We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing weekend of relaxing”
Review of Mokoya Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mokoya Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

On arrival we were greeted by friendly and welcoming Mokoya Lodge staff. Even though the gravel roads were a bit bumpy after the rain the previous week it was a quick and easy drive from Johannesburg.
Shortly thereafter we were checked in and relaxing next to the pool. Besides for the location situated next the river, nice walkways and a pool which was very welcoming in the hot Magalies weather, the food was outstanding.
If you are looking for a weekend away to recharge from the rat race, this is the perfect venue. Good food, good coffee, stunning location and exceptional service. I will definitely visit them again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Este_In_My_Shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MokoyaLodge, Marketing Assistant at Mokoya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you Este for your wonderful review.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Mokoya Lodge soon.
Warm Regards
The entire team at Mokoya Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 54 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Great place for a night or 2 close to Johannesburg in the cradle of humankind. Great stay before doing a Balloon Safari with Bill Harrop. Resturant good but limited selection and wine list. Comfortable and quiet surroundings. Nice pool and great conference and teambuilding/function venue.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MokoyaLodge, Marketing Assistant at Mokoya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Hi Kevin

This is just a courtesy note to say thank you very much for submitting a review on TripAdvisor

We thoroughly appreciate the time you took to do this and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future !

Kind regards
All at Mokoya Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Lovely surroundings magical cycle track with friendly staff and very affordable rates for what you receive and amazing flexibility and will be back in the near future and just outside Johannesburg who could ask for more

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 which had a bath nestled amongst the thatch filled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zigs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Thank you Mokoya Lodge for a memorable, relaxing weekend.
The hotel is so close to Johannesburg but you feel like you really have "gotten away" from it all. The surroundings are just beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed the walk/hike we did at a nearby venue. The food at the Sweet Thyme Restaurant is fantastic and the staff are so friendly and helpful.
On the Saturday we did a "Sushi making" course which was great fun and expertly given.

My 3 days away felt like a week and I highly recommend them for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed at Mokoya Lodge as a group of friends not too long ago. Looking to just get away over a long weekend to somewhere not too far from home.
Arriving there we were greeted by very friendly staff and no hassles booking in and getting help with our luggage and shown to our units, with parking close by. The rooms were neat and clean, very well kept. And everything in working order. We loved it!
The surroundings are just breathtaking and plenty of walking trails to enjoy. Staff and management were very helpful as it just happened to be a big rugby weekend and we wanted to watch the match. The manager had no problem setting it all up for us in their gorgeous Thatch and Bar area. We had great fun!
And the food at Sweet Thyme Restaurant …… WOW, some of the best I have ever tasted, definitely of international standard, so make sure to book when you go for a visit! You will NOT be sorry.
Overall just a fabulously fantastic experience and just what the doctor ordered!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelanieBotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Firstly I wanted to thank the team for an amazing weekend, not only was the service impeccable, the Sweet Thyme restaurant and food was absolutely delicious and far surpassed any expectations I had made.

Overall our experience and stay was most enjoyable and well worth it, we will definitely be back again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weekender232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Want to thank Mokoya team for a wonderful stay. All expectations were met and all requests fulfilled. Sweet thyme food is above standard. Just a pity that the restaurant is not open on a daily basis. My advice: you have to book the dinner in advance. It is well worth it and noticeable the culinary skills were international.

We will definately return in near future.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the log cabin with the bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hekpoort
10.5 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
61 reviews
11.6 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
8.3 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
277 reviews
12.9 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
326 reviews
5.3 mi away
Steynshoop Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokoya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokoya Lodge

Address: Farm Hartebeesfontein 472 On the R560 Hekpoort, Hekpoort 0240, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Hekpoort
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Hekpoort
Price Range: $78 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mokoya Lodge is a magnificent bushveld lodge, ideally situated on the enchanting banks of the Magalies River. This miniature Eden lies between the much loved Hartebeespoort Dam and the Magaliesburg. Mokoya Lodge is a great escape from the overwhelming city life. Our gorgeous lodge will take you away from you stresses and day to day anxiety. Mokoya Lodge is a highly sought after, stylish and beloved event and conference venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mokoya Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing