We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Slate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Slate
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Nai Yang
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pure serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Booked a 112 sqm private pool pavilion. Huge property with 3 pools and nicely kept garden. Close proximity of airport. Far from hustle and bustle. Nai Yang beach right outside separated by a tiny road full of restaurants and small bars. Built on an old tin mine with the remains of machinery found all over the property integrated in to the design of the hotel. Concrete and rusty metal.

Room Tip: Any room on this property is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PMEkeiehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear PMEkeiehen,

Thank you for your review and pleased to read you enjoyed the quite and peaceful nature of our resort. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,453
    725
    219
    80
    46
See reviews for
748
1,999
89
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our family spent 10 days at the Pearl in October 2012, if was referred to us by friends. Every once in a while you have a holiday that is flawless; this was our experience at Indigo Pearl. The hotel has a 'tin mining' theme which is carried out really well. Some of the highlights, service by the pool, the staff provide ice water, banana leaves with fresh fruit, a sun bloc butler, and anything else you want, you just have to ask. The hotel has access to a beach where there are numerous local restaurants, really good value food from the local community.

We stayed in a pool pavilion room which is highly recommended, the extra space and pool to have a dip in at night is great. We did the Moos kitchen cooking class, well worth it, it was a lot of fun, you’re the interaction with the staff was great. This hotel really knows how to look after its guests, well that was what we found anyway.

There were two dining experiences I cannot recommend highly enough, firstly the Sunday Brunch, this was an experience to be believed, just awesome, super fresh seafood, steak how you want it, it just goes on, there was even a massive tuna for sashimi available. The other experience was Black Ginger on the Friday night where you can taste all of the best the hotel has to offer, that was a real experience and you felt as if you were special. The chef goes through the entire range of foods explaining what they are as they are freshly prepared for you.
Even after we left, I received an email form guest relations and then another one from the general manager. I cannot recommend them highly enough, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chief B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Roxy,

Thank you for your great review, pleased to read you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our various offerings, looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

This is one of the most spectacular places we have stayed at. The resort decor is authentic and elegant whilst keeping with its tin manufacturing heritage. We were a honeymoon couple so they upgraded our room and had gorgeous gifts everyday. The massage therapy was one of the best and overall each staff member were attentive, polite and so welcoming. The themed restaurants were each so unique and loved the barge transfer to Black Ginger. They had great facilities and beach was only 5 minute walk. Was glad to stay here as it offered a more relaxed environment than Central Phuket and was easy 10-15 min transfer to Phuket airport. A place we highly recommend and would definitely visit again if we have the opportunity.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GPLC P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

What an amazing hotel!! It was our second stay at Indigo Pearl and it didnt disappoint. All the staff where exceptional and nothing was too much trouble. We actually booked a pool pavilion room for our 11 night stay, but upon our arrival we where upgraded to one of the pearl suites due to some water damage to our room (due to monsoon season). What a treat!! the room was absolutely superb, and was a big highlight of the trip.

Would strongly recommend doing the Thai Cooking Classes at "Moo's Kitchen". The class was run by Chef Ann and her staff who where an absolute delight, truely a very memorable part of our trip.

Thanks Indigo Pearl, we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we arrived the service has been amazing! The resort is like paradise nice tranquil but enough things to do. The little village behind has some great restaurants and bars as well as private beach for indigo pearl patrons. If your after a party resort this is not it. Perfect for honeymooners couples and family's, we stayed in a private pool pavilion and was blown away by the room. Worth the stay

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linznmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The resort is beautiful. Gorgeous pools - 2 of which are for adults only, one has a swim up bar with music and the other is very quiet and relaxing. The grounds were beautiful - very zen! On our arrival we were upgraded to a fabulous suite with a huge terrace over looking the resort complete with jacuzzi and a sauna! Amazing. The resort itself is beautiful our room was so lovely that we ordered very reasonable and tasty room service a couple of evenings rather than venture out. It is also about 10 mins from the airport so if you are looking for a quick break somewhere without a long transfer this is a great option (no airport noise).

The beach is not the best Thailand has to offer - we mainly stuck to the resort. But the pools were so lovely that was not a problem.

On the negative side the staff were not great, check in was dealt with very well but check out was slow especially as we were paying cash for the room charges alone - staff answering the phone and dealing with others while checking us out. In the Tin Mine restaurant, service was very mixed, there were lots of staff around but it still took ages to order and get food. Breakfast was very average. There was also a lack of staff taking orders round the pool so you had to go and find someone if you wanted food or drink round the pool. Staff were friendly and polite. Not exactly bad service but not great either.

Overall, the Indigo Pearl was a great choice for a short break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the adult pool and on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtravellergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear UKtravellergirl,

Thank you for your review and the acknowledgement of our resort, pleased to note you enjoyed your short stay with us. Your points duly noted on our service and most certainly this will be reviewed and improved on. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Wow pretty shocked to read the warning review, I have nothing but praise for the Indigo pearl, from the time we walked into the main loby, stunning by the way to the moment we left we had nothing but great prompt service always with a smile, not only the Indigo's staff but the Tai people are so friendly, peaceful and willing to help. From our first encounter with a beautiful Tai girl waiting for us at the airport who promptly hailed our van over, the van was luxurious and cool and smelt wonderful with cool face cloths and cold water. Our room was fantastic, a family suite more than adiquate for us and our two children, It smelt glorious with two oil burners on the go. I fell in love with the Champaka fragrance and bought many products from there well stocked gorgeous store. As a family we mostly ate at the Tin mine the food was fantastic and very well priced, room service was prompt and efficient. Our maid was wonderful she made us feel welcome and pampered our room was always spotles and tidy and smelt wonderful. the Grounds at the Indigo Pearl are so pretty I saw many gardners tending to the lovely gardens. The pool staff were great. The spa fantastic so werth it, we had two lovely ladies tend us in the nest ( i want to live in the nest so cute) one girl spoke english so fluently we had a lovely conversation after our treatment. Our kids absolutely loved the pool and made friends there. Yes the hotel grounds dont go right onto the beach but we found the little village lovely and quiet fasinating and relaxing. everyone was freindly and helpful and the traffic was very aware of tourists walking around and careful. Yes there is some litter around and some not so great smells but that is how it is all over the island. I found the people make a great effort to try keep things clean and tidy. Our tour kiosk was great a fantastic couple wish I could remember names, as you come down the path they are over the little road to the right about 100m so friendly and great prices. The Indigo is about 1hr from Patong Beach so had to pay taxis and long drives but we loved returning to our gorgeous quiet and peaceful resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Yang
4.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
20.6 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
10.9 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
7.6 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
13.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slate

Property: The Slate
Address: Nai Yang Beach & National Park | 116 Moo 1 Sakhu, Thalang, Phuket, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Indigo Pearl)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Sakhu > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Family Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slate 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in its own private paradise adjacent to unspoiled Nai Yang Beach and Phuket Airport. A Bill Bensley design masterpiece and a member of Design Hotels, The Slate manifests an avant-garde expression of Phuket heritage, its rich culture and traditions with bold design and fearless imagination. A place where family legacy meets raw design, industrial beauty interrupts with unexpected elements. The all-suite property offers 177 accommodation choices, 7 luxuriously designed Pool Villas, 8 restaurants and bars, 3 outdoor pools, beach club, art gallery, fitness studio, tennis courts, 'Tin Box' kids club, award-winning Coqoon Spa, conference facilities and Thai cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Slate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket
The Slate Phuket/Nai Yang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing