We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wendywoo”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wendywoo”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I love this pub, have been a few times for a drink, and the Guinness is very well looked after but Sunday was the first time I had been for a meal. I was not disappointed, the staff were very courteous and helpful, I didn't particularly like any of the puds as I like traditional sticky toffee and treacle sponge, however I asked could I just have Ice cream and it was served in a lovely glass with a wafer. Only reason I didn't give 5 stars was because nobody had checked the toilets, and the ladies were quite unkempt. the pub had been busy but if I had used the facilities before eating, I would have probably have turned round and left.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    85
    21
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We arrived with great expectations which unfortunately were not to be realised. We ate in the retaurant which was a little oppressive. We had time to savour the decor as the service was not very quick.The soup and fishcake starters were just ok but the fishcake was overdone on the outside and just warm on the inside.The corned beef hash again was ok too but the vegetables were undercooked and the skinny chips overcooked.Needless to say it was all a great disappointment and we will not be returning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haxby York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“3 excellent experiences here!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I must say, I do not understand previous reviews this lovely little pub has received. I have been lucky enough to have 3 gorgeous meals here. The pub eating area is very quaint, has a real wood fire going, and tons of locals, kids, dogs- really homey atmosphere.

We received very prompt service, and everything we have ordered and eaten here has been fantastic. From the Sunday roasts, to thoughtful specials, the kitchen is working hard to please, and the result is great.

Interestingly, this is also reviewed under Boroughbridge restaurants, and the reviews for it there are more like it- many satisfied customers. It is worth the drive to feel a part of a something special.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelcrazyHaxbyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“nice pub but!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Have been a few times to this pub and always enjoyed. but this time i didnt enjoy my choice of meal of Brians corned beef hash which was a little like sloppy mush with a strong taste of vinegar.perhaps i should have complained at the time.I would also say that the prices in this pub are quite a bit more expensive than most places locally

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BARRY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We selected The Ship Inn for Sunday Lunch as the reviews were good and they allowed us to take our dog into the pub.
We were welcomed upon arrival and were shown to a table in the bar area where we could take the dog and enjoy a meal. Pub was busy and this is always a good sign.
The meals were lovely, service was also very good. If our table had been a little larger or not in such a small space I would have given 5 stars instead of 4.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mazz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
 
Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing