We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saturday night surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shahi Raj

Shahi Raj
Ranked #15 of 19 Restaurants in Boroughbridge
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Asian, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
West Yorks
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Saturday night surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

had taken hubby away for weekend and we were staying in the hotel across the road so decided to try this place on Saturday night. Our hotel room looked out on the restaurant so as soon as I saw the lights on at teatime I rang and booked a table for 8pm. Good job I did!! We got there at 7.50 and the place was FULL!!. Admittedly it is only a small restaurant but we had to wait about 10 minutes for our table but the guy in charge kept apologising and assuring us he would seat us ASAP.

Menu was varied and prices were very reasonable - poppadums and pickle tray, 2 starters, 2mains, 1 rice, 1 Peshwari nan, 3 chappaties and a large bottle of beer came to £32.90.

A very unexpected dining experience in small town, Saturday night that we would recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JaxWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    39
    19
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We have visited three times since Christmas and on each visit tried a different meal, the food and service has been always excellent and it has now become a once a month treat. Highly recommended and reasonably priced.

Helpful?
Thank BogratNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boroughbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great local indian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Have used the Shahi Raj for about fifteen years both to eat in the restaurant and more than often to have a takeaway. I cannot remember that we have had any cause for complaint. Sometimes service can be a bit slow, but that is all.
Good portion size and a tasty selection of various indian type foods on offer. Enjoy, I doubt you will be disapointed. In fact I'm picking up tonights meal very shortley.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely good :-) ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Came here while visiting friends , we hadn't booked but the staff were happy to find us a table , my partner and I are both vegetarians and the choice was great , are food arrived and it was really tasty perfectly cooked and plenty of it , staff were very friendly and pleasant and very helpful , will visit again next time were here :-)

Helpful?
Thank Roisin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boroughbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Charming staff and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We eat here regularly, All of the staff are charming, exceptionally warm and friendly. The kitchen produces quality fresh food and one of the best Prathas I have ever had. Excellent house wine and overall great value.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimSharpe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shahi Raj also viewed

Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
 
Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Shahi Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing