We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Stay! Warm hospitality!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sangla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sangla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the Banjara retreat for 5 days in September. The room was lovely, modern, clean and spacious, with direct exit to the sunny garden. The staff was welcoming, friendly, worm and tried to fulfill all our special requests. The owners were extremely nice and helpful!
The location is absolutely perfect - a little bit isolated and remote in the valley near the river, but yet close enough to Sangla.
Overall the stay in Banjara retreat was one of the highlights of our trip to India! I strongly recommend it!!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms with exit to the garden were great. In September it can get pretty cold in the ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iditger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 208 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

This camp is in a great place and does have 4 or 5 luxury tents. The rest of the tents are absolutely inadequate and overpriced. Small, cramped and pokey. The food at dinner was average with extra being asked for barbeque items, really not acceptable when they are charging a hefty Rs7-8000 for map in a tent. Breakfast was fine.

Room Tip: If you don't get one of the 5 tents on the right as you enter the camp, forget it. The rest are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank gumbyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I had an amazing trip to sangla valley with my husband.
The place is beautiful and there are so many interesting things to do.It is located near river baspa.
There are lot of activities like river crossing which they organise at 1700hrs,then there are treks from normal to tough. We opted for trek to Raksham Village which is approximatley 5 hrs trek. If you want to see the nature,its beauty, its colours, I would suggest you, not to miss this trek. The trek is little tiring for the first timers but its worth it.
Overall experience was amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Battling a 12-hour journey through breathtaking twists and turns with a 'bonus' 2-hour stretch on the battered and dusty NH-22 (courtesy the Jaypee Hydel Project), a sneak peak from the height finally lit us up.

Couched cozily in a 360 degree himalayan nest of mountains is the string of camps bordered by apple orchards and a plethora of flora and fauna, bordering itself an icy, rumbling river Baspa - welcome to the Banjara Camp and Retreat at Sangla, a magnificent locale just 31 kms before the last Indian village en-route Tibet.

Widespread though the property is, its USP is still the stillness of its surroundings. The rustic charm of wilderness pervades through product and service, gazed down upon by the towering Mt. Kinner Kailash and washed clean by the roar of the glacier melted Baspa.

The property with its concept of openness - camps with curtains for doors, bonfire and open barbecue, idling hammocks to sway'n'soothe your nerves - all to recreate the ambiance to help miss our concrete jungle cities.

Then there is Sonu-the versatile manager. He talks into your needs through casual gossip but takes care of every bit, from your packed lunches to itinerary planning - I like to call him geo-Sonu for his sheer knowledge of this little-known geography of tourism.

If you're in the camps, don't shy from insects, we had our share of fright by a monstrous spider inside our otherwise cozy heated bed. Of course, the housekeeping boy was just a shriek away, who merrily captured his prized possession live and carried it out inside his pocket.

One of my few grudges though - the camp ought to stop advertising their non-existent 'activities' - biking, river-crossing, angling....otherwise great all in all but not more than 1 full day!

Room Tip: The basic tents are truly 'basic', opt for the Dlx ones instead...those that are closer to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KK-India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I traveled to Sangal with wife and daughter of 3 years and stayed at Banjara Camps. The camp site is approximately 5 Kms outside Sangla towards Chitkul and then 2 Kms of downhill road. The road from Karcham to Sangla is really bad and dusty but once you reach the camp site, the swiss style view takes away the pain of travel to this location. The camps are in valley surronded by lush green trees and river flowing around. We stayed in a tent with all modern facilities. The toilets have hot and clod running water throught. In the camp area there are multiple options for adventure activities and river flows adjecent to the camps. The flow of river is very fast and water was chilling even in June. Room/tent rent includes all meals, morning and evening tea. Kitchen staff makes excellent dishes. In the evening a bonfire is arranged and one can order barbeque (not included in the rent). Tea/coffee makers are available in the common area and each tent also has a electric socket to charge battery of camera/mobile phones. Though this seems to be costly option but it is value for money and worth every penney. Team at Banjara also arranges trekking at additional cost.

Room Tip: Opt for tents rather than rooms as they provide the best experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdityaGarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The whole property is managed very well. Consult with Shatlendu (Sonu), who manages the place, on what you plan to do and the things are taken care the very next day. Right from informing your driver to packing your lunch and having it ready in the car, all is done without bothering you. All your care is about waking up, having a hearty breakfast ... and hit the road. During our trek, we were pleasantly surprised to find scrumptious lunch packed for us. It was amazing to be in the midst of snow capped mountains next to a stream of crystal water to sit for a picnic. The snowing peaks was a heavenly treat to the eyes with the image of fine sugar being iced onto the mountain peaks. The cherry on top to the whole setting was the locally bottled apple juice that was packed along with the lunch. The fresh chilled air, the flowing Baspa surrounded by chirping birds a midst the mountains, and the taste of fresh apple juice lingering in the mouth was a treat to the senses.
It was all about the location and more so for the consideration for the finer details, the simple yet well done lounge with locally done paintings and the pictures highlighting the region, to the unlimited snacks on offer, to the pickled apples and jams, to the children's play area, to the wood heater, to the unlimited supply of indoor games, magazines, a detailed book on the trek routes from the region, to the apple trees, to the eco-friendly soaps at the camp, and the list goes on......that made our stay at Banjara camps and retreat an unforgettable experience.

The only difficult part to the experience was the long journey along the Sutlej-Baspa, regularly dotted with MW's of hydroelectric projects and quarries and its trail of damaged ecology all along the way giving a bitter-sweet image of a growing Indian economy.

Room Tip: Choose your stay depending on the climate, when its cold out side choose the retreat (rooms), otherw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ranjukj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We came to Banjara camps from Soja where we were also staying at Banjara camps . There the hospitality was great and we found the staff to be very friendly. We reached sangla and stayed at Baikunt hotel which was not nice . Then we came to Banjara camps in Sangla where there were a lot of activities and the rooms were spacious and homely . But then when our children were playing basketball and cricket with the hotel's property owner's kids , my son asked one of the kids if he could ride their bicycle which was standing right there and the child allowed him to ride it , soon after , the property owner's wife , that was also the kids mom scolded my son and said " you are not supposed to ride this cycle , go and keep it there!" very rudely. I found this ridiculous .
The hospitality compared to Soja is pathetic but food and rooms are decent.

Room Tip: The tents are not as good as the suites . The tents are very cold so I would not suggest them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Akbrtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sangla
0.7 mi away
Kinner Camp Sangla
Kinner Camp Sangla
#2 of 14 in Sangla
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Batseri
Hotel Batseri
#1 of 15 in Sangla
36 reviews
8.6 mi away
Samaa Resorts - Chitkul Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Kinner Villa
Kinner Villa
#1 of 6 in Kalpa
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Snow Trails Camp
Snow Trails Camp
#2 of 11 in Chail
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Baspa Guest House
#11 of 15 in Sangla
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp

Address: Vill/ P.O. Batseri, District Kinnaur, Sangla 172106, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kinnaur District > Sangla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sangla
Price Range: $101 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A soft adventure family holiday place in the higher Himalayas. Located on the banks of Baspa river and next to the amazingly beautiful Batseri village, Banjara Camp was pioneer of tourism in this area. Kinnaur, Spiti and Upper Kullu region also have properties from this the company, Banjara Camps & Retreats Pvt Ltd., which runs the camp. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing