We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic Honeymoon at Indigo Pearl best Hotel i've ever been to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Slate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Slate
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Nai Yang
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Honeymoon at Indigo Pearl best Hotel i've ever been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Me and my new wife headed to Indigo Pearl expecting great things, and we weren't disappointed. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted like celebrities and given a complimentary drink, the staff were dressed smart and very polite. The foyer was amazing, the architecture at Indigo Pearl is second to none.
We were taken to our room and I couldn't believe it best hotel room i've ever been in. We were upgraded to a larger than standard room, which had 2 balcony's, the room was huge, and the bathroom area FANTASTIC. The room was cleaned every day and the complimentary shower gel was a bonus.
We had breakfast at the hotel every morning, there was great choice and I stuffed myself every day, the freshly made omelettes right before your eyes was the best bit... lovely.
The hotel had everything you needed, there was complimentary classes, me and my wife had a go at Yoga, a great class and the teachers knew their stuff. I had a go at Muay Thai kickboxing it was great.
We went to every restaurant at the hotel and they were all perfect, each one had a different theme and looked great. We went to black ginger where you get taken across a lake, food was amazing, river had great food and the chef came and spoke to us, a great guy. The food was pricey at the hotel but worth it.
The best thing about the hotel is that it is right next to nai yang beach, the beach is great and very quiet, the restaurants are very cheap. There are a lot of taxi drivers at nai yang and we used a couple to get us around. Phuket Town and Patong are a 20-40 minute drive away but there is so much to do you'll spend a full day out there.
We went back to the hotel every evening and went to Tin Mine, the cocktails are great, especially at happy hour and we played pool every night.
The staff at the hotel are fantastic, very polite, very helpful they even booked our excursions for us. I cant wait to go back to this hotel, I could right a lot more, ooo nearly forgot we had a massage together at the hotel at caqoon spa, best massage ever.
We couldnt have asked for a better honeymoon, thanks Indigo Pearl.

Room Tip: Make sure you make friends with a taxi driver, they'll take you to all the best places, they kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt3211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,302
    678
    200
    71
    44
See reviews for
680
1,891
84
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our first stay at Indigo Pearl and we stayed in a D-Buk Suite for 3-nights. The room was spacious with a walk-in wardrobe, large bathroom and a private outdoor area with a sunbed, deck chairs and an outdoor bathtub. The bed came in a close second to Marriott's.

The property boasts 3 swimming pools and offers alternative F&B and massage options along the beach.

The breakfast buffet didn't offer as wide a variety as others but was very fresh and tasty. As the property is only 10-minutes from the airport we managed to sneak in one last breakfast before heading home.

The decor is very unique and was one of the things we loved about the hotel. Everything was themed around it being an old tin mine.

Although it's a bit far from the city, you can easily rent a car and drive around.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mondaymornin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in a villa which had its own outdoor swimming pool. Just close the outside doors for complete privacy. Inside the shower turned into a steam room, the Jacuzzi room had two massage tables with a sauna room off that and another door led to the vichyssoise. More than the comforts of home! Service from the staff was exemplary, as one would expect of this class of hotel. there was some building work being undertaken during the day time but this did not detract from our overall enjoyment of our stay. Only a very short ride to the airport so ideal for tired travelers first stay and a great place to unwind.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colac, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed a total of 8 nights at Indigo Pearl in a Premium Pearl bed suite. The room was tastefully decorated , clean & roomy. Upon arrival you are greeted by wonderful staff, who provide you with a much needed cool towel and welcome drink. We stayed in 'N' block which was located directly across from the beach. Our room overlooked an 'ADULTS ONLY' pool, which was great when you wanted peace and quiet :). There is a local village which has all you need such as: mini mart, chemist, shopping, massage, taxi's, restaurants, tour desks and more. I just loved the range of food available at breakfast ~ fruits, juices, pastries, hot food, salads, cheeses, cereals to mention a few!! I found most of the staff very helpful and so friendly. It was roughly about 35 minute drive to Phuket Town, but if you want to do nothing else but eat, drink & chill this is definitely the place to stay...:)

Room Tip: If you don't enjoy hiking upstairs to your room at the end of the day, request a ground level ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Julie,

Many thanks for your review and the feedback with tips to have a great holiday with us. We do hope to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Probably my expectations were a bit too high, as everybody seems to think this is such an AMAZING place. In my opinion, yes, it is nice. But in Southeast Asia there are many very good 5-star-hotels and I wouldn't rate the Indigo Pearl higher than the other good 5-star-hotels. Would I go there again? Sure. Value for money is good and the fact that the hotel is so close to the airport is extremely convenient. But if I wanted to stay longer than just a weekend in this area, I'd choose another hotel. The beach isn't very nice and the pools are average.

Room Tip: Choose a room with private pool. I've been told they really make the stay a lot nicer - unfortun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear HJT82,

Thank you for your review, sad to read we only met your expectation and not exceeded. Any specifics would have been appreciated in order for us to improve and excel. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was the best resort I have been to and I travel all over the world and I could tell you this was my best experience ever.
Great staff and a class of its own if I could give a 7 star I would. This was a great hotel with many restaurants to choose from and right in front if the beach

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iwmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is unique and you should read the reviews and also look at the hotels website for images.

If you prefer your hotels to all be same same then the Indigo Pearl may not be for you,
From the minute you arrive and see the lovely lobby area you know this hotel will be different. The colours and styles are wonderful. Staff are efficient,charming and personal. They make you feel very welcome and not just someone who has booked a room.
I stayed in a Premium Pearl bed suite with my wife and 6yr old daughter. There are two parts to the room. The bedroom and then the huge bathroom which has an open rain shower and huge bathtub. With the point I made about viewing the hotels images this will allow you to see that the bathroom is open plan. The toilet is enclosed but the shower does not have a screen, ie more of a wet room plan. Therefore if your room partner wants to use the sink while you are having a shower then you will be plain to see. You are able though to screen the whole bathroom of from the bedroom. I had no issue with this but this may be a concern to possibly the 'older clients'.
There are two types of The Premium Pearl bed suites and the other type has the bathtub on the balcony so again very different from standard hotels.
Breakfast was plentiful and with the hotels unique style the cutlery is designed like a spanner which I thought was really cool. The hotel is based around the TIN MINES which was prominent in Phuket.
There are 3 pools (2 adult only). These pools were very clean. There is also a kids club which my daughter really enjoyed.
The location for the hotel is only 10mns from the airport and the area is very quiet compared to say Karon or the lively Patong. This is not a hotel where you will be going for the nightlife but if you want nice beach bars and restaurants on the beach with great thai hospitality and food then this will be perfect.
I would have no hesitation with staying at this hotel again.
Hope this review helps

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jt p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Yang
4.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
11.0 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
4.9 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#11 of 92 in Thalang District
4.5 of 5 stars 1,707 reviews
5.5 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
13.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 307 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 4,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slate

Property: The Slate
Address: | Nai Yang Beach & National Park, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Indigo Pearl)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Sakhu > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Family Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slate 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in its own private paradise adjacent to unspoiled Nai Yang Beach and Phuket Airport. A Bill Bensley design masterpiece and a member of Design Hotels, The Slate manifests an avant-garde expression of Phuket heritage, its rich culture and traditions with bold design and fearless imagination. A place where family legacy meets raw design, industrial beauty interrupts with unexpected elements. The all-suite property offers 177 accommodation choices, 7 luxuriously designed Pool Villas, 8 restaurants and bars, 3 outdoor pools, beach club, art gallery, fitness studio, tennis courts, 'Tin Box' kids club, award-winning Coqoon Spa, conference facilities and Thai cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Slate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket
The Slate Phuket/Nai Yang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing