We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel could do with a few tweaks”
Review of The Slate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Slate
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nai Yang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I am writing this review whilst still at the hotel . This is our second stay at The Indigo Pearl we stayed here last October as well. We decided to return as we enjoyed it so much the first time. Ok so the positives we had a room upgrade this time we asked for a pool villa as there was a special if you came in June we did not get this as it was for recent bookings but they did upgrade us to a D Buk room which was nice , we find the staff lovely very polite and always willing to help, rooms are clean and decorated along with the rest of the hotel in an industrial manner so yes they are quite dark but very nice all the same , pools are lovely , beach is typical of Thai beaches there is some rubbish etc and I must admit we eat at the restaurants down there but where not tempted in the water or to sit there and sub bathe.
Now some down points it is very exspensive to eat in the hotel and also drinks are fairly pricey to, they do have happy hours but I feel they need to go something about this do that people eat more in the hotel, the corridors around the room blocks are a little shabby but it must be a difficult job to keep up every inch of the property and they do seen to be constantly working on the grounds etc.
All in all we have enjoyed are return visit even though the weather has been lousy, would we come back? Not sure we may try somewhere else next time. That said it has been a lovely experience both times.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,363 - 1,369 of 3,699 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

Having spent 12 nights there with my fiancé I would highly recommend this hotel. The resort is stunning with beautiful gardens, unique architecture and 3 large swimming pools (2 adult only pools). It is also only 2 minutes from the beach with all its restaurants, bars, massage parlours, tailors, etc. A few tips below:
- Tours from agents on the beach (Mario) are much better value than those offered by the hotel, especially if you haggle! The Phi Phi & Bamboo Island trip was good but don't expect too much from the buffet lunch. The hotel also offers a good reliable daily shuttle bus service to Phuket Town & Patong. For 2 of us this was more cost effective than private taxis.
- Breakfast buffet at the hotel is fantastic - so much choice! We ate our other meals on the beach as it was much better value for money. Would recommend Phens, Fiesta, Octopus & especially Baan Ra Tree. The latter also provided (on request) a private Thai cooking lesson which was fab.
- Great Kite surfing tuition from Phuket kite surfing school on Nai Yang beach. (A German guy called Bob owns it). Recommend Adrian as an instructor
- There is a good air conditioned gym on the resort. They also provide complimentary 45 min exercise classes daily.
- We had some tailored cashmere suits made by William Tailor (on the corner outside the hotel) which we are very impressed with.
- The hotel provides a bed side torch as black outs are fairly common.
- The complimentary water (in room & poolside) & insect repellent in the room were nice touches.
- Expensive hotel restaurants and drinks but happy hours daily for cocktails. Beach is much better value for eating and drinking
- The hotel staff are a huge credit - they are all very friendly & polite.

All in all a fantastic stay. Would definitely return some day!

Room Tip: Pool pavilions are great - private plunge pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RupertLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The minute I saw this hotel online, I was in love. And in real life, it did not disappoint. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and everything there smells amazing. I love all the industrial details down to the faucets in the bathrooms.

The resort is a good size. Right on the beach. The staff are super friendly and personable. Beds are comfortable. I stayed there for 8 nights and could have easily stayed longer. The black ginger is probably my favorite place to eat on the resort. Spa treatments are spendy but worth it. The cooking class in Moo's kitchen was great and the food was delicious. There is a public and private beach access to the resort which is good as its nice to have cheaper options for food and toiletries as the book shop is a bit overpriced.

That said, my stay wasn't super perfect, I had several leaks in my room, but the staff were very accommodating and offered to move me to another room. And the breakfast buffet was a little lacking. I don't eat bread so the large selection of pastries and fresh made donuts was lost on me. But the staff did cook me a large plate of veggies every morning. Also they charge you for random things like green tea at breakfast, and water if you order it with lunch or dinner which is crazy especially since you get both for free in your room. And water for free at the beach.

Despite all that. I would definitely stay here again. If you find a good deal online like I did, take it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CE34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Everything at your fingertips 2min from beach what more could u ask for
Service was great buffet breakfast fantastic choice of bars go from relax mode to music and party time you really don't have to leave motel only for shopping

Room Tip: The room was always kept clean house aids were outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is like a little world of it own, it is a beautiful place, both inside and out in the gardens. All over the place, it's a vast resort, you will find amazing little objects like sculptures in the industrial design the place is famous for and a lot of plants and green grass.
Many pools to chose from and close to the sea and the lovely beach. On the beach you could find a lot of resturants with good food for very little money. I honestly think the restaurants on the hotel it's a little to expensive. I had really tasty food at some of the hotel restaurants, and some not so exiting. But the breakfast was something to long for, really, really good. With something for everybody.
The beds where lovely, super comfey. And the room was always cleaned perfectly. The toilet paper holder was a bold in metal, nice but not so practical, it fell to the ground sometimes.
But all together it is really an extraordinary. So, beautiful. Love to come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We visited in June to check out its feasibility for a wedding. Below's the summary:

Pros
- lovely luxurious pick up van from the airport
- 5 mins from the airport
- great warm service
- free room upgrade
- good explanation of the hotel when checking in
- large resort so don't feel crowded with other guests
- novel hotel concept
- black ginger restaurant is unique, food ok

Cons
- too much wear and tear in corridors and bedrooms. It seriously needs painting
- too dark at night- felt nervous walking around
- very few shops and restaurants in area
- poor breakfast with little selection, (soecifically fruits are brown and sausages swimming in oil)

Overall a great hotel if all you want is a unique experience and accommodation close to the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonesms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at stunning Indigo Pearl. We weren't sure what to expect reading some negative reviews but we absolutely loved it! Rooms are large & lux. Pools are amazing (2 adult pools & 1 large & beautiful kids pool). Breakfast was the same every morning but the spread was so large we never ate the same thing twice! Loved the eggs Benedict & their tomatoes- not usually am I one to write about tomatoes but they were a stand out! Also enjoyed the homemade yoghurts, especially the coconut yoghurt. We loved that you can walk to the local village restaurants/ shops & had dinner out each night along the beach watching the sunset at inexpensive local Thai prices. So you get all the luxuries of a resort without being isolated. Massages along the beach strip are plentiful & 300 baht for a Thai massage- so we had one nearly every day! Hard not to love this place. We did Moos cooking class with Ann & we can hands down say it was the best cooking class we have ever done. Ann is so so lovely & gave us lots of information about thai cooking & her real life experiences & she didn't stop smiling once :) The kitchen area is great & fully air conditioned & the 4 courses were delicious & fun to prepare & even more fun to eat! Highly recommend doing this class:) We hope someday we can return again to this paradise location.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Yang
4.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
4.9 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
2.2 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
931 reviews
0.8 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
13.8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
6,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slate

Address: Nai Yang Beach & National Park | 116 Moo 1 Sakhu, Thalang, Phuket, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Indigo Pearl)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Sakhu > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nai Yang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
#2 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range: $154 - $679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slate 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in its own private paradise adjacent to unspoiled Nai Yang Beach and Phuket Airport. A Bill Bensley design masterpiece and a member of Design Hotels, The Slate manifests an avant-garde expression of Phuket heritage, its rich culture and traditions with bold design and fearless imagination. A place where family legacy meets raw design, industrial beauty interrupts with unexpected elements. The all-suite property offers 177 accommodation choices, 7 luxuriously designed Pool Villas, 8 restaurants and bars, 3 outdoor pools, beach club, art gallery, fitness studio, tennis courts, 'Tin Box' kids club, award-winning Coqoon Spa, conference facilities and Thai cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Slate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket
The Slate Phuket/Nai Yang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing