We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Slate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Slate
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Nai Yang
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here in Feb 2011 and it was amazing the rooms are beautiful the staff attentive and the black ginger first class
The food shacks on the beach offer romantic evenings and good fresh food
The cocktail bars on the beach are truly relaxing
Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staffordshirelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Staffordshirelad,

We look forward to welcome you back as the service and the resort has only gone better since your last visit. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,417
    716
    213
    76
    46
See reviews for
728
1,975
88
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

One of the loveliest hotels I have ever seen. Excellent service, great food, wonderful location. The details in the design of all object at the hotel was amazing. I would highly recommend this hotel to couples or families. There is a pool for couples only and there is a kids pool and kids club. Wonderful spa as well. Wish I could come again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ani_lorac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
186 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Fiancee and I stayed 4 nights here for our pre-wedding beach photo shoot. The hotel was recommended by our photographer, and we had a pretty good time.

The hotel is on a fairly expansive property, separated by a small road from Nai Yang beach - the hotel has its own section of the beach with umbrellas/chairs and towels. The section of the beach is full of local restaurants and small shops, all very convenient to the hotel.

The rooms are sizable and generally quiet, and they keep some scented incense in the room to keep it smelling nice and fresh. One thing to note is that the decor is very steam-punk style and very dark (exposed rivets, polished brass and industrial finish). This can be a hit or miss depending on your style, as it is pretty prevalent around the hotel - they run with this theme.

Service is good, and everyone on the staff was very accommodating - we tried to extend our booking on the day we were suppose to check out and they gladly accommodated that (even during Christmas period when the hotel is quite full).

Lastly, just wanted to note that Black Ginger is definitely a restaurant worth trying, the ambiance and food is superb and definitely a world apart from the beach side restaurants. (but also a bit more pricey)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinJJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I had some friends visiting from overseas last year and took them to the Sunday brunch at the resort, they enjoyed it so much they wanted to return again this year. So we returned early December and it was as expected and did not let us down, the service was attentive and the food variety was extensive. Although the restaurant was not as busy as previously the restaurant does seem our attract all the trendy expats of Phuket. A good experience and would recommend and return again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank experiencedir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We flew from Australia to have a wedding at Indigo Pearl with 40 guests. From arrival to departure we had a flawless experience. All staff are so friendly and accommodating. The ceremony was held at the National park only 5 minutes away which had a great sunset back drop and our reception was at Black Ginger restaurant - AMAZING. The rooms were very clean and the Pool Pavilion room is great for a couple staying for more than 5 nights. We will be definately visiting for our anniversaries for many years to come. Thank you Indigo Pearl!!

Room Tip: Get a pool pavilion instead of a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKLT2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
131 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I came to Phuket so many time and have stayed at different hotel before. This resort is quite big with many rooms but you wouldn't feel crowd at all. Standard room size is big enough for couple with high ceiling. I came here attended my friend's wedding and had a party at the beach which their staffs gave us very good service. Service is not bad at all and variety food choice for breakfast buffet but taste just average. I highly recommend to try Black Ginger for dinner as wonderful thai food there. There are so many good restaurants nearby the hotel with cheap price and good quality. Let's dine out more. There are three pools which for kids, one for age over 14 and other for over age16 which allow u enjoy the pool for different age group. Free wifi but quite slow so we bought a unlimited data card in town for our own use. I would say worth to give it a try but not for honeymoon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongTrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear HongKongTrojan,

Thank you for your review and pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Your slight concerns has been noted and will certainly be rectified. We do hope to welcome you again. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Overall we had a great stay and relaxing time for the five of us including three kids aged 10, 7 and 5.

The rooms were fun and different with an interesting "metal meets Thai theme" plus a small pool in the garden. The connecting rooms worked well with our young children and overall a very relaxing environment within which to stay.

The food was excellent with attentive staff and you must try the Thai buffet at Black Ginger if you come. The fantastic freshly cooked food is complimented by the scenic restaurant, amazing fire and lighting plus background music.

We were located towards the back of the complex but that meant we were very close to the beach access which was very convenient and led to a great beach with clear shallow waters.

A couple of niggles around poor service by the pool with loungers "occupied" despite signs saying towels would be removed within 30 mins if not used making it hard to find a spot to watch the kids in the pool. There is only one kids pools as others are adults only. The free wifi was a very poor connection and often not working plus a number of staff struggled with English and hence not knowing what "goggles" were when we had to report a pair lost or asking for our laundry bag to be collected from our room rather than suitcases!

Overall a good hotel and well worth a visit even for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Yang
4.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
20.6 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
11.0 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
7.6 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
13.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slate

Property: The Slate
Address: | Nai Yang Beach & National Park, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Indigo Pearl)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Sakhu > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Family Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slate 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in its own private paradise adjacent to unspoiled Nai Yang Beach and Phuket Airport. A Bill Bensley design masterpiece and a member of Design Hotels, The Slate manifests an avant-garde expression of Phuket heritage, its rich culture and traditions with bold design and fearless imagination. A place where family legacy meets raw design, industrial beauty interrupts with unexpected elements. The all-suite property offers 177 accommodation choices, 7 luxuriously designed Pool Villas, 8 restaurants and bars, 3 outdoor pools, beach club, art gallery, fitness studio, tennis courts, 'Tin Box' kids club, award-winning Coqoon Spa, conference facilities and Thai cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Slate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket
The Slate Phuket/Nai Yang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing