We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than best Yourkshire service”

The Crown Inn at Roecliffe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Less than best Yourkshire service”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I found this country restaurant/pub rather pretentious in its 'coaching inn' cloak but, above all the food was excellent. Expect London prices but rather patronisingly the varied and interesting menu is priced in very odd, literally, figures. The management does the quality of the ambience and friendliness of the staff a disservice by not attending to some details that let the side down.
For instance, the maitre d' was very quick to remove an empty wine bottle with the question 'would you like another?' when our party had clearly not finished their first glass; no soup spoon provided when my first course was served - excellent crab soup, by the way; no offer of a steak knife for one guest and having a second guest to ask for one; a clearly dirty wine glass set on the table, which had to be referred.
We were a oparty of six and without reservation praised the quality of the food and the venue. The quirky couple sitting out in the rain were very static - yes, they were mannequins dressed in period costume, even with a candle lamp on the table!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mreUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    114
    46
    32
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Had my first visit to The Crown Inn last Friday for a friend's 50th. An idyllic setting on a warm summer's evening. A beautiful country pub with great food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarnmoneyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect finish to any day”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

After a nice trip on the boat it was a pleasure as always to call inrto the Crown for Sunday Lunch. We hadn't booked but where warmly welcomed and seated straight away. The food was upto its usual high standard (proper roast beef i.e. rare). Well done the Crown !

p.s. the sticky toffee pudding is to die for !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dylan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
““Totally superb in every way.””
Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you want fantastic food but served in a relaxed pub setting, the Crow Inn is definitely worth visiting. We had a meal here the evening before my daughter's wedding and the staff comfortably dealt with the party of ten. Typical prices excluding drinks seemed to be £20-£30 depending on whether you went for 2 or 3 courses and the type of main course, but there seemed to be options to suit most pockets.

Portions sizes are for those with a healthy appetite - my mother-in-law opted for the small fish & chips and I reckon the haddock was almost as big as her! My son and I opted for different steak options, both of which were excellent.

Service was very friendly and efficient. It was nice to see a number of people treating the Crown Inn as somewhere more formal to eat too, with plenty of jackets & ties in evidence.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boroughbridge
2 reviews
“Excellent service, great food”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The food is great and the whole staff team are really friendly, helpful and attentive.Definitely be back,thank you for the great night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sp3710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Inn at Roecliffe also viewed

Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
 
Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
 
Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
Aldwark, Easingwold
 

Been to The Crown Inn at Roecliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing