We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing holiday in a beautiful resort !!”
Review of The Slate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Slate
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nai Yang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in this resort for 5 nights and the stay was just wonderful... We had gone to celebrate my husband's birthday and were given a complimentary surprise cake from the hotel. That was really sweet....:) Regarding the location , though it is a little far from the city we liked it a lot as it was very peaceful and traveling to the city is very easy. The beach ( not a private beach though) is clean and the local restaurants serve delicious food. The breakfast at the hotel was good too. The staff was very courteous and helpful. Would like to go back to this resort again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jaitry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,685)
There are newer reviews for The Slate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,320 - 1,326 of 3,685 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

we stayed in the D buk suite with 2 young kids. it was an excellent experience. it had a tub in the bedroom, a private spa room, an elegant living room with a great bar & wine cellar and a large balcony overlooking the very green hotel-resort.
the theme of 'tin mine' can be seen all over the hotel and makes it an unique design hotel for anyone with taste.
the restaurant and bars are great, especially the thai restaurant in the middle of a pool of water. the family & adult pools are separate, allowing privacy for all. the kids club with nanny service is great. the nai yang beach is just outside the resort gate with good shopping & eating options too.
i will highly recommend the private pool villas for couples as they are the best honeymoon (first/second/third) location.
dont miss to hire a bike and ride along the beach road or maybe try the kite surfing school outside the resort.
note that nai yang beach is 10 mins from the airport but over an hour away from the phuket town and patong beach which is the main party hub of phuket but then phuket is easily explorable with a self-drive car.

Room Tip: rooms are available for every budget, from an individual room to suites and private pool villas and...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaybhagawati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Accomodation was excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Restraunts were delicious and of very high quality. I had a 10 month baby and 3 year old. Both kids had a wonderful time. I would definately return. The only negative is that i found the location too far away from the tourists attractions. But if you like a holiday were you mainly spend your time at the resort (as we do), this is a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Indigo Pearl is a wonderful and magical place to stay. The place itself is magnificent, and the facilities are excellent. Those small little touches, such as the signature scent and synchronised design. The staff are beautiful and gentle, and so fabulous with children (as it has to be said are the Thai people in general). We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A week at Indigo Pearl was the best holiday for relaxing! My husband and I have travelled the world and stayed in many 5 star hotels but truly IP surpasses them all.
All the previous positive reviews didn't lie - the property is huge so you don't feel as if there are heaps of people there; the rooms are enormous with a very large bath on our verandah (a more substantial curtain eg louved shutters for privacy would be a good idea here) and we looked over a lovely garden area which was very pleasant for an evening drink; the pools, all three, are lovely and very well maintained; the staff were very attentive and friendly (the lighting of the mosquito coil each evening a nice touch); the uniqueness of the decor was amazing - huge amounts of thought has gone into this and it definitely works to give IP the wow factor! The restaurants were all good but the one that truly stood out for us was Rivet. This restaurant equaled a number of amazing Asian fusion restaurants throughout the world - absolutely divine!
The hotel is in a great location on a huge beach yet away from the business of Patong but only half an hour away if you need more action. The restaurants along the beach front were all lovely with great staff and fresh food - especially seafood.
All up a fantastic place to stay for couples and families - next time we will bring our family as the hotel really does cater for everyone!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HappyTaveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Came here with family and extended family after long flight from Australia. Was delighted to find that the rooms were very clean and spacious, and that the pools were very clean as well. Main positives were 1.Friendly staff .Cleanliness 3. Excellent facilities. 4. Close to beach and shops on beach. 5.Good massages. 6. Wi fi was excellent 7.Food especially the fine dining option which we adored. 8. There is also an excellent restaurant on the beach called Bayan Tree which we recommend. 9. The style of the place with its homage to tin mining is very impressive. Negatives. the gym has good facilities but the air conditioning was not working well, way too hot for a work out when it is 34c outside.

Room Tip: Little to comment on, our standard rooms (we had five) wwere a nice stroll to breakfast - no big dea...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hefen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I loved this hotel. We were really sad to leave. It's very relaxed. The food was great. We had some issues with the taxis and transfers but once we had arrived the staff couldn't do enough for us. The best bit was the room though. Really funky design and luxurious. This is the one hotel out of the four we stayed in that we still talk about and miss. Adult only pool was so relaxing. I read a 700 page book in about 4 days because it was so peaceful. If I go back to Phuket I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Yang
4.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
4.9 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
927 reviews
0.8 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
13.8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slate

Address: Nai Yang Beach & National Park | 116 Moo 1 Sakhu, Thalang, Phuket, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Indigo Pearl)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Sakhu > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nai Yang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
#2 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range: $143 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slate 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in its own private paradise adjacent to unspoiled Nai Yang Beach and Phuket Airport. A Bill Bensley design masterpiece and a member of Design Hotels, The Slate manifests an avant-garde expression of Phuket heritage, its rich culture and traditions with bold design and fearless imagination. A place where family legacy meets raw design, industrial beauty interrupts with unexpected elements. The all-suite property offers 177 accommodation choices, 7 luxuriously designed Pool Villas, 8 restaurants and bars, 3 outdoor pools, beach club, art gallery, fitness studio, tennis courts, 'Tin Box' kids club, award-winning Coqoon Spa, conference facilities and Thai cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Slate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket
The Slate Phuket/Nai Yang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing