We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for those who are looking for some peace and quiet...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'esprit de Naiyang Resort
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Nai Yang
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at L'Esprit de Naiyang's Garden Villa from 26th February to 2nd March 2013.

The boutique resort is tucked away from all the hustle and bustle of Phuket. First impression; convenient as it is only 10 minutes drive from the airport, looks modern and fresh, friendly reception who speaks adequate english.

Room: Surrounded by glass doors which you can cover up with curtains for privacy. Very spacious; a living room-- where the mini bar, television (DVD player included), big comfy couches are. It opens up to a small sun deck (which was very dirty when we came but you can get the houskeeping to clean it up. We did it ourselves). And a separate bedroom with king size bed. The bathroom area is an open concept so be sure to close the door connecting the bathroom and the bedroom so that you do not get bugs in the room. There are lots of mosquitoes around but I think you can get mosquito coils from the reception. The mosquitoes did not bother us much. There is a window in the toilet, facing the back of the resort (which looks like a forest), and sometimes the resort workers rest there, but it was not a bother.
There is also a small plunge pool which can be accessed from the bathroom and the living room, however, sadly, it was poorly maintained.

Restaurant: The buffet breakfast did not have much of a variety but the food was reasonable. There was an egg station too. The restaurant served over-priced food that tastes delicious though. You are not allowed to smoke while seated at the restaurant.

Beach access: The resort and the beach are separated by a small canal. However, there is a raft service which allows guest to cross over and it operates from 8am to 10pm (You can arrange with the reception if you need to go over to the beach area ealier, as we did for our diving trip). About 5 minutes walk through a quiet park, to Naiyang beach and the hustle and bustle tourist area; where you can find, provision shops, souvenir shops, restaurants, bars, tour companies, motorbike rental, money changer, dive shops and lots more.

Services: There is a complimentary DVD rental for days/nights you feel like staying in. Motorbike rental service is charged at 350THB/day, which is 50THB more expensive as compared to the tourist area. However, we preferred renting from the resort as they do not require us to leave our passports with them.
We made arrangements, one day earlier, for massages in our room on one of those days but we were informed at the last minute that they had no masseuse to attend to us so we had to postpone it. Then when we arranged again, at the last minute, we were informed that they can only provide us with 1 masseuse as the rest were not available. So we took turns doing our massage.
As for our pick-up to the airport, we made arrangements with the front desk for the taxi to fetch us at 12pm but was informed that the taxi was arranged at 2pm instead. But the front desk reception settled it immediately.

Overall it was a pleasant stay as the place is so peaceful and the staff are friendly and helpful. But if you are more into the night life and prefer the lively-ness of tourists' areas, I would suggest staying at Patong or Kata Beach. Because it took us about 50 minutes on motorbike to get to those areas.

Room Tip: We stayed in Garden Villa 102 which is very close to the canal and raft service to the beach but fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deejlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 306 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in this wonderful property for one night before setting off the next morning to Samui. We wanted somewhere close to the airport, but, nice as it was our first night in Thailand.

We were pleasantly surprised as the photos on the website and on TripAdvisor did not do this property justice. We were collected from the airport and our driver was actually there and we found him easily.

We paid for a deluxe room and were upgraded to a pool side villa! I am so glad we stayed in the Villas. They have a really nice large lounge room with a TV, stocked fridge; complimentary snacks & sealed bottled water and alcohol you can purchase for a really reasonable price. Air-conditioning throughout the villa. The bedrooms are large with a comfortable king-sized bed. The bathroom was also large with a bath, shower, flushing toilet & vanity… they are an outdoor bathroom, so, make sure you close the adjoining door between the bathroom & bedroom to keep the bugs out. Opening the doors to the pool was so divine! You could swim up to the bar and have a lovely cocktail or just relax and enjoy the surroundings.

The breakfast was simple, fresh, with a good range of different foods. The staff are all lovely and really helpful.

Advise:

- This is a relaxing quiet hotel and wouldn’t be suitable for party people. It is more of a couples & family retreat.

Room Tip: Spend the money & get the pool villa. You won’t be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmEd19841985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

2 week stay with family , quiet on an evening and not for late night ravers. Need a small pontoon across the creek to get to Nai Yang village but unless you need a zimmer frame you will be ok here. Otherwise its a taxi back over to the hotel, cost 300baht approx.
Taxis only downside to this location, all people are very friendly and helpful. Try all the massage parlours every one seems brilliant.
its a great place to enjoy a Thai holiday especially with family. car hie try andaman they were perfect at about 1500baht a day.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnmorris6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed in this property for 3 nights with my lovely wife early February.

We chose the resort because we did not want the circus in Patong/West coast area.

Resort was modest and in typical thai charm. 12min from the airport, and tucked along the Naiyang beach. Choices of accomodation included rooms in the resort building or separated one bdrm villas by the two swimming pools. We chose the poolside rooms - they were modern, spacious and comfortable. Bathroom was nice and large and well ventilated with louvres and open windows. Room is well equipped with a good size couch, TV, king sized bed, safe, en-suite large bathtub.

Exactly how a laid back, quiet vacation for two should be!

The little patio that launches you into the swimming pool from the hall was a welcomed feature. Me and my spouse lounged by the pool for 3 consecutive days.

The breakfast was simple and hearty. We looked forward to it every morning.

The service staff was all smiles and made you feel at home. I needed a rental car the first day at arrival, and without any prior booking, the resort arranged for the rental company to meet me that morning. Got a nice Honda City for a song. Free parking. The owner is a local Chinese and is friendly and approachable.

Tried the in house massage three times. A little below par in quality.

One of the little charms was dining by Naiyang Beach. It is a 4min walk from the resort and you have to take a little pontoon to cross the 10m stream that separate the resort from the Beach. A torch light is provided for your navigational safety should you lose track of time and had one drink too many in the evening.

Distance wasn't a great concern since we knew it before booking and had a rented car. Resort is very near Blue Canyon Golf Resort. I played at Phuket Laguna and the drive up the hills took me abt 35min.

Advise:

- I would suggest renting a car (ask the reception) with GPS. The property is about 30km from Patong and take a cab both ways would cost as much as renting a car for 2 days!

- for first time Phuket visitors and party animals, this resort might not make you the happiest customer.

Would consider coming back again given the reasonable cost, wonderful staff, serenity.

Room Tip: pay a little more and take the room by the pool :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WilsonfromDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here at the last day of my three weeks stay in Thailand.
My main purpose for staying here was due it is located nearby the airport.

This was the first hotel during my visit in Thailand where I sensed what people mean with thai hospitality. The crew was very friendly and helpful.

The hotel itself was very nice, but was a bit too close to ”nature” for my taste.
My cabin was very spacious and nice, but the bathroom really destroyed my impression of this hotel.
The bathroom don´t have closed glass windows, so insects and other creatures can easily access the bathroom. The insect noise is very uncomfortable while showering or taking a bath.
While I showered, a big grass hopper came into the bathroom!

The standard itself of the living room, bed- and bathroom is quite high, so why they have these open windows on the bath is a mystery to me.

During my 20 previous days around in southern Thailand it didn´t get bit at all by any insects before I spent my last night at this hotel. Then I had bits all over – and that was mainly due to these open bathroom.

The ”gym” is not a gym. It´s a few dumbells reaching up to 15 kilo, a multi apparatus and a treadmill.

Reliable and quite fast WIFI.

Nice common areas.

The food in the restaurant was OK and the breakfast and breakfast crew was also very nice and left me with a good impression.

I´m sorry for just giving you two stars, but due to these bathrooms, I cannot give you a higher ranking!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankSNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam599, Guest Relations Manager at L'esprit de Naiyang Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Mr. FranksNorway,

Thank you for your constructive feedback about the bathroom. Based on our experience, European customers are not familiar with the outdoor bathroom especially for the first day.
Our Villa is designed like a nature lover home and hideaway from the city hotel. We are confident that you will feel relax and comfortable if you stay longer.

We are happy to hear your statement "This was the first hotel during my visit in Thailand where I sensed what people mean with thai hospitality. The crew was very friendly and helpful. and you gave us 4 score for the cleanliness and service.

We look forward to serving you again.
With warm regards,
L'esprit de Naiyang

Was this review helpful? Yes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed over New Year. Compimentary taxi waiting for us on arrival at the airport. The hotel is in a nice quiet location and has a very relaxed feel about it. Staff are very attentive and our poolside room was great - nothing like stepping out and into the pool.

Breakfast was fine with a choice of fruit, breads, cake and cooked to order eggs etc. Did not eat dinner at the hotel (Not sure if they did serve it anyway) as there are so many good and reasonable beach side restaurants to choose from. First night in town got taxi back as hotel sign said river crossing to beach finished at 8pm however found out next day "Ferryman" had waited till 10.30pm for us to come back so from then on we came back to the ferry after we had dinned on the beach. This was a nice gesture by him and the tip was well worth it compared to a taxi fare. Use the torch from the room for after dark return.

Hired a car and toured the island (Car hire organised by reception and was very good value etc). Well worth it and driving was easy. Having seen some of the other parts of the island for me Naiyang Beach is one of the best places to be and this hotel offers an easy going and relaxing stay. The beach itself is wonderful and a shallow ledge so very good for children..

Room Tip: Stay in a pool side bungalow it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theworldismyoyster50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The resort is in the middle of nowhere, which means it is absolutely quiet, a perfect place to relax. We stayed in a garden villa, which had a private plunge pool with terrace and an enourmous bath tub, two rooms, one living room, one sleeping room, both with separate air condition. The bathroom is outside (!), which might be a little disturbing, but we enjoyed listening to birds during showering! Of course there a walls aoround and a roof, but no air condition. The villa was very clean, as was the complete resort. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to the beach, about a 3 minute walk, interrupted by a short trip with a wodden raft to cross a little river. The hotel restaurant has a good variety for lunch and dinner, breakfast was ok, not too many choices but fresh fruit, a egg station and good coffee. We will definitely go there again!

Room Tip: Take a Garden Villa, the Pool Villas are more expensive and the privacy is less, as the large pool i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank freundlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Yang
0.5 mi away
Nai Yang Beach Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Proud Phuket Hotel
Proud Phuket Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nai Yang
119 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Maya Phuket Hotel
Maya Phuket Hotel
#8 of 9 in Nai Yang
67 reviews
18.7 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'esprit de Naiyang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'esprit de Naiyang Resort

Address: 91/8 Moo 3 Naiyang Beach, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Sakhu > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
#7 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range: $55 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'esprit de Naiyang Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'esprit de Naiyang, Phuket Resort is a charming phuket resort consisting of 15 pool-access villas, 10 garden villas, 5 private pool villa, 15 deluxe rooms and 1 family dluxe accommodations. L'esprit de Naiyang is dramatically located at peaceful Naiyang beach of Phuket, a white sand rimmed with green pines of Sirinat Marine National Park. It takes just 10 minute from Phuket International airport and takes 35 min to Central of Phuket. L'esprit de Phuket offers an intimate, private comfortable accommodation. It is a perfect destination for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or just to take relaxation retreat from your busy world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your L'esprit de Naiyang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Esprit De Naiyang Hotel Thalang
L'Esprit De Naiyang Resort Phuket/Nai Yang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing