We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, poor attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dewa Phuket Resort Nai Yang Beach
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Nai Yang
Certificate of Excellence
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, poor attitude”
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We stayed at the Dewa in January, just for one night. It's a decent enough hotel, but is let down by a disappointing attitude. It was fine, convenient, but we won't be going back.

Pro's: Close to the airport. We stayed here having landed and needing somewhere close by. Our apartment was nice - spacious, air-conditioned, equipped with a full kitchen and a balcony. Overlooking the pool. Pool (and gym) were both good, as was our evening meal. The beach is just across the road.

Cons: The promised airport transfer did not turn up until we called. Frustrating waiting in the heat with a pregnant wife. The bathrooms in the rooms have a small glass shelf with cermanic bottles of shower gel on them. One of these was knocked off, and - unsurprisingly - smashed. Why would you have something capable of smashing in a shower room?! Especially when the shelf is so small. Ridiculous. To rub salt into the wound, the hotel then charged us for breaking the bottle. I got the impression that this happened a lot. The money was irrelevant (I think the replacement cost was about £3), but the insistence that we cover this cost left a bitter taste in my mouth.

My final issue was with the check out: Despite several requests, we were unable to check out an hour late. My other half was having a spa treatment and so we asked if we could check out an hour late to accommodate the fact that she wouldn't be ready to leave until a bit later. We were told this wasn't possible, which meant after my swim I had to juggle bags, and shower in the shower below the pool (which did not smell pleasant). As above, this was one of many minor annoyances which whilst not spoiling the stay, mean that we won't be going back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilgrimgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    331
    98
    17
    10
See reviews for
295
636
42
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Angelholm
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Super hotel located at very nice quiet beach Nayang ,Restaurant at hotel is very good, poolvillas exelent

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatherAngelholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

This is a wonderful hotel, and the more we know Phuket the more we love what it offers.
We stayed with our teenage sons during low season, last August, and every single aspect of our holiday was nothing short of brilliant.
We stayed in a pool villa, relaxing and luxurious for a very decent price, and also took a look at the apartments, that are both spacious and delightful, with a 2-bedroom option for families. There is free wifi internet throughout the resort, a perk for people like us whose work sometimes pursues them into their holidays...
Staff at reception and restaurant are helpful and courteous. Both swimming pools gave us some happy hours, as did the recreation area's ping pong table and the two gyms.
Breakfast is extremely high quality, and we enjoyed one lunch and one dinner too. We had a special massage package for couples in the Spa, which is one of the best we had in Thailand. A cordial chat with Lillian, the manager, enhanced our impression that this is resort immaculately and intelligently run.
Some tips:
Nai Yang beach is lovely, calm, good for kids, and kept pristine by its part overlap (at northern half) where the Dewa is located) with the Sirinath nature park. Watching the sun go down amidst tall Casuarina trees, lining the stretch between the Dewa and the sea, is absolutely memorable.
Don't stay here if you need Patong-style nightlife, crowded beach chairs, and roaring ski jets roaring. Do stay if you want peace, natural beauty, a feel of "what Phuket used to be", combined with well designed creature comforts at the resort.
There are plenty of inexpensive eating places along the road from Dewa, within a very short walk. We liked C at Nay Yang. The little village has several highly recommended beach restaurants of the simple, friendly and delicious sort. On-the-beach Thai massage is available too, and cheap.
Teenagers certainly enjoy this place, combined with some action out and around Phuket. For smaller kids the Dewa has a nicely appointed kids' club, which looks especially nice for the youngest set.
Book your tours through the Dewa concierge for thoughtful advice, reasonable pricing and a range of reputable options. We took their advice and booked Hongs by Starlight. It's an experience we and our boys are not likely to forget.
Can't think of a single complaint about the Dewa, except perhaps that getting a waiter to serve us 'happy hour' cocktails by the pool was a but of a challenge. But truly, one has to try hard to find fault with this fine hotel. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadavsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

After visiting Dewa in February, 2010 we decided to host our wedding there on New Year's Eve. We ended up being 60 friends and family that stayed from 3 days to 14 days. Our children range in ages from 3-20 years old and all were happy with the resort. I would recommend this hotel to everyone but those who want to be in the middle of partyville. It is situated in a location that still retains the Thailand characteristics prior to major construction. The beach has limited sun chairs and vendors since it is adjacent and part of a national park. This became more evident to us after continuing our vacation in Kamala where one felt like a sardine on the beach and where we reflected that we could just as well be on on the Canary Islands. The restaurant maintains a high standard and there is a cute little village 2 minutes away with lots of authentic restaurants on the beach.

The manager of the hotel, Lillian, organized a wedding for us that exceeded all of our expectations and the staff was so attentive to all of our guests. We now have an excuse to return to Dewa for all of our anniversaries. We very much recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsfoxen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed here for a few days and would not recommend it to anyone! The staff barely understands English and often times are ill mannered and rude. They told us they would charge for a glass in our room because they could not find it in the kitchen but turns out they didn't look in the bedroom which is where I left the glass. They were petty about little things. They ended up giving up our room to someone else and we were left with no room for a few hours. Before leaving we complained the manager who just said 'sorry' and proceeded to joke around about our complaints with her employees! The location is quite far away the shuttles are not frequent enough to go to the city at night.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cruzincutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

I stayed at the Dewa for 3 nights over new year and had the most horrendous experience. We did not get the room we asked us for, they made us wait 4 hours and got it wrong 3 times. The customer service is appalling...we stayed at the most expensive rooms yet had to fight over where we could eat breakfast in the hotel...they even tried to charge us for a laundry bag!!!

I would highly recommend you not to stay here...I travel a lot (SPG platinum, Hyatt Diamond, Hilton diamond) and this is one of the worst premium travel experiences i have had!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cosmocrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in december, it turned out all i wished it would be, peaceful serene no visible children. the hotel is very well thought out... we stayed in a villa with pool, sun area and outside bathroom which was lovely, clean with everything we could wish for (lcd tv, dvd player, coffee machine, oil burners, ice with turndown service, wifi in room, fruit, compl water daily & plenty of towels etc). the location of the hotel is good, close to the airport which surprisingly was quiet, opposite a lovely beach which had many excellent places to eat and enjoy a beer. The hotel provided bikes that made it easy to get around and explore. If you walked the beach towards the airport the next bay was deserted....a real gem!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debnmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Yang
4.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
4.5 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Slate
The Slate
#3 of 9 in Nai Yang
3,613 reviews
1.1 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
14.3 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dewa Phuket Resort Nai Yang Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dewa Phuket Resort Nai Yang Beach

Property: Dewa Phuket Resort Nai Yang Beach
Address: 65 Moo 1 T.Sakoo Road | A.Thalang, Nai Yang Beach, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Sakhu > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
#3 Family Hotel in Nai Yang
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dewa Phuket Resort Nai Yang Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Integrating both resort and residential living, Dewa Phuket with its 34 pool villas and 62 one and two bedroom residences,offers the perfect retreat for the discerning traveler seeking a tranquil, tropical beach holiday amidst true Thai hospitality. Complimentary hi-speed internet & wifi, 24 hours room service, kids room, fitness room, Spa, jacuzzi, laundry service, bakery, library, close proximity to Blue Canyon Golf Course, airport and marinas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dewa Phuket Resort Nai Yang Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewa Phuket Nai Yang
Dewa Phuket Hotel Nai Yang
Dewa Phuket Resort Nai Yang Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing