We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do destination for adventure and nature lovers”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sangla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baikunth Adventure Camp
Ranked #9 of 15 Sangla B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 2, 2013

An amazing destination. Baikunth adventure camps made it more happening with a 10.5 km trek to Sangla Kanda. Camping there was the higlight of our trip. Baikunth was able to make our entire trekking/ camping experience the most memorable one. We had kids from 31/2 yrs to a0 year old and everyone was very well taken care of. The tents were very comfortable and the food was like as if eating at home.What else could u ask for. Good JOB Baikunth !!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seemas74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Baikunth Adventure Camp, Sangla is yet another great initiative of the Baikunth group. Located at 9,000 feet, it is THE place for an adventure. Our drive to Sangla was a long but we forgot it all when we entered the resort. The staff there is very warm, friendly and hospitable. They always served with a smile.The camp is located right next to the river Baspa. We enjoyed having our tea at its banks. The tents are comfortable with lovely beds and a well- maintained washroom. The food was very homely and we all enjoyed sitting around a bonfire and eating it. There are enough activities for the kids to enjoy, too. There's a whole tent dedicated to kids activities where there are games available in plenty such as carrom, Chess, Scotland Yard and Monopoly. Outdoor games like badminton and basketball were there, too. Apart from this, they also organised a 5 and a half hour trek. We were accompanied by the camp staff and a proffessional guide. The staff made us very comfortable. In these 5 and a half hours, we climbed 2,500 feet and camped at a place which was at the same level as Leh! The staff cooked food and served tea which we had around a bonfire.The scenery was EXTREMELY BREATHTAKING! We camped beside a lake and it was quite cold. We pitched our tents and laid our sleeping bags for we were to stay for the night. We slept and woke up early next morning and left for going back to the camp. There were snow- capped mountains everywhere. We found many new trees and plants and 2 wild hares also! We reached the base right on time for bonfire where we discussed about our trek.
We were to leave after 1 day. But we enjoyed while we were there. The day to leave had arrived and it was hard to bid farewell to the lovely tents, that tiny brook that passed through the camp, the bonfire area and of course, the friendly staff! The director, Mr Vikrum Jolly, an adventurer himself has a lot of options to offer to keen trekkers. He encourages his guests to rough it out by indulging in nature.
To sum it up, the place grows on you by the day and I'll definitely be back!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Divya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were looking for a comfortable stay but in the outdoors as an experience for kids. Someone recommended Sangla - Kalpa trip and I was surprised to find Baikunth's resort in Sangla. For us, Baikunth scored over nearby Banjara Camps as we had a good experience at their resort in Kasuli few years ago. After a tiring journey of two days from Delhi we reached the quiet little Sangla in the evening. It was a bit dampening initially to find that the car couldn't go to the resort. But porters from the resort were good to carry the stuff. As we walked past through a small village, fields and an orchid, we knew we were in for a treat for next four days.

The camp is set right next to fast flowing Baspa river amidst an orchid. Staying at the camp was one of the most amazing experience we ve had in the Himalayas as we were surrounded with snow clad peaks in middle of June. The tents were pretty comfortable with running hot water in the toilets, although few insects do crawl in the toilet but what do you expect in a tent anyway :) Food was simple but good, no tandoori & mughlai stuff and it was a good break.

Plenty of play area in the resort and they even have an activity tent, where there are few board games. Tents do not have TV and thats another respite. There was a bonefire every night but quality of snacks could be improved.

However highlight of our trip was a road trip to Chitkul and an afternoon at the bank of the river. They prepared lunch for us in well packed tiffins and we had an awesome trip to Chitkul.

All in all, had one of the most memorable breaks in the Himalayas.

Room Tip: When we reached there in our excitement, we took the tent nearest to the river. But it gets very noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Property is good, but needs a polite and matured Manager to handle customers.
During our visit, the manager was very arrogant & rude.
we were 3 couples wid 1 small kids each and had a good time in and around the property.
Food quality was good.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gunee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Located besides the River Baspa, at the start of the sangla valley, this resort is breathtaking just for it's location

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Biplav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Loved the place.
the Location is too good.
Food is fabulous.
lots of places to go for trekking
Planning to go again

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Preetinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sangla hotels
0 mi away
Kinner Camp Sangla
Kinner Camp Sangla
#2 of 18 in Sangla
187 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Baspa Guest House
#11 of 15 in Sangla
1 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Batseri
Hotel Batseri
#1 of 15 in Sangla
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Madhu
Hotel Madhu
#5 of 15 in Sangla
24 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Baikunth Adventure Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baikunth Adventure Camp

Address: Village Themgarang, P.O. Sangla | District Kinnaur, Sangla 172106, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kinnaur District > Sangla
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sangla
Price Range: $255 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing