We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome break in a beautiful resort”
Review of The Slate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Slate
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nai Yang
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome break in a beautiful resort”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband, 8 year old son and I spent 5 days in a D-Buk Suite at Indigo Pearl in Oct 2012 and it was just perfect.
We don't often leave a place regretting it wasn't long enough (4 days is usually our maximum) but this time we all agreed it just wasn't long enough! Great staff, beautiful food (I could have gone all day on breakfast alone, but couldn't resist the club sandwich pool side at lunch!) and gorgeous surroundings.
Our son went to kids club one day while my husband and I indulged at the day spa (we had the couples package - highly recommended) and my son loved kids club so much he wanted to go back the next day.
Being such a large resort you never realize how many people are there until you see them at breakfast. The pools are never crowded and we never heard a peep from the rooms either side of us. I really appreciated the mosquito coils and beautiful oils put on by the housekeeping staff each day.
The best part was when we checked out - we had a very late flight home and were going to spend the day in Phuket town, so the staff offered us a room at the spa to have a shower or bath and freshen up before hopping on our flight. Really appreciated being we had spent 7 hours out and had a 9 hour flight ahead of us.
Wouldn't hesitate to book again, my son keeps asking when can we go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tange76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,491
    742
    224
    81
    47
See reviews for
767
2,030
93
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our eight night stay at the Indigo Pearl, Phuket; 14th – 22nd June, was our final stop in our trip to Thailand which took in Bangkok, Chiang Mai and Phuket. The whole design of the hotel was stylish and innovative; the tin mine theme was unlike anything we’d seen before.

Rooms: On arrival we were greeted by the lovely Mic who upgraded us from a Premium Pearl Bed Suite to a D-Buk Suite, room 2207. Although we arrived early, there were no issues with us having access to our room straight away (or with us having a late checkout on departure) which was much appreciated. The room was huge and extremely comfortable with two balconies with seating areas, an indoor day bed and a large comfortable bed. The wardrobe/storage area was enormous! The bathroom facilities were excellent, with a large freestanding bath, separate shower and twin basins. Robes and slippers were provided and there was an extensive minibar, as well as air conditioning and a safe.

Facilities: The resort is sprawling to say the least. There were some wonderful natural garden areas and three pools, two of which were adult only which we thought was a great idea. I should point out that there were an awful lot of children staying at the hotel during our trip, so this might put off honeymooners and those seeking a quieter break. The spa looked sumptuous but we didn’t use it, mainly because of the high price for treatments. The hotel boutique was fabulous and stocked an array of wonderful items. There were numerous power cuts during our stay due to stormy weather, but this did not have a negative impact on our trip and the hotel seemed well prepared for these incidents.

Food: Breakfast was our only real complaint, and it didn’t actually concern the food (which was fine) but really ought to be addressed. We found the whole set up was almost like a school canteen and really disorganised; on one particular morning it was carnage, with kids on the loose and food on the floor. With the restaurant being open air, we noticed a lot of birds; some of which actually landed on and pecked at bread on one of the buffet counters, which guests subsequently picked up and ate! Cutlery was another issue... each day, after eating egg and beans, the waiter took away my plate but put the dirty cutlery back down on my place setting for me to eat my fruit with – urgh! We found that these details really let down the hotel and made it seem a much lesser standard than the other places we stayed at during our trip to Thailand. I’m sure this is largely due to the sheer scale of the hotel, though the Banyan Tree hotel that we stayed at earlier in our trip was larger still and nevertheless managed to offer a much calmer and refined breakfast experience. There must be some ways in which to improve this, i.e. offering breakfast at more than one restaurant, having family and adult only areas and without question, providing transparent lids on the bread and pastry counters. It would also be nice to be provided with a pot of tea or coffee, as it could take quite a while for the waiter to return to refill. On an evening, we particularly enjoyed eating at Tongkah Tin Syndicate, which we found offered tasty food and a great atmosphere, where we could stay after our meal for a game of pool or darts. We ate in the Tin Mine on another occasion, but unfortunately the pork dish I ordered nearly blew my head off, and I don’t ordinarily have any problems eating very spicy food! We noticed that there were various happy hours advertised for different times at different bars throughout the day, which we thought was a really good idea.

Location: The hotel is really handy for the airport, less than a five minute transfer! We also enjoyed the beach setting and eating at the many places on the beach, particularly Baan Ra Tree and Phen’s, both of which provided excellent food at reasonable prices. Whilst in Phuket, we booked a couple of trips with Phuket All Tours; we visited James Bond Island and the sea caves (highly recommended), and Phi Phi Island with snorkelling. Although I would recommend the latter, I suggest taking a speedboat (unfortunately I couldn’t due to pregnancy) as it was a very long and rough transfer by express boat (which was in actual fact very slow) and we only managed to enjoy a couple of hours at Phi Phi island and snorkelling during the full day trip; the rest of the day was spent travelling there and back.

Staff and Service: All of the staff were professional and extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. WIFI and document printing was complimentary.

We flew from the UK with Etihad and from Chiang Mai with Thai Airways and booked our trip with Best at Travel, which we found to be super competitive and we wouldn’t hesitate to book with this operator again. All in all, we had an excellent stay and would definitely recommend this hotel although I’m not sure it was quite as exclusive as other hotels we have stayed at.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to be upgraded from a Premium Pearl Bed Suite to a D-Buk Suite. This was perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank An_Ace_Wren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hubby and I stayed here for a total of 6 nights! All we did was eat sleep and relax at the beach. I don't think any of our other holidays have been so relaxing (yet!). This one is going to be hard to beat! Our favorite restaurant here was Black Ginger and food was just amazing!! I still can't forget the smell of the hotel that I finally found incense sticks to match it! Love Love Love Indigo Pearl.

PS the breakfast was a bit repetitive. Wish that could be altered now and then.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OshiniD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The grounds and design of this Hotel and the pools are fabulous. We had an issue on check in as had a 4 year old with us and originally were allocated a room on the 2nd floor but with high balconies this was not suitable - we were moved (it took 3 hours) to a ground floor suite and from then on were delighted with the accommodation.
The service in restaurants was to a high standard - however the food a little disappointing for the money - you do pay 5* prices for this 5* level of hotel. The nearby beach restaurants offer good value and the private beach facility is faultless. The only issue for us is that it is at the opposite end of the island to the major attractions of Phuket - you really need a car or be willing to dig deep for cabs if you want to explore the Island. Fab location for airport though.If you are looking for a stunning place to hang out by the pool in - this is for you.

Room Tip: book a ground floor suite to benefit from the fab terrace that all ground floor rooms come with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 190KarnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This resort is beautiful! The rooms are exceptonally appointed with the best beds we found anywhere in Thailand. We only wish the service was only slightly close to the excellence of the grounds, and all the places. We tried three of thier restaurants - all very different, all exceptional in design, all had poor service. The food ranged from amazing to indifferent. One restaurant virtually ran us out because we were the last to be there, even though the sign said they were open for a couple more hours. The prices are all on the high end. We had several minor problems with our reservation that were difficult to get sorted, and when they were the solution was not at all satisfactory. We wound up paying extra for a lower class room than we reserved and couldn't get it fixed. My opinion is that this is a wonderful place that just might be going downhill because of bad service attitudes. We will go elsewhere when we return to Phuket on our next holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Firstly can we just say a big thank you to all the staff especially the wedding planner at the hotel, for the best day ever for Chris and Heather. The flowers and the setting was just fantastic along with the weather. The hotel went out of their way to make sure it was a great day. The rooms we had on the holiday and the upgrade for the wedding couple was the best ever. Thank you for such great service and a wonderful trip. Phoo at reception was a very happy and willing member of the staff who always greeted us with a great smile. Top hotel overall great service.

Room Tip: Pool pavilion is the room to ask for great value and amazing pool, to cool off at the end of each da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel reservation operator (by telephone) recognized that we had stayed twice before, this was reflected in our welcome on arrival and set the scene for another enchanting stay at this quite unique resort. We were finishing a month long tour of Thailand and Malaysia and wanted somewhere stylish to relax for five days - Indigo Pearl was perfect.
The design is original and quite breathtaking, high quality fixtures and fittings help create an enchanting atmosphere day and night.
The staff are so gracious and friendly, adding an extra quality to the holiday experience.
Love the location next to gorgeous Nai Yang beach and national park.
It's a quiet, peaceful area, great restaurants on the beach and a great place to return to after exploring this exotic island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manorom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Yang
4.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
4.9 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
878 reviews
13.8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,518 reviews
5.5 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slate

Property: The Slate
Address: Nai Yang Beach & National Park | 116 Moo 1 Sakhu, Thalang, Phuket, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Indigo Pearl)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Sakhu > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nai Yang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
#2 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slate 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in its own private paradise adjacent to unspoiled Nai Yang Beach and Phuket Airport. A Bill Bensley design masterpiece and a member of Design Hotels, The Slate manifests an avant-garde expression of Phuket heritage, its rich culture and traditions with bold design and fearless imagination. A place where family legacy meets raw design, industrial beauty interrupts with unexpected elements. The all-suite property offers 177 accommodation choices, 7 luxuriously designed Pool Villas, 8 restaurants and bars, 3 outdoor pools, beach club, art gallery, fitness studio, tennis courts, 'Tin Box' kids club, award-winning Coqoon Spa, conference facilities and Thai cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Slate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket
The Slate Phuket/Nai Yang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing