We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and quiet hotel, away from busy Phuket”
Review of The Slate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Slate
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nai Yang
Certificate of Excellence
Gili Trawangan, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and quiet hotel, away from busy Phuket”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We arrived late at the hotel and were blown away by the modern and stylish interior of the reception. The lighting in the hotel is also on another level. We were however informed that due to a lightening strike, the rooms we booked were not available. We were given a choice to move to another resort or receive an upgrade to the Pool Villa. Naturally we chose the upgrade and what an upgrade it was!!! We had our own private pool, spacious lounge, huge bath rooms, open planned bed room, sauna, steam room, massage room, kitchen, it was more than we could have asked for!!

The breakfast was to die for and the in-house dinning (room service) was also a delicious treat. Both their western as well as local food was fantastic.

One thing that must be said though, is that it is quite a way out of Phuket. We were under the impression that it would take roughly 40 minutes to get to Phuket Town. However, due to heavy traffic congestion the trip to Phuket always took around an hour and a half. Also, if you are interested in other activities such as diving, fishing, etc. you need to be prepared to pay more as the resort is a little out of the way.

But if you love relaxing by the pool and the beach (the little beach area is quiet and relaxing) and are not really interested in traveling around during the day then this is the ideal hotel for you. There are plenty of little restaurants and massage parlors around the beach front outside the hotel to keep you busy. Plus the hotel is so nice, you wouldn't want to leave anyway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilibeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,538
    755
    226
    81
    50
See reviews for
792
2,058
96
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I've been finding it quite difficult to review this hotel for some time, as normally I tend to only write short comments, however I feel the need to make an exception on this occasion.

Notwithstanding that, here is a short summary.

Was this one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at? YES
Was this boutique hotel innovative? YES
Did the hotel leave any stone unturned? NO
Was it good value? YES
Would I go back again? ABSOLUTELY YES!

So here we go then. Firstly on arrival we were greeted with a cocktail. On first impressions, the rooms look like barracks from the outside and probably won't appeal to the non-adventurous.

Secondly the all important 'ice bucket' test. The time taken from placing the room service order to delivery was approximately 1 minute. My bucket of ice was delivered by a very nice lady on a bicycle. Now, that IS service.

The room itself is spacious and is a designers dream. The shower area is spacious and there is a place to hide all your suitcases away from view during your stay. There are plenty of drawers and hanging space, the room has a regular sized safe and there is a radio/30 pin iPod dock in the bedroom.
There are also lots of plug/power points in the room and also supplied are international adapters. The room has a kettle and small fridge.

Our room had a plunge pool, an outdoor bath and a shaded area to relax in.

A short walk through the well kept grounds, takes you past the security gates and friendly guard and onto the beach where there is plenty of seating. The beach itself is actually outside the property and there are two access points, one of which closes around 7pm.

Lunch is available at the beach or you have the option to visit any of the reasonably priced restaurants along this stretch of sand.

For those who prefer to stay in the resort, there are two adult swimming pools, one of which is an infinity pool overlooking the gardens. The other has a jacuzzi and bar. There is a cafe restaurant by the kids pool and lunch service in also available at grown up pools

The reception has a helpful concierge and the stockroom (gift shop) has lots of goodies which are well worth buying and taking home as a reminder of your stay.

I have separately reviewed the Tin Mine, Black Ginger and Rivet Bar restaurants.

To summarize, a fabulous designer hotel, it's interesting, innovative, there is amazing attention to detail and the whole resort seems to have been designed by somebody who actually stays in hotels themselves.

Oh, I forgot to mention that there is free wifi and the hotel is only 10 minutes drive from the airport! (HKT)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

this is a lovely resort in north of phuket. there are 3 pools, one for all and others for adults only. looks like the resort mgment kindly seperate family with kids away from adults by noisy reason. if you just stay in resort for relaxe and away from busy city life, this is the best choice. you can enjoy your vacation all in resort. and out around resort, there are also many some shops and restaurant for you to choose.

Room Tip: take the room in building 23, that locates between adults pool and main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetripthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

long flight, latenight arrival...what a joy to arrive at your resort 10mins from leaving Phuket Airport! Indigo Pearl has all the creature comforts and indulgences one desires. The staff very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was sensational!! On your doorstep is the Nai Yang beach and town itself. The people here warm and friendly. All the usual Thai shops and restaurants, just not so many of each, allowing for a more relaxed atmosphere. Ate on the beach most nights with our feet in the sand...delicious :-))) A wonderful mix of luxury and convenience to ease into our holiday before travelling onwards. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsJojoMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The Hotel and its setting its absolutely fantastic. Its design and all the history behind it, makes it even more special. All the facilities are outstanding, the rooms are fairly spacious and very confortable. The beach is fantastic and the food is just delicious. Breakfast is a lavish feast. What is missing? Costumer service!!! Honestly, i have never stayed at a 5 star hotel where you need to beg for staff's attention. As a Hotel Manager myself, i would be ashamed of such a team. Apart from the luggage porters and the concierge, nobody seemed to find the time to answer your questions or even listen to you. At breakfast, you better find your own way and get yourself a table because no one will bother to welcome you or find you a table, although there are plenty of staff running arround ( literally). On one occasion, after standing there for more than 10 minutes, we decided to get a table and sat at the first we found. Unfortunatelly, a bird pooped on the table as eventually we got someone to set it for us. Did the waiter think of cleaning it? Not really, its easier to hide it under the napkin you will use. DISGUSTING!! Tryingto speak to someone at the front desk, is almost impossible, as they seem to be more interested in talking to each other than even look at the guests. If eventualy you can get their attention, they won't even look at you when talking. This receptionist, Jen, wouldn't even take her eyes off the computer screen while asked questions and kept talking to the colleague next to her...UNBELIEVABLE!!! As i said before, the exceptions are the Concierge and the luggage porters who are always willing to help and with a friendly smile on. Apart from them, the costumer service is just ridiculous!! You are not a five star hotel just by not allowing flip flops in the restaurant. Service excellence is much more than that and should start at your employees, specially front office!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cmmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

It's an excellent hotel. The design is superb. The rooms are very big and very nice. The breakfast is amazing, lot of home made food. There are different pools really nice. We use to travel a lot and we loved the hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank angivila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Beach, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at Indigo Pearl for 5 wonderful nights. We had arranged for transportation from the airport to the hotel and they were waiting for us and took us directly to the hotel. We were upgraded and the room was large and very nicely furnished. A very relaxing stay. Greats pools and great access to the private beach. We ate at the restaurant Rivet and it was one of the best meals we have ever had at a resort. My husband tried the tasting menu and I had a great shrimp dish. The pool restaurant was very good also.

Room Tip: Select a room on the first floor, this hotel does not have elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Yang
4.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
4.9 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
905 reviews
15.9 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,972 reviews
13.8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slate

Property: The Slate
Address: Nai Yang Beach & National Park | 116 Moo 1 Sakhu, Thalang, Phuket, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Indigo Pearl)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Sakhu > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nai Yang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
#2 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slate 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in its own private paradise adjacent to unspoiled Nai Yang Beach and Phuket Airport. A Bill Bensley design masterpiece and a member of Design Hotels, The Slate manifests an avant-garde expression of Phuket heritage, its rich culture and traditions with bold design and fearless imagination. A place where family legacy meets raw design, industrial beauty interrupts with unexpected elements. The all-suite property offers 177 accommodation choices, 7 luxuriously designed Pool Villas, 8 restaurants and bars, 3 outdoor pools, beach club, art gallery, fitness studio, tennis courts, 'Tin Box' kids club, award-winning Coqoon Spa, conference facilities and Thai cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Slate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket
The Slate Phuket/Nai Yang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing