We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate For a Night or Two”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boroughbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2010

My wife and I booked here for a night away, as it seemed like a charming pub / hotel in a nice little market town. This is exactly how it turned out to be, a nice building, well equipped with amenities. The pool was nice, as was the jacuzzi. The place however did seem eerily quiet, one of the bars downstairs was always closed, the communal areas were deserted, the restaurant was empty and devoid of character, as was the main bar area. Reception was efficient if not terribly welcoming.

The room was in the far corner of the top floor, which was actually fine because it flet more private, however, on the down side:
We had a view of a brick wall which wasn't nice. The old sash window didnt close properly and rattled in the wind, the tv was tiny and mounted high in the corner. The bathroom door wouldnt close, and the toilet seat wouldnt stay up, which is dangerous as any man wil tell you.

That said, the room was cosy and comfy, maybe a little cramped if you're there for any longer than 2 or 3 nights with a lot of luggage. The bed was comfy and the shower was very nice. Boroughbridge is a nice little town, not much to do really , but many pubs and beer is cheap ! The free WiFi in the hotel was also very welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam76Bolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 671 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2010

we are just back from a 4 day break/ we found the hotel excellent , the price for the stay reasonable /the staff were very friendly and efficient/the food in the restaurant both at breakfast and at dinner time was first class and the service was unhurried so we could enjoy our meal/.plenty of quiet areas where you could just lounge about and read the papers if you wished./ we used the leisure centre everyday and the pool, sauna and steam room just made the relaxation all the better and changing rooms were clean and tidy/ our executive room didnt disappoint as we found it spacious and comfortable.One could always nit pick about certain things as in any where but I would certainly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Stayed in this hotel whilst up in Yorkshire for a wedding. I was a bit worried as the hotel was only 3 star. We couldn't get into the local 4 star ones as they were full. I had nothing to worry about, the staff were 5 star, nice local people who took pride in their work....... they couldn't do enough to help. The rooms were comfortable and very clean, despite being busy, the breakfast was served quickly and with a smile. This is an example of a what every medium sized hotel should be striving to achieve. Whoever is managing this hotel should be out there training staff in other hotels who in many cases have forgotten how to deliver good customer service. Would have no hesitation in using this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargoCornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

This was an expensive 1 night stay! I guess we paid a premium because of the swimming pool which we did intend to make use of but found that Saurday am was the toddler session. Nothing against children -we have 3 of our own - but when on an adult break we want peace for a change!
The room was very small and the bathroom poorly equiped. I had to hunt in the wardrobe for a second set of towels, there was no soap and this was the first time that we have ever had a disposible plastic cup in the bathroom. The batteries for the TV remote were held in with selotape and I had difficulty seeing the TV even with my glasses on - it was so small.
We ate in the hotel bar in the evening - we were going to use the restaurant but as there was nobody there except a very helpful and friendly bar person come waitress, we felt it was a waste to put the lights on. The meal and service were excellent. Breakfast was adequate. I expect this hotel has a bit more of the promised atmoshere in better weather.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haveyougotthemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Found this gorgeous hotel in between Christmas & Ne Year and stayed here whilst visiting Gread OldAuntie Maud locally !! All the staff were so happy to see us, we were welcomed and made to feel like old firends.

The bed room was clean, fresh and comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful and good quality. The real gem of this property is the amazing leisure club !! WOW what a treat that was. The sauna & steam room and jacuzzi and gym were clean and the club was staffed .. quite a rarity these days ...

Normally only visit Boroughbridge when Old Aunty Maud is having a party but will certainly be back to the Crown Hotel before long, we got value for money and throghly ejoyed being a the Crown Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReginaldYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We have stayed at the Crown four times so far, and have just enjoyed another fantastic weekend there.

It is a beautiful old building in the gorgeous market town of Boroughbridge. The hotel is fantastic, with individual decor and furniture in each room. The bedrooms and ensuites are all very spacious, as are the public areas. There are a variety of quiet lounge areas and a beautiful bar / restaurant, traditionally decorated and full of individual flair.

The pool & leisure centre always look brand new; in each of our visits we have had the pool to ourselves - very relaxing.

We have always found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful - you really feel that they are trying to make your stay more enjoyable - extremely rare these days!

The food is simply wonderful, especially the home made deserts and breakfasts! The hotel is quiet although wonderfully situated in Boroughbridge, which I might add has some amazing shops for such a small town and is well worth exploring. The Crown is the perfect base for exploring York, the Dales and many pretty Yorkshire towns.

We will certainly be visiting again later this year.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_BEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Stayed here for one night. We were originally given a room that was really hot - It was above the sauna! We did ask to be moved to another room , and were no problem .
The room was a family room very spacious , very clean.
The staff were all polite very helpful.We went into the swimming pool again staff friendly , changing rooms and poolside very clean !
I would stay in this hotel again .It was just outside Harrogate .The Breakfast was spot on - lovely .
Cant fault the place , beds comfy .I took the kids they loved the place .
There is a sauna, jacuzzi and a gym.We had no probs with the internet it was free for the stay too ! Tea and coffe & buiscuits in the room provided also newspapers delivered in the morning.Restaurant and bar downstairs very friendly and clean and staff lovely !

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairynuff4313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boroughbridge
6.1 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
785 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
475 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
211 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Crown Hotel

Address: Horsefair, Boroughbridge YO51 9LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Boroughbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boroughbridge
Price Range: $105 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking a hotel in North Yorkshire, this 37 bedroom hotel has excellent accommodation, conference facilities and a large private car park. Leisure centre with indoor swimming pool, steam room, sauna, gym and sun-shower. York only 17 miles, Harrogate 10 miles, Leeds 28 miles. Easy access from junction 48 A1(M) makes the Crown Hotel Boroughbridge an ideal stay over for journeys between Scotland and the South, a great location for weekend breaks, holidays in Yorkshire with York, Harrogate, the Yorkshire Dales and other Yorkshire tourism attractions nearby plus a meetings and conference venue for training courses, business meetings, functions and events for up to 150 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Boroughbridge
Best Western North Yorkshire
North Yorkshire Best Western
Best Western Crown Hotel Boroughbridge, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing