We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sangla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Rupin River View
Ranked #4 of 13 Sangla B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Excellent location with great views of the peaks around.
Mesmerizing sounds of Baspa river which flows very near to the hotel.

Wonderful people and lots of short treks around.

All comes at a cool price too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SasankaSBanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    56
    11
    5
    11
See reviews for
79
17
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hazorea israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a trip doing the Kinnar-Spiti tour, Himshal Pradesh India. One of the highlights were 3 days in this guest house, overlooking the river and beautiful fields. The owner was extermely knowledgable and helped us plan our hiking expeditions. The food was excellent (about the best we had during the trip). I highly reccomend this site.

Room Tip: the rooms on the second floor have a better view of the fields and river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

“Have a look around & you would be amazed to see the unexplored bliss in the lap of Himalaya”

We stayed at Rupin River View, Rakcham during our road trip to Himachal in the second week of August’12 along with my wife & my 3.6 years daughter. We didn’t book the hotel in advance, though we should have, & luckily got a room, which we needed badly after a drive of 15 hours from Noida. The hotel is located right on the road with ample parking & is the only concrete structure hotel at Rakcham, as most of the accommodations available were camp sites besides River Baspa. We got a room at ground level (please note that the 1st Floor & the entry is at the road level). The room was a basic accommodation with a double bed, couple of chair & table & the bath room was spacious with a geyser, but at Rakcham it is the best. As we travelled during Monsoon, we could hear the raging Baspa flowing next to the hotel.

The restaurant was located at the second floor with amazing view of Baspa valley. The menu at the restaurant had variety of choices & the food was really good. They even served at the room which generally they don’t, as I reached late & was damn tired.

The hotel staff was generous specially Vikas Mehta, who looks after the hotel in absence of Mr. Jisthu. I had paid the advance for 3 days, but had to change the program to which Vikas simply said no issue, the balance would be refunded.

Please also note that the hotel is packed most of the time so book in advance during peak season & the room tariff varies for every floor (top floor with higher tariff & the ground floor with the lowest tariff). I would surely love to visit Rakcham & Rupin again.

Note: Airtel works fine at Rackcham & the only TV is at the restaurant of the Hotel.

Room Tip: Opt for the top floor for great views of Baspa Valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank V B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just imagine if you are given the option of going to the most beautiful nature's spot but with limitation of a restricted living facility/comforts,what would be your choice ??
For those nature lovers or explorers , who will choose this option willingly,the remote place called "Rakcham" , in district Sangla of Himachal Prades, North India, is like nature's wonderful
creation,which is still not spoilt by tourists, If you venture into this, the only place for stay,with whatever plus or minus points ,this facility has , is " Hotel Rupin River View" at Rakchem.

It is really pathetic that such a marvellous spot of natural beauty[Rakchem] is almost unknown
to majority of tourists. I tried my level best with Trip advisor [ TA ] for listing this attraction,but
all my efforts were futile,so I gave up.I am confining my write up to this Hotel only.

Considering the remoteness of place where Hotel Rupin River View , is located , I would rate it as "Great" . It has basic infrastructure , reasonable good Rooms , nice restaurant, room - heaters on payment basis and friendly hotel staff. Variety of food depends what the cook can make and availabilty of ingredients , needed for preperation.In such remote hilly locations,generally Hotels operate from 1st May till Late October/early November , every year.
During rest of the period of the year its all covered with heavy snow.

We visited this Hotel mid March,to enjoy the Himalayan Charm,when snow is all round you.
Our stay in this Hotel was reasdonably comfortable.

Few pictures are presented on this Hotel

Room Tip: Try book Rooms on upper floor of Hotel for better all round view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HemMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

If you only judge Hotel Rupin River View by it's entrance, you will be disappointed. But please hold your frustration for few minutes, Enter in to the room; please don’t bother much about the interior and furniture of the Hotel and slowly walk down to your Balcony. That’s it. You will fall in love with Sangla and Hotel Rupin River View.

Very few hotels in India will be able to give this view from the Balcony. A perfect picture post card. We did not stay in proper Sangla, we choose village Rackham instead Sangla as it was closer to Chitkul. None of Hotel in Sangla was providing web book in facility so booked old fashioned way through a travel agent and we did not have any idea about the hotel so view from the balcony was unprecedented to me. A small walk and you can reach to Rupin River. The Rivers in the mountains are extra ordinarily beautiful. So is this river.
During your travel in Hills don’t expect to have nice restaurants as most of properties face logistics issues in terms of their supply. Keeping that in mind the food served in Hotel Rupin River View was good and value for money. All the time they are freshly cooked for you after you order the same.
It’s single man show in terms Manager of the hotel, Manager of the restaurant , Head of the maintenance staff , unfortunately I forgot the name and all the show is being managed well and with eagerness to provide you better service.
So if you are travelling to Rackham/Sangla, definitely you can plan to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanjib_Sarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Just one word to describe Rakcham , "Paradise"... Hotel River Rupin View is a perfect setting for a wonderful vacation ..Nice location, neat rooms, warm staff, delicious food and Mr Naresh Jitshu the owner.He will make sure to give you all the possible comforts.A very knowlegdeable man about the region...The hotel is in the bank of river Baspa from where you can get a lovely view of the snow clad mountains...Thank you Mr Naresh for making our stay so memorable...

Room Tip: Must Visit place...Room no 301,302,303 have the best views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudip72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Want to spend time in the lap of nature?This is the right place to be with mind blowing view from the balconies attached to each of the rooms and the dining hall.We took pride over taking the decision of not staying at Sangla but 10 km ahead at this virgin place called Rachkam, the moment we reached there.With basic amenities and outstanding scenic beauty the hotel offers exotic holidaying option.The experience of strolling along the other side of the Baspa river in the afternoon one can cherish lifelong.The hotel is situated at the bank of Baspa with the snow clad mountains touching the sky all around.The alpine green meadows below the snow lines, dark thick conifer jungles , apple and cherry orchards ...what else do you want to feel yourself in heaven? Listen to the song by Baspa whole day long , discover anonymous brooks taking birth from the slopes of high mountains to die over Baspa.But if you want luxury this place is not yours.

Room Tip: Rooms at the same floor as the dining hall offers great views . You can also book tents if intereste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suchandrima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sangla
3.5 mi away
Kinner Camp Sangla
Kinner Camp Sangla
#2 of 9 in Sangla
160 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Madhu
Hotel Madhu
#5 of 13 in Sangla
22 reviews
11.3 mi away
Kinner Villa
Kinner Villa
#1 of 6 in Kalpa
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Batseri
Hotel Batseri
#1 of 13 in Sangla
16 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rupin River View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rupin River View

Property: Hotel Rupin River View
Address: Village Rakcham, Sangla 172106, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kinnaur District > Sangla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Sangla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing