We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening Meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boroughbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cardross
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

With the kids the Four of us had an Evening Meal, The kids Menu was £6:50p and Adults varied, we had the steak and a rack of Lamb. Everything was done to our perfection and the Kids also finished their choices. Only downside was the wait for the meal, however it was explained on the Menu that they did not do Fast food only Good food, this was also pointed out by our friendly waiter.The lot including a round of Drinks came to £66..Very worth it in our view..The Facilities were clean and the Staff very friendly and helpful, well worth a visit though I would suggest booking for a weekend meal as we went on a Thursday evening and by 8pm it was mobbed.

Room Tip: No Idea I`m afraid only had a Meal, but the Hotel is not on a busy road so road traffic noise would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ploughman16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    247
    83
    32
    5
See reviews for
94
355
13
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Like some previous reviewers my wife and I had a 2 night DB&B deal which we booked via Travelzoo, and it proved to be exceptional value.
Lovely location, excellent facilities, quality food, the staff we encountered which included housekeeping, reception and restaurant were all very pleasant and helpful, really top notch.

If possible it may be an idea to avoid the rooms at the front of the hotel during a hot spell like last week, as sleeping with windows open there was quite a bit of traffic noise.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serenejulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here on business in July 2013. I was working in Ripon (15 minutes away) and Harrogate (20 minutes) away and wanted somewhere central for access to both. Easy to get to from the A1, only 5 minutes off of the Boroughbridge junction.

Free car parking is available and good security is in place, just look for the signs to the entrance at the back of the hotel. Lovely pool facility, which despite being quite small was in excellent condition and well maintained. Best for adults, not so great for kids.

The bar and restaurant service was friendly and engaging. The food is priced higher than average but the quality is excellent, the portions were good and worth the amount being charged. Starters were priced around £5.50, mains around £12 - £15, steak £20 plus.

My room was decorated in a traditional manner, the bed being huge and quite possible the comfiest I have ever slept in. Simply stunning. I paid £84.50 B&B which is a touch on the high side but I felt that I had good value.

The downside was its location at the top of the staircase, meaning that every creak on the steps and floorboards, every time the fire door gets opened and closed by EVERY other guest staying there disturbed my sleep. I would gladly stay at this location again and recommend it to others, but to avoid Room 30

Room Tip: Don't have Room 30. Very noisy from other guests simply going back to their rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T7PDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited the Crown Hotel with our 3 young children (aged 5yrs and twins aged 2yrs) at short notice. We explained that we were after a large room that we could all share and the receptionist I spoke to was so helpful and rung me back promptly after checking the options with the Housekeeper. We were in a lovely large room and they had put up a Z bed for our eldest and there was plenty of floor space for the inflatable beds we have for our younger children. Parking was easy and the evening meal and breakfast were both delicious. I think the polite and extremely helpful staff are a particular asset to the hotel - happy to help with warming milk for the children and all sorts of other requests that made our stay very relaxiing. It was a beautifully warm weekend and the rooms were rather on the warm side too. We were visiting nearby Newby Hall which was a lovely place to visit with a young family. All in all, a lovely weekend - thank you!

Room Tip: Room 33 was a lovely large room - it was on the main street which was a little noisy and we had the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Not bad to stay at but found it expensive for the area. Room looked like it had recently been refurbished but the attention to detail was sadly lacking. Our particular room had a newly refitted bathroom however, somebody forgot to strip, repair & paint the window. What a shame! Also beautiful carpet & wallpaper but curtains, bed shame & cushions didn't match. Looked quite odd. Generally clean with helpful staff. Breakfast excellent! Telly reception & wifi was poor. Can't be helped I suppose. Boroughbridge itself, not much going on at all & you need a car for trips out & about.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Couldn't recommended The Crown Hotel highly enough. We had our dad's 80th birthday party here and the wonderful staff couldn't have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and our every need was catered for. Attentive and truly professional staff. A massive thank you especially for being so understanding with regards to my dietary requirements, never have I come across such true, genuine and understanding staff. Thank you to you all for making our dad's birthday truly memorable for all of us. We hope to visit you again in the future and would recommend you to anyone. Fabulous!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank C E J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just returned from a trip to this hotel, stayed for 2 nights.
Room, food and facilities exceeded expectations as we paid such a low price for 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast.
Very good service from all staff especially Mark in the restaurant.
All staff, except one, extremely friendly, helpful and personable.
would not hesitate to stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Executive room 82 very good, quiet and away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boroughbridge
5.7 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
457 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
746 reviews
9.0 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
5.2 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Crown Hotel

Property: Best Western Crown Hotel
Address: Horsefair, Boroughbridge YO51 9LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Boroughbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boroughbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking a hotel in North Yorkshire, this 37 bedroom hotel has excellent accommodation, conference facilities and a large private car park. Leisure centre with indoor swimming pool, steam room, sauna, gym and sun-shower. York only 17 miles, Harrogate 10 miles, Leeds 28 miles. Easy access from junction 48 A1(M) makes the Crown Hotel Boroughbridge an ideal stay over for journeys between Scotland and the South, a great location for weekend breaks, holidays in Yorkshire with York, Harrogate, the Yorkshire Dales and other Yorkshire tourism attractions nearby plus a meetings and conference venue for training courses, business meetings, functions and events for up to 150 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Boroughbridge
Best Western North Yorkshire
North Yorkshire Best Western
Best Western Crown Hotel Boroughbridge, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing