We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Black Ginger, Restaurant Nirvana” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Slate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Slate
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Nai Yang
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Black Ginger, Restaurant Nirvana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Visit here at twilight so you can this jewel in Indigo Pearl crown. Floating magically on a softly lit lagoon. You enter this restaurant via a long wooden bridge after first passing under an entrance where your eyes are captured by a huge tropical display of flowers. The wooden bridge spans a beautiful lagoon surrounded by tropical plants and flowers. Fountains spray water to the sky, Ginger Lillies perfume the air.
All this engages all the senses and you still have yet to enter the restaurant. A beautiful Thai waitress greets you at the door of this ancient Thai masterpiece of architecture, your shoes are removed, your table awaits. The restaurant at first appears dark and then your eyes adjust and you become aware of the candles and orchids on every table, the gilded mirrors, the rich dark ambience that envelops and dazzles your senses.
And then there is the food. Wow!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveskiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,416
    716
    213
    76
    46
See reviews for
728
1,974
88
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We enjoyed our stay 100% and will definitely go back in the future and will also tell all our friends about Indigo Pearl. It is by far the most "interesting" luxury resort I have ever been to. Every corner is inspiration! I have taken over 300 pics from the resort itself!

Highlights:
Room Service - SO YUMMY and the pirces are very reasonable as well :)
The outdoor "fan" - so amazing
The pools
The breakfast buffet :)
LOVE the aroma oil the resort use in our room, so much so that I am going to order a big bottle from them all the way from Australia!!
LOVE the bath salt they use in our room too!
Free use of Pool Table!!!

Note:
Shuttle bus sevrice to town is free however it is not very frequent and gets booked up very easily so you need to plan your trip and the use of this free service carefully.
We only had a chance to eat at Rivet Grill once but was not the most impressed, however it is by all mean not bad - if anything the decor of the place is worth every penny :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyTravellerTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Our second trip to Indigo Pearl and we were not disappointed. A great level of service throughout our stay. The highlights for us are; the room (pearl bed suite) the Rivet Grill and the adult pools.

The rooms are well appointed with a high quality finish and cool decor. The Rivet Grill serves great food in a funky setting and the adult pools are spacious and peaceful.

Highly recommended for young couples!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kernow86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
221 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

One of the most beautiful places I have eve stayed... Well worth the money.. the Breakfasts are amazing!! I just wish that this was an all inclusive hotel. I found the meals very expensive. So we went to the beach for local food instead of getting dinner on the resort.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

This has been my 5th time at the indigo pearl and never disappoints. Friendly staff. Stunning decor. Fab food. Room service was great. All the restaurant menu available at anytime! I made use of this when getting at 5am after a night in Patong!! Well worth the stay. Hotel pool is better then the beach. Beach not that great but the beach bars are good value for money for great seafood, Thai food, beer and spirits. Shop around for the best deals. I found the best deal with kendwood travel or ask about upgrades at the hotel. Don't book a transfer from airport. Just get a metered taxi. Cost only 200BHT.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JustPaul023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geelong
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

stayed at indigo pearl late september. the staff were terrific and while the resort is large you can get picked up at anytime in the buggies and moved around. the gardens are just beautiful and so well maintained by a vast staff. the breakfast area is very pleasant and the food selection excellent. while it rained most days we were there, we still had long periods of sunshine to enjoy the excellent pools and the beachclub. phuket town and patong beach are close enough to catch a taxi when you need a shopping hit. We enjoyed the AFL grandfinal in the Aussi Bar at Patong Beach.
local eating outside the resort. The oyster restuarant was disappointing but Phens was exceptionally good and the prices great. ate there regularly.
As a beach lover and walker my biggest disappointment is the amount of rubbish that is allowed to build up on the beach and in the surrounds of the national park. No where near as bad as Patong Beach but it seems with a litttle more effort the beaches really could be as pristine as the appear in the brochures and the resorts would get greater repeat trade.
Overall we cant wait to go back to just relax and enjoy the thai weather and people.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bengeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

booked indigo pearl for 4 days thinking that it would be more than enough BUT after 4 days we didn't want to leave. the experience was surreal. their attention to detail in every aspect was excellent. raining 3 out of the 4 days we were there but still worth it. swimming in the rain was awesome !!! service was great.. staff were all very friendly and accomodating. will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank titadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Yang
4.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
20.6 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
11.0 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
7.6 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
16.0 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slate

Property: The Slate
Address: | Nai Yang Beach & National Park, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Indigo Pearl)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Sakhu > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Family Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slate 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in its own private paradise adjacent to unspoiled Nai Yang Beach and Phuket Airport. A Bill Bensley design masterpiece and a member of Design Hotels, The Slate manifests an avant-garde expression of Phuket heritage, its rich culture and traditions with bold design and fearless imagination. A place where family legacy meets raw design, industrial beauty interrupts with unexpected elements. The all-suite property offers 177 accommodation choices, 7 luxuriously designed Pool Villas, 8 restaurants and bars, 3 outdoor pools, beach club, art gallery, fitness studio, tennis courts, 'Tin Box' kids club, award-winning Coqoon Spa, conference facilities and Thai cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Slate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket
The Slate Phuket/Nai Yang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing