We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views, lovely campsite!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sangla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views, lovely campsite!”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Banjara camp totally lives up to it's reputation. We were smitten by the first view of the camp-site near the beautiful river. It's a slice of paradise managed with passion and great taste by Capt Sud and his team..apple orchards, winding pathways and view of the river. We stayed in the Deluxe tents which were very comfortable and cosy. The louging area with river views is very relaxing. The food is fresh and tasty.Banjara camp is the best place to be in the breathtakign Sangla valley - highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mani2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    39
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
92
27
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Banjara Camp at Sangla Valley is a great place to be...Was there in the third week of April 2014 for 4 nights....Good food, great service,very comfortable and relaxing, peaceful stay at excellent location with beautiful orchards,river and mountains all around.....Batesari village is very nearby,one can walk down easily. They have beautiful treks with excellent volunteers...A place one can go and enjoy at any age....They are very well equipped with all the amenities....What more would one want for holidays in mountains !!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RadhikaParikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I am writing this review with immense pleasure.

The property is set among apple orchids, Baspa river, and amazing jungle views. It's so peaceful.

We stayed at this facility for 3 days in Sept 2013. The whole resort area is clean, green & all facilities are available like running hot water etc except a TV (and who will need it at such a place!! :-) . We stayed at the river front cottage. It has a really nice sitting area inside which overlooks the Baspa river. It was very cold and rained when we reached. The rooms were cozy and supplied with nice blankets which smelled nice and were clean.

I'm not sure about the tents. did not look into any of it. But the new property built is awesome. It has modern rooms, attached balconies, sitting area, amazing views and farms. Very thoughtful.

The host & owner - Ajay Sud is a very interesting person. He had all the ingredients of a perfect host and a person in general. His photography skills are displayed thru out the common areas.

The staff is too decent and very friendly.

The food was great with good options and fresh. The dining area is inspiring and relaxing. The apples were the juiciest i ever had!!!!

The only suggestion to management is to out an exhaust fan in the river view cottages.

Room Tip: Choose either from the main building or the river view cottages are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Our family of five had traveled to Himachal in April 2014 and the second part of our stay was in Banjara camps , Sangla. I had read mostly amazing reviews for this property, but my experiences were mixed.
We arrived after a 2 night stay at Banjara, Thanedar and after Sangla , went onto stay at Mahasu House in Mashobra for 5 nights. So try as I might, I cant help but be influenced by the amazing hospitality shown by those two places, for a much lesser price.
Let me begin from the begining
Booking process: Very efficient and very promptly managed by Ajay Thakur in Delhi office.
Car : Timely pickup at Chandigarh airport. Excellent driver Mr Bhattither Singh. If we didnt feel the fatigue of the journey, credit goes to him. Soft spoken and pleasant, he was a pleasure to be with .
Location : Out of this world, the first glimpse of the camp from the road above blew our minds. Its like the Swiss villages we see in movies.
Accomodation: We were 3 adults and 2 kids, so had booked both the loghuts for 5 nights. Loghuts are smaller than the rooms, but they withstand the cold better, esp when power goes off, as we realised later! They are quite basic. but tastefully done. Only soap in the bathroom, no shampoo, so carry your own. The sitting area at the backend of the huts, facing the river is very good, we can sit there for hours together, looking at the snow clad mountains and the rushing river Baspa. Despite all this , I feel loghuts are pricey, @ 13,500 a night. Everyone seems to be wanting the loghuts, so I guess they can keep the price high. Loghuts are far from everything else at the camp, so you get privacy but the night walks to the main building for dinner can be a problem if it rains or snows.
Food: Did not justify all the reviews here. But so many people cant be wrong, so may be the chef has changed!
They turn out a very good breakfast, I will give them credit for that. The apple juice alone makes it worth.
Lunch, some days good, some days average. Most food oversalted, despite telling them repeatedly.
Evening tea and snacks: couple of days we ordered snacks with tea , which was excellent.
Dinner , was average most of the nights, except for one night when they made an all Chinese dinner, which was outright horrible! When I told Mr Sud about how bad it was he said " I dont eat Chinese"! Unless you taste what is given out to the guests, how will you improve?
Service : The worst part of the camp. I admire the boys for working in that weather . They did everything we asked, but many of the things should have been in place without having to ask. I felt a general lack of direction with the staff. Not proactive or forthcoming. In the dining room, noone is present usually, we have to go and knock on the kitchen door , if we want anything. In one loghut, the washbasin was leaking profusely, flooding the bathroom. They fixed it soon enough, but if enough care was taken to do an inspection before the guest arrived, could have been avoided.
We stayed for 5 nights and every day power used to go for almost 10 hours. They have no backup, even to charge our phones or cameras. According to them, power never used to be a problem earlier but some basic stuff should be there, isnt it? We arrived at 4 in the evening, power went after 1 hour. We sat in the room thinking it wll come. It grew dark, I thought someone will come and give us candles or at least a torch to go for dinner. Noone came. At 7.15 pm, it was pitch dark, and I went out in search of someome, met a staff and asked for a light, then he came and gave 2 solar lamps.
We were worried about the power, since it was very cold and we were travelling with kids. They did not seem to be too worried about anything , they did not even want to talk about it. I understand they dont control electricity, but some proactive interaction with the guest will put them at ease.
Luckily power came during dinner. Before that , eating was so difficult, because dining room is so dark, except for few tiny solar lamps kept on tables. In the buffet area there was hardly any light and we couldnt even see what we were eating. There are enough ways to light up a room without power, a few more candles here and there would have made a difference.
One good thing was, they provided hot water bags during bedtime, which made sleeping in that cold so much easier. I thank the boys for bringing it to our rooms everynight, even when it was raining. One night it snowed and temp dropped down to zero outside, no power the entire night , we had to survive only with hot water bags.
What I did not like: For most complaints, the answers were defensive, kind of trying to shrugg off their responsibility. The general feeling they were trying to convey is that it is a camp, so things may get a little 'adventurous' at times! But when people are charged steep prices, please expect their expectations to go up. From this year onwards , they are charging a service charge of 5% of your total room rent, which one has to pay there by cash. Since we were having 2 loghuts, service charge came to a whopping 7000 rupees. I think it was absolutely not worth it, but we had no choice.
But despite all this , this is a must visit, for the location and scenery , and the feeling this place brings to you.
I am aware that it has cost a lot more to build a camp at 9000 feet and such a remote location at that. I dont even care about average food, but wish they shake their lethargy off and become a little more proactive, like their Thanedar counterparts. It is ironical, because this is the main camp and Thanedar is only a franchisee.
Tips to visitors: Walk every day, there are enough trails here. With a 7 year old , I was not able to do any walk completely, but do as much as you can. The Batseri village is a picturesque Himachali gem , with couple of shops where one can buy basic stuff. Sangla village , 7 Km away, has 2 ATMs, and shops where you can buy almost all basic necessities of life. Checkout yak wool shawls and stoles in Sangla .
We travelled in April, and snow was abundant. We took the Rakcham path one day and there were enough places for the kids to wallow in the snow safely.
Day trip to Chitkul: Highlight of out stay..I dont want to say anything..go and see for yourself! Drive as stunning as the destination. Unfortunately we could not have the picnic lunch on the way back because the weather turned .
For families with small children: If the power problems continue like this, skip April. May onwards will be better/warmer to visit. You can also see the apple trees in bloom in May. However , if you want to play in snow, then April it has to be.
The road from Shimla: If you are flying into Chandigarh, please dont attempt to drive the same day to Sangla. You will never make it before dark & it is better to reach before dark. We stayed for 2 nights in Thanedar on the way. One could also break in Shimla. Shimla to Sangla is around 8 hours. The road is in parts good, in parts bad to non existant. Till Karcham Dam, at least it is wide enough to feel safe, but after that it is an adventure! But we knew we have a very capable man at the wheel, and we were at ease.

Room Tip: Loghuts are very private with a stunning view, but rooms are bigger. Loghuts are warmer too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vidya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

My friend and I stayed at this place few days back (April 11th and 12th 2014). It was a low season and we got phenomenal service. The staff is excellent and no words of thanks for Mr.Om Prakash and Capt. Sud for their individual attention and help. The resort is very tastefully done and that makes the place even more exciting. The food is very nice, the rooms (we stayed in the room in the main building) is very spacious and nicely done. Of course sangla valley is an amazing place and this resort adds to its splendid beauty.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RohitKaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Well so after a long and gruelling journey from shimla nearly 8-9 hours. All your pain and irritation vanishes once you see this stunning valley.

Snow capped mountains, a flowing bapsa river. And great hosts at the Banjara camp. The camp is lovely and there log huts have a spectacular view.

A special mention about the service and food. And when you combine that with natural surroundings. You truly do arrive at paradise on earth

Thia my second time here and I am sure i will keep coming back

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank HarshSonawala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We arrived at the Banjara Sangla resort after having spent a couple of days at the Banjara Sojha resort. This place is breathtakingly beautiful and one of the best nature resorts you can visit in India - it is right next to the Baspa river and surrounded by the Himalayan mountains. The rooms are very basic but tastefully done and the staff are quite friendly.

This is a Camp & Retreat so do not expect any amenities that you would find in a typical hotel - the rooms have no TVs, there is no room-service and food is served during specific times at the camp. There is nothing to do except go for various walks around the river and in the mountains. We walked anywhere between 8 - 15km everyday in the mountains and the guides from the camp (mostly volunteers from western countries) were quite helpful. We felt exhausted at the end of every single day and couldn't wait to repeat it again the next day.

After a week in Banjara camps at Sojha and Sangla, we stayed for a day in Shimla on our way back - though Shimla is a beautiful place, we hated the hustle and bustle of the city after a week of peace, quiet and tranquility.

On our way back from Shimla to Delhi, we got into some serious some car trouble. Since the vehicle was organized through the Banjara Camp, they sprang into action immediately and arranged for an alternative vehicle in the middle of nowhere on a Sunday within a couple of hours.

Overall, this is a great place if you are looking for a break away from the cities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Copare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sangla
0.7 mi away
Kinner Camp Sangla
Kinner Camp Sangla
#1 of 9 in Sangla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Madhu
Hotel Madhu
#3 of 12 in Sangla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
9.1 mi away
Kinner Villa
Kinner Villa
#1 of 6 in Kalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Agyaat Vaas- The Himalayan Retreat
2.9 mi away
Hotel Batseri
Hotel Batseri
#8 of 12 in Sangla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp

Property: Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp
Address: Vill/ P.O. Batseri, District Kinnaur, Sangla 172106, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kinnaur District > Sangla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Sangla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A soft adventure family holiday place in the higher Himalayas. Located on the banks of Baspa river and next to the amazingly beautiful Batseri village, Banjara Camp was pioneer of tourism in this area. Kinnaur, Spiti and Upper Kullu region also have properties from this the company, Banjara Camps & Retreats Pvt Ltd., which runs the camp. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing