We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Slate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Slate
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Nai Yang
Certificate of Excellence
Tarneit, Australia
2 reviews
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at Indigo Pearl for our honeymoon (Oct 13). We were met at the entrance by smiling staff who were happy to help with anything that was needed. Welcomed with a cold drinks and freezing facecloths to cool us down. Our room was upgraded and was fantastic. The room (D-Buk Suite) was cool and spacious. The bed was amazing. Plenty of pillows which were soft and comfy. Had a great nights sleep very night. I loved the tin mine décor. Very well thought out and imaginative and you definitely won't had to fight for mirror space. The room came with a conversion power adapter, so there is no need to buy one. Additional adapters were available from reception. More than enough bottles of water were provided to the room for drinking and brushing our teeth. As it was our honeymoon, we received a bottle of sparkling wine, heart shaped chocolate cakes and a fruit bowl.

The resort setting is beautiful. So lush and green. We loved that 2 of the 3 pools were adult only pools, one with a bar. No need to take a towel, they are all provided. There are towel booths at each pool and if you go the Beach Bar, they have towels there as well. We were even able to order 2 towels for our speed boat trip to Phi Phi Island.

We ate at the Rivet Restaurant which was a little expensive but well worth it. The Chef came out for a chat and gave us some great info about the area. Buffet breakfasts are in the Tin Mine with plenty on offer to cover all tastes. Dinner at Tin Mine was also good. I found the Monday night Asian Fusion buffet a bit ordinary though. It was the only so-so meal that we had there.

The Concierge staff were awesome. Our favourite was Elle, nothing was too much trouble for her. She booked all our tours for us, even those not offered by Indigo Pearl, which made it so much easier for us considering language barriers. Some tours were able to be charged back to the room. Most of our tours were around or leaving from the Phuket Town area which was only an hour drive. This just means that you have to get up a bit earlier to meet your transfer which wasn't really a problem as it allowed us to see a bit more of the Island. Most tour operators will provided transfers for a reasonable cost.

Access to free unlimited Wi-Fi was provided but connection was sometimes an issue.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and tried to extend our time but they were booked out. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,356
    693
    201
    73
    46
See reviews for
698
1,929
86
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

It was my first time staying at Indigo Pearl. I didn't know what to expect. What I knew I wanted was a to spend the next few days peacefully, comfortably - simply to take my mind off HK and work, and to relax. I got that and much more from Indigo Pearl.

We were greeted at the airport by the resort's staff. Friendly, warm and on time. It was a swift 5 min ride from the airport to the resort. I was pleased. We were given some refreshments while waiting for our rooms. To our delight, we were upgraded to the Private Pool Villa! i have to commend the management for their attentiveness to have both Thailand and English speaking staff at the resort. It was most helpful.

Our butler waited for us at the villa. Gave us a short and pleasant tour of the place.

The villa was split into two houses. One consists of the living and dining room, a private room for massages, sauna and steam rooms. The other house was the bedroom, equipped with a shower room, an outdoor rain shower, and an indoor jacuzzi. Housekeeping was great - both houses were clean and orderly at all times.

We had different sun beds around the villa. So my friends and I were able to tan together when we wanted to, and have our own privacy at other times. The pool was of a decent size. It could also be turned into an outdoor jacuzzi pool.

In-room dining was fast and efficient, and inexpensive. The buffet breakfast had a wide variety of local cuisine and international selections. When we didn't want to eat at the resort, we simply head to the beach and indulged ourselves with inexpensive local cuisine. We were spoilt for choice at the beach too.

Overall, the experience was beyond excellent. Staff were well trained and genuine - much, much better than big city hotels who boast first-class service. I've never been disappointed with the warm and wonderful Thai hospitality. I would certainly return to Indigo Pearl - it's a true getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanCNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karratha
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We arrived very early hours of the morning and was very surprised at the establishment as this was a stop over. Was very clean and elegant. Check in was easy staff extremely friendly and let us have an extra late check out which we then asked for an extension 2hours on top which was no trouble. Happy with the location next to the beach. Nice and quiet. Breakfast was top shelf had many dishes from normal buffet to Asian buffet and a sweets section with a donut maker. Very impressive. Rooms very clean and spacious and the bathroom was huge with 3 different showers. Very happy with this resort.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RicandFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Below is an abridged version of my observations and thoughts on my stay at Indigo Pearl in late 2012.

• The hotel's distinctive character as a former tin mine is expressed in the interesting array of industrial materials and brutalist-inspired ornamentation that appears throughout the resort. Coloured LED lighting is used to great effect to punctuate the uniqueness of this hotel. Overall, the bold design is a pleasing departure from the traditional way that 5 star hotels tend to define and express luxury.

• However, poor workmanship and dodgy execution of some of the design elements is readily apparent upon closer inspection. Crooked joinery, discoloured plasterboard, and grime in places evidences a lack of quality in the build and attention to detail by the maintenance staff. These deficiencies also manifested in a very practical way during my 3 night stay, with housekeeping neglecting to clean the sediment of dust and dead insects that lay atop my outdoor bathtub.

• In some cases, the hotel's aspirations to be different are impractically executed. For instance, a heavy cloth curtain separates the toilet from the shower. As most would be aware, the forces generated by the flush of the toilet causes the aeration of tiny particles of faecal matter, some of which are transported to the cloth curtain, turning it into a petri dish of bacteria. I can only hope that housekeeping cleans this surface regularly. Apart from this issue, the interior of my room was well appointed.

• A number of concrete compounds, each of 3 or 4 levels, are positioned haphazardly throughout the resort. Embodied within the compounds are the guest accommodation. While this is no doubt a pragmatic housing solution, the styling of the compounds has a housing commission flavour. Greater use of wood panelling and other materials would soften and add visual interest to the blocks.

• The buffet breakfast was adequate, but not spectacular. I was a little perturbed by the inaccessibility of certain items which were 'request only' dishes, and by the paltry serving sizes given for those items. My request for salmon, for instance, left me, in Oliver Twist style, asking the staff for more. I think a hotel which charges AUD$400+ a night ought to be a little more generous with its portions.

• During my stay, the main pool and bar were closed for maintenance. This was not disclosed to me at the time I made my booking. The hotel should do more to notify guests of planned closures of resort amenities.

The bottom line is that I have some reservations about recommending this hotel to others. The quality of service delivery needs improvement, and investment is required to rectify the spots of poor workmanship that can be seen throughout. Go for this hotel if you can score a decent discount; otherwise, I think there are superior hotels in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here in Nov 2012 for 6nights it was so relaxing. The rooms are stunning and the grounds. Cute little gifts are left and turndown service incl a particularly useful and effective mozzie bite ointment! We were there as a couple and it is ideal for romantic drinks/dinner we met up with some really nice other people at the Pearl Beach area and met up for drinks everyone is so chilled while staying there it brings out the friendliness! Breakfast is a feast! We missed the Pearl Brunch but that is meant to be amazing. Lots activities if u r up for it but we stuck to chilling by pool/beach bit of snorkelling and long beech walks as had been trekking in jungles etc.. For two weeks before this so just relaxed. Lots of cheap n cheerful places to eat on the beech if u want to leave hotel complex at night. The decor is unusual maybe not to everyone's liking as its bit industrial but we thought this was v cool and different as five stars in Thailand often have a certain style so this was really cool. It was an old tin mine so the tin/mine theme runs through out even the loo paper holder is like a tin bolt. Staff are really helpful check in involved being told to chill on a day bed whilst having iced tea and a snack and a warm cloth for face drenched in essential oils I don't even remember filling out forms the relaxing started on the day bed! The in room toiletries r really nice too. I wish I was there now! Loved it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

It was my 2nd visit to Indigo Pearl and the service was as good and beyond.

When we stepped out of the arrival hall, there was a Indigo Pearl Resort staff holding the hotel name board to welcome us. Although there was only a 5 minutes ride, cold water and cold towel were served. We were told that we had been upgraded to a private pool villa and a butler was assigned to serve us. The service was excellent, the butler and other staff we met in the resort were really nice and attentive.

There are living room and bedroom in the villa which are actually located in two houses. We especially love the steam and sauna room. Size of private pool was decent enough.

The weather was not too good during our visit so we spent quite a lot of time in the villa. In-room dining service was fast and inexpensive. If you are not into hotel food, there are several restaurants at the beach which were quite good too.

If you prefer a quiet holiday instead of the Madness of Patong, Indigo Pearl would be one of the choices.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alstonville
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Had stayed at this resort years ago when it was called Pearl Village, and loved it then so was interested to see what changes had been made to upgrade it to 5 star. The new complex is huge but not up to its 5 star rating. The décor is unusual but not really to my taste. We were disappointed with the room - admittedly we booked the bottom of the range room but found it very small. There was nowhere to hang wet swimmers etc - not even space in the bathroom. One plug was hanging out of the bathroom wall, and the shower screen was not big enough to prevent water from going all over the floor. The balcony was unusable - far too small and designed with a lounge seat that copped the full force of the rain as the roof didn't overhang far enough. The 3 pools were lovely although on one occasion the toilet at pool 2 was blocked and overflowed everywhere. Also after a heavy rain shower the pool water started clouding and hadn't been rectified after 3 days.

On the positive side the level of service was excellent, particularly from the Thai staff. We found some of the European staff, especially the women, to be abrupt and rude. There were lots of little "extra' such as iced water and little fruit baskets being provided at the poolside, beds turned down in the evening and fragrant oil burners lit. Breakfast was very good with a huge variety of foods to chose from.

The hotel location is also excellent. very close to the airport so no long transfer trips, but no plane noise. Outside the hotel there are plenty of very good local restaurants,. Prices are reasonable and the standard of food and service are great.

Would return to this resort if it were cheaper - we could only afford it because of Scoopon, and even then thought it was too dear compared to a lot of places we have stayed at in Phuket.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Yang
4.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
11.0 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
20.6 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
13.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 309 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slate

Property: The Slate
Address: | Nai Yang Beach & National Park, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Indigo Pearl)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Sakhu > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Family Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slate 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in its own private paradise adjacent to unspoiled Nai Yang Beach and Phuket Airport. A Bill Bensley design masterpiece and a member of Design Hotels, The Slate manifests an avant-garde expression of Phuket heritage, its rich culture and traditions with bold design and fearless imagination. A place where family legacy meets raw design, industrial beauty interrupts with unexpected elements. The all-suite property offers 177 accommodation choices, 7 luxuriously designed Pool Villas, 8 restaurants and bars, 3 outdoor pools, beach club, art gallery, fitness studio, tennis courts, 'Tin Box' kids club, award-winning Coqoon Spa, conference facilities and Thai cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Slate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket
The Slate Phuket/Nai Yang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing