice during the holiday, once by taxi at night, and once by scooter during the afternoon was enough- we got to see the Thai and Tourist “wildlife” at night / experience the atmosphere/ do the gift shopping (Shopping was fun but negotiate everything, starting at 75% off the price they first ask for…. and be prepared to walk away to test your deal)

When we’d done with the tourist pleasures- we were only too pleased to retire back to the Indigo Pearl. “oasis” to thank god we weren’t in a hotel in Patong and that we’d selected the Pearl for our holiday.... we loved it and would strongly recommend it!.

  • Liked — Elegance, Qualify and service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank PhilAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Lovely place. Looks like a civilized jungle :-)
The restaurants are lovely but really expensive, we recommend going to Linda's seafood right outside the hotel towards the beach. She'll give you a cooking lesson as well if you ask for it...

The design is magnificent. I travelled with my girlfriend who's a graphic designer and she could spend the whole day just wandering around the hotel.

Note - there are mosquitos, we some sewer smells where we were located (block I), and you must insist on having your room not on the ground floor otherwise you'll have no privacy.

All in all, a great bargain. We'll probably be back.

  • Liked — Lovely location and room design
  • Disliked — Had to upgrade the room to get some privacy...
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank eyalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Yang
4.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
20.6 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
10.9 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
7.6 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
13.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slate

Property: The Slate
Address: Nai Yang Beach & National Park | 116 Moo 1 Sakhu, Thalang, Phuket, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Indigo Pearl)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Sakhu > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Family Hotel in Nai Yang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slate 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in its own private paradise adjacent to unspoiled Nai Yang Beach and Phuket Airport. A Bill Bensley design masterpiece and a member of Design Hotels, The Slate manifests an avant-garde expression of Phuket heritage, its rich culture and traditions with bold design and fearless imagination. A place where family legacy meets raw design, industrial beauty interrupts with unexpected elements. The all-suite property offers 177 accommodation choices, 7 luxuriously designed Pool Villas, 8 restaurants and bars, 3 outdoor pools, beach club, art gallery, fitness studio, tennis courts, 'Tin Box' kids club, award-winning Coqoon Spa, conference facilities and Thai cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Slate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket
The Slate Phuket/Nai Yang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing