We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
812 results
Traveler rating
379
286
106
33
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
379
286
106
33
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure facilities swimming pool sauna and steam room travelzoo deal old coaching inn leisure club secure car park lovely pool fountains abbey evening meal afternoon tea lovely hotel room was large duty manager executive room short break bit dated
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 812 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2019 via mobile

First time we’ve stayed here. Room was very clean, bed comfortable, food good and staff exceptionally pleasant. we had a meal in the restaurant in the evening and breakfast in the morning. Food hot and fresh. We stayed in room 24. Were a bit worried about the pub just across the road being noisy later on, but we didn’t hear a thing. What’s not to like!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank helengG6372WQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey C, Manager at Best Western Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2019

Dear helengG6372WQ
Thank you for talking the time to write your review, it is very much appreciated. It was lovely to meet you both whilst staying.
Reading your review you have covered every aspect of your stay. Good to read you ate in the restaurant, we source our food locally and cook it here on the premises. I can recommend our afternoon tea with homemade cake and scones - lovely!

It is one of our aims to ensure you enjoy a good sleep, so pleased this is what happened.

We look forward to you staying again and soon, call us and we will do our best to allocate the same room for you

Kind regards

Tracey



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2019

Although a short drive from York it was an easy journey and you can Park/Ride into York which saves on Parking problems. Staff and food very good, overall experience very good, everything you need for a good weekend.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank pauline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey C, Manager at Best Western Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2019

Dear Pauline g
Thank you for writing your review after staying with us. It is great to read that you had a very good break with us.

I do hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again. Please call to book

Regards

Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2019

The rooms in this hotel are dark and dingy not enough room to swing a cat too much furniture and 2 single beds pushed together to make a kingsize one taking up most of the room. The amount we paid with extra for breckfast we could have got a better b&b would i stay there again maybe not nor would i reccommend it to anyone

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank MarieAndRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey C, Manager at Best Western Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2019

Dear MarieAndRay
It is disappointing to read your review but good to also have the opportunity to reply. Had we known you were not happy with the bedroom you stayed in. We would have certainly done our best, to move you to a room more to your liking.
I am not too sure which room you had whilst here but all our rooms have a window which gives natural daylight, ceiling light, bedside lights and a light above the mirror.

Some of our rooms have a Kingsize bed, they tend to be zip and link, these are designed to be zipped and linked together to make a Kingsize.

If you had placed your reservation with the room only option, breakfast would be charged extra if taken. Calling direct to book, a bed and breakfast rate would have been offered as an option. This tends to give the better value.

I am sorry on this occasion we have not been the Hotel for you, hopefully in the future you will return. Please call us direct so we can discuss and indeed do our very best to accommodate your requirements.

Regards

Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019

This hotel is a great location to use to explore the surrounding area. The staff were very helpful and the food in the restaurant although a little limited for my personal ,taste was of good quality. The room we had was adequate and the bathroom had plenty of hot water available and the shower was very powerful. We used the pool and found it to be well looked after and we also liked that they had adult only swimming times. It is not often that a pool is available in this standard of hotel and this was a bonus. We used a Travelzoo voucher which we found was excellent value for this short break. We would certainly return to this hotel if we were ever in the area again.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Storyteller813010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey C, Manager at Best Western Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2019

Dear Storyteller813010
Thank you for taking the time to write your review whilst staying here. It is great to read you found the team very helpful and the food of good quality. When you return if there is anything in particular which you would enjoy to eat, please let us know.
We have the advantage of our Chefs cooking fresh food within the Kitchen.

Pleased you took advantage of the leisure club, it certainly is the added bonus.

When you return to this beautiful area please give us a call to book

Regards

Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019

My son and I returned from the Boroughbridge Best Western Crown Hotel after a 2 night stay last week and came back home feeling incredibly relaxed and happy! I was so very grateful to Dawn at reception who very kindly went out of her way to accommodate us on our preferred dates and was so genuinely friendly and caring. She also very kindly provided me with decaffeinated and herbal tea bags! Mark at the restaurant was also lovely and entertained my son with magic tricks and great humour! These kind gestures go a long way in creating fun holiday memories for a child. The mainly locally sourced food is delicious and fresh and cooked perfectly with generous portion sizes too. We enjoyed use of the pool though unfortunately on one day the jacuzzi wasn't working but it was hardly a dent on our very enjoyable stay! The corridors can be a little noisy but as mentioned by some before, this is an old building with lots of history so is to be expected to some degree. Rooms are comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities. Boroughbridge is a pretty little town and also a great base to explore the nearby Dales and Fountains Abbey etc. We got a great few extras booking through TravelZoo e.g. scones and tea on arrival, dinner vouchers for two as well as late check out :) Thank you to all staff for our lovely, peaceful stay-I have been encouraging my friends to go too!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SofiaEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey C, Manager at Best Western Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2019

Dear SofiaEI
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to meet you both whilst staying. It is great to read that you have both returned home fully relaxed.
Your thanks will be passed onto both Mark and Dawn, the team take a pride in the Hotel and they are a pleasure to work alongside.
The food as you say is sourced as local as possible, then cooked here by our Chefs. The homemade desserts are delicious, they come highly recommended!
The leisure club is the added bonus while staying, I am pleased you enjoyed the swimming.

I am sure there are still lots of areas to explore, so we do look forward to your return. Give us a call to book

Regards

Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews