We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ok overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Slate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Slate
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Nai Yang
Certificate of Excellence
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ok overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

It is a "5" star resort but be aware that there may be blackouts and the hotel does not have a generator, also the Internet goes down often and if you come with children you may won't be able to use all the pools. The nearest pool we are at is forbidden for our 8 year old to use it so, we just have to walk a bit further. In general is ok. The decor is unique but it is not my cup of tea. We also had some problems with the diving center here in the resort and the snorkeling is very pricey so I recommend to buy you snorkeling gear in one of thenlittle shops close to the hotel. Also, be aware of the mosquitos, there are not mosquito nets, and they will drive you insane at night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samo377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Samo377,

Thank you for your constructive feedback, much appreciated. We have certainly taken note and will immediately work on to rectify the issues. Since the diving center is a separate entity, will forward your feedback to their management. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,302
    678
    200
    71
    44
See reviews for
680
1,891
84
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed at the IP for 16 nights and really could not fault it, unless you insist on being really picky like the occasional the ridiculous review on here. Although close to the airport, we were not disturbed by any noise. The hotel was amazing, we really loved the quirky style - the only thing we could fault was a few pretentious guests staying there!

Every member of staff at the hotel goes out of their way to help you in any way they can. On one occasion we did have a problem with the air con in our room, but after one call to reception, two workmen arrived immediately and the problem was fixed whilst we were out at dinner. I also emailed the hotel before we arrived to book Sunday Brunch amongst other things and emails were promptly answered and everything arranged as expected on arrival.

We went B&B and the breakfast gave plenty of options, but for dinner most evenings we ate out of the hotel, trying the various beachfront restaurants which, despite appearances, are not to be missed. We did have the occasional snack inside the hotel and the food was as we expected, great, albeit overpriced compared to the local restuarants.

One piece of advice we'd have for anyone staying over a week - make sure your stay includes two Sunday's so you can take advantage of the Sunday Brunch! The range and quality of food and drink available was amazing and is definitely one meal in the hotel not to be missed.

The IP is located in a very quiet area, so if night life is your thing, this probably isn't for you, but if you are looking for relaxation, a great hotel with a 5min (max) walk to the beach, then book now. We walked down the beach a few times and after a half a mile or so, you had a whole stretch of beach to yourself, bumping into the odd local now and again. Perfect if you want to get away from it all.

IP is probably my favourite place I have stayed and will certainly be the benchmark for future holidays.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdownesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed at Indigo on our way back from Phi Phil as an easy access to the airport but this resort is nothing like an airport hotel the site is fantastic, we were given a room away from families and very quiet, the site is designed around the old tin mines of Phuket and its very unique.

3 pools (2 adults only and 1 has a swim-up bar), As we were only there for 2 nights only tried 2 of the 3 restaurants (tin mine and the grill) and both were fantastic.

If we were to go back to Phuket i would stay here for longer

Room Tip: If not travelling with children ask for a room in M block near the adult pools, nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gareth_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Dear Gareth_999,

Thank you for your feedback, we do hope to see you again for a longer stay to experience all elements of Indigo Pearl, assured you will have a great time. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

This was the first time that we have taken this kind of "resort" holiday. Normally we do the free and easy self organised trips with cheaper accomodation. The idea was to have a special holiday for our 10th wedding anniversary where someone else took care of all of the stuff. We decided on the Indigo Pearl based on the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not let down. The hotel is a tasteful mix of tropical greenery and industrial art that works very well. The rooms are very comfortable and ALL of the staff are very friendly. Even though this is a family resort there was plenty of "space" for couples thast didn't want to be part of the mum,dad & kids scene. There are two pools for adults only and one of them has a swim in bar. Very cool. There are a selection of restaurants on the hotel grounds that serve both european an Thai food to a good standard. The gym is well equipped and the staff there are also very nice. We took 4 organised trips from the hotel; sea canoeing in the islands (great!), PhiPhi islands trip (from The Beach film) which was a bit crowded and touristy, elephant safarai (elephant trekking on christmas morning, cool!) and the mountain bike guided tour. All of the trips were well organised and good value for money. For chill out days on the beach the hotel has its own section with beds, parasols and a bar (of course). The staff at the beach were just great and looked after us fantastically. We had no problem in leaving our stuff while taking long walks along nai Yang beach. We also tried several of the restaurants along the beach front which , while generally of less quality than the hotel, were still excellent value for money. The real find of the holiday was the Nai Yang Beach Club.The manageress, Nong, was super friendly and mixes a wicked Long Island Ice Tea. The chef, Wa, makes without doubt the best Thai green curry ever.
For a first time in Thailand and a first time with this kind of holiday we were very pleased. It really was relaxing and has left me with the feeling of wanting to go back for more.

Room Tip: Don't know what the other rooms are like. Ours was in "K"between the gym and the bar p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Dear Andy H,

Thank you for your pleasant review and glad to note you had a great time on your 10th wedding anniversary. What are the plans for the 11th annivesary? We do hope to see you again and provide another great experience. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

it is exoctic hotel with eye for detail
great resort and the pool village is a must
sensacional
the price is not so cheap however it is worth each cents paid
they have many attractions such a thai dinner festival and there was a special nith on the beach restaurant which i recommend to book in advance
this is an art hotel and the colourfull - indigo pearl is something memorable
also if you do not want to stay around kids there are 2 adult swimming pools
our villa was the best
we loved the hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alessandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

My husband and I decided to splurge on this luxurious hotel during our recent visit to Phuket. We loved the Indigo Pearl! The staff was incredibly responsive to any requests or questions, starting from the moment we arrived when we asked for a slightly more private room. We opted for a room with a private plunge pool and were very happy with both the pool and the out door tub. The bed, robes and bath products were stupendous. We also loved the selection of outdoor pools and the immaculately kept beach. One great aspect of this resort is that you can walk a few steps away from the Pearl's private beach to find inexpensive dining and massage options. You are not a prisoner at the luxury resort (though there really is no reason to leave!). We were happy with the quality of the room service as well as the delicious buffet breakfast. We were both very very sad to leave!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Pmb22,

Thank you for your review and sharing your experience....its always pleasant to read our guests had an incredible time and were saddened to leave us. We do hope to see you again soon, Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
196 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Close to village, a lot of available activities, clean, good personnel.
Only thing to improve the English proficiency at concierge

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucabran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Kucabran,

Thank you for your constructive feedback on our Concierge team, much appreciated. We do have a English teacher in our team and certainly the concierge team will be the immediate focus. Hope to welcome you again and provide an improved service. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Yang
4.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
11.0 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
4.9 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#11 of 92 in Thalang District
4.5 of 5 stars 1,706 reviews
5.5 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
13.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 307 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 4,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slate

Property: The Slate
Address: | Nai Yang Beach & National Park, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Indigo Pearl)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Sakhu > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Family Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slate 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in its own private paradise adjacent to unspoiled Nai Yang Beach and Phuket Airport. A Bill Bensley design masterpiece and a member of Design Hotels, The Slate manifests an avant-garde expression of Phuket heritage, its rich culture and traditions with bold design and fearless imagination. A place where family legacy meets raw design, industrial beauty interrupts with unexpected elements. The all-suite property offers 177 accommodation choices, 7 luxuriously designed Pool Villas, 8 restaurants and bars, 3 outdoor pools, beach club, art gallery, fitness studio, tennis courts, 'Tin Box' kids club, award-winning Coqoon Spa, conference facilities and Thai cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Slate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket
The Slate Phuket/Nai Yang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing