We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute huts to eat in on the beach”
Review of Mr Kobis

Mr Kobis
Ranked #12 of 44 Restaurants in Nai Yang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ipswich
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cute huts to eat in on the beach”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We ate here on our first night and after ordering at the table on the beach it started raining. The staff quickly moved us to a cute hut where we sat and enjoyed our first amazing meal on the beach at Nai Yang. The prawns in tempura batter were amazing and the whole meal with 4 galsses of wine for two of us only cost 1250 thai bharts. Amazing food and great value. The staff were very welcoming and spoke good english.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    54
    18
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Character, good food, awesome sunset drinks, good value... This place has swagger!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We came back to Mr. Kobi's for second time after trying another nearby competitor'beachside restaurant. The Coconut special pina coladas are worth it. Menu is 20 pages or more. Huge tiger prawns. We had red curry with squid, crab curry and panafon curry with chicken. Mango with sticky rice also good. Server did get order incorrect, brought chicken instead of squid) but quickly changed item to correct one and was appologetic regarding error. Free bug spray if needed. Owner on site, polite and talkative when approached. Many photos sent in by previous customers, hang on wall at entrance as to events of 12/26/04 tsunumi which occured here. Graphiti on walls and a reggae vibe give place character. Zagats 5 star dining it is not, but a fine local beachside watery with swagger and street credit, it is. See photos. Only drawback, wished they sold tee shirt...Mr Kobi's Broken English Spoken Here...no money, no wpmen, no fun. Recommend the coconut Special pina coladas, two of them and you feel very special!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trekker-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great place for a sundowner”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Good little restaurant where you can sit on the beach and watch the sun set over the sea. The menu is extensive and amusing, the staff are friendly and the food great. Inside are touching photos and recollections from when the 2004 tsunami hit this beach.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geckotale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“mr & mrs kobis”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

we had the best food and the best service in this bar, albiet it is not the best looking place by any standards but the hospitality show to us in here was second to none ! all bars and beach restaurants along nai yang are great ( well all we tried) but there was something about mr kobis bar that was a little in front of the rest. we had lobster on 2 occasions and it tasted like they had just lifted it from the sea ! mr kobi, malee kobi, ben, ann, and bo were fabulous they extended the hand and delivered the goods without any prompting from us ! this in turn made the little shack the best little shack on the beach !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our favorite in Nai Yang”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Mr Kobi's and Malee's restaurant is our favorite restaurant in Nai Yang. The food is excellent, you have many choices and Malee will make it as spicy as you want. We find it to be some of the best food in Phuket and look forward to going every year.
When you look at the sign, you may have your doubts about going in, but it is worth your time. The service is excellent, the staff is very friendly, and the view is amazing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mr Kobis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing