We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and privacy.”
Review of The Slate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Slate
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nai Yang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in a villa which had its own outdoor swimming pool. Just close the outside doors for complete privacy. Inside the shower turned into a steam room, the Jacuzzi room had two massage tables with a sauna room off that and another door led to the vichyssoise. More than the comforts of home! Service from the staff was exemplary, as one would expect of this class of hotel. there was some building work being undertaken during the day time but this did not detract from our overall enjoyment of our stay. Only a very short ride to the airport so ideal for tired travelers first stay and a great place to unwind.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,294 - 1,300 of 3,820 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed a total of 8 nights at Indigo Pearl in a Premium Pearl bed suite. The room was tastefully decorated , clean & roomy. Upon arrival you are greeted by wonderful staff, who provide you with a much needed cool towel and welcome drink. We stayed in 'N' block which was located directly across from the beach. Our room overlooked an 'ADULTS ONLY' pool, which was great when you wanted peace and quiet :). There is a local village which has all you need such as: mini mart, chemist, shopping, massage, taxi's, restaurants, tour desks and more. I just loved the range of food available at breakfast ~ fruits, juices, pastries, hot food, salads, cheeses, cereals to mention a few!! I found most of the staff very helpful and so friendly. It was roughly about 35 minute drive to Phuket Town, but if you want to do nothing else but eat, drink & chill this is definitely the place to stay...:)

Room Tip: If you don't enjoy hiking upstairs to your room at the end of the day, request a ground level ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Julie,

Many thanks for your review and the feedback with tips to have a great holiday with us. We do hope to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Probably my expectations were a bit too high, as everybody seems to think this is such an AMAZING place. In my opinion, yes, it is nice. But in Southeast Asia there are many very good 5-star-hotels and I wouldn't rate the Indigo Pearl higher than the other good 5-star-hotels. Would I go there again? Sure. Value for money is good and the fact that the hotel is so close to the airport is extremely convenient. But if I wanted to stay longer than just a weekend in this area, I'd choose another hotel. The beach isn't very nice and the pools are average.

Room Tip: Choose a room with private pool. I've been told they really make the stay a lot nicer - unfortun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear HJT82,

Thank you for your review, sad to read we only met your expectation and not exceeded. Any specifics would have been appreciated in order for us to improve and excel. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was the best resort I have been to and I travel all over the world and I could tell you this was my best experience ever.
Great staff and a class of its own if I could give a 7 star I would. This was a great hotel with many restaurants to choose from and right in front if the beach

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iwmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is unique and you should read the reviews and also look at the hotels website for images.

If you prefer your hotels to all be same same then the Indigo Pearl may not be for you,
From the minute you arrive and see the lovely lobby area you know this hotel will be different. The colours and styles are wonderful. Staff are efficient,charming and personal. They make you feel very welcome and not just someone who has booked a room.
I stayed in a Premium Pearl bed suite with my wife and 6yr old daughter. There are two parts to the room. The bedroom and then the huge bathroom which has an open rain shower and huge bathtub. With the point I made about viewing the hotels images this will allow you to see that the bathroom is open plan. The toilet is enclosed but the shower does not have a screen, ie more of a wet room plan. Therefore if your room partner wants to use the sink while you are having a shower then you will be plain to see. You are able though to screen the whole bathroom of from the bedroom. I had no issue with this but this may be a concern to possibly the 'older clients'.
There are two types of The Premium Pearl bed suites and the other type has the bathtub on the balcony so again very different from standard hotels.
Breakfast was plentiful and with the hotels unique style the cutlery is designed like a spanner which I thought was really cool. The hotel is based around the TIN MINES which was prominent in Phuket.
There are 3 pools (2 adult only). These pools were very clean. There is also a kids club which my daughter really enjoyed.
The location for the hotel is only 10mns from the airport and the area is very quiet compared to say Karon or the lively Patong. This is not a hotel where you will be going for the nightlife but if you want nice beach bars and restaurants on the beach with great thai hospitality and food then this will be perfect.
I would have no hesitation with staying at this hotel again.
Hope this review helps

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jt p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

our family enjoyed a 5 nights stay at the premier pearl bed suite. Interior decoration as well as the outside and the concept of the Tin Mine, which is reflected all over is unique.
we travelled all over the world and have seen many 5 stars hotel, but as Indigo Pearl, none.
our best holiday ever.
one observation : The web side does not reflect the reality. its much better than on the web side.

john nielsen & family, Valencia-Spain

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank john187529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We've stayed in hotels in all areas of Thailand and the SE Asia region.
This was one of the best examples for quality of service, food and accommodation.
Our room was well presented with a large bathroom and balcony area.
The local beech is very close and beautiful.
The local village which is located just outside the hotel grounds is quiet, safe and freindly.
All round good experience and would be happy to highly recommend.
Spa is extremely expensive, but nice massage facilities available in the village.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jon0024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Yang
4.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
4.9 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
1,002 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#4 of 36 in Choeng Thale
837 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slate

Address: Nai Yang Beach & National Park | 116 Moo 1 Sakhu, Thalang, Phuket, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Indigo Pearl)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Sakhu > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
#2 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range: $148 - $1,164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slate 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in its own private paradise adjacent to unspoiled Nai Yang Beach and Phuket Airport. A Bill Bensley design masterpiece and a member of Design Hotels, The Slate manifests an avant-garde expression of Phuket heritage, its rich culture and traditions with bold design and fearless imagination. A place where family legacy meets raw design, industrial beauty interrupts with unexpected elements. The all-suite property offers 177 accommodation choices, 7 luxuriously designed Pool Villas, 8 restaurants and bars, 3 outdoor pools, beach club, art gallery, fitness studio, tennis courts, 'Tin Box' kids club, award-winning Coqoon Spa, conference facilities and Thai cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Slate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket
The Slate Phuket/Nai Yang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing