We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Studley
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The castle is an interesting and attractive building so it's a shame it has a large extension (probably added many years ago) that is ugly and no way in keeping with the castle.
The dining room, lounge and hallway are lovely, being in a castle style. The staff were helpful and breakfast was good (fry-up, toast, etc). We were very happy with the room we were in as it was spacious and clean. A walk around the grounds is ok if a little unsightly in places. But to be fair, they were having building work done. The view from the back of the castle is nice if you ignore the extension. We'd stay there again as it was a convenient but quiet place for visiting surrounding places (Barber Institute, Botanical Gardens, Evesham, etc).

Room Tip: Rooms looking away from the building work are nicer if you want a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven s, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear H B,

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 564 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after booking very late that afternoon for a nights stay. There was not many staff around at 1930 hrs and we eventually found a very nice receptionist who gave us room 2 a deluxe room which we had booked for £59.00. On arriving at our room we could see on route that the hotel needed decorating and refurbishment. The room and bathroom were large with a super king bed which we thought would be nice until we sat on it and found it creaked and squeaked ! There was a bar menu and evening meals in the restaurant but we decided to drive to the Harvester down the road as it was cheaper. The room seemed clean but was cold and we had to get a blanket out of the wardrobe which also creaked too. Once this hotel is renovated it will be a lovely place to stay but it is grade 2 listed so this may take some time, who knows? Please changed the bed and mattress in room 2 straight away it was not good and uncomfortable too. I think it will be £150 a night when they have done all the refurbishments at the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a terrible bed although it was big in size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mandyhall1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven s, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear mandyhall1966,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Studley Castle.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about decor of the hotel and bedrooms for which we have plans in place where we will be updating some decor in coming months.

Kind regards,

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was really glad I booked a 3 night stay here, what a lovely view as I drove up to the main entrance, the staff were very friendly and the dinner in the grand dining hall overlooking the garden was very nice. There is even a very large lounge for guests to relax in too.

The room had high ceilings and a nice view and was clean, because the walls are so thick it was quiet.

The only weird thing I noticed were the 50's style doors leading up to the rooms, change these and you would add to the experience.

This was well worth the booking

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DibDibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven s, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear DibDibbler,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start... The hotel is filthy! Cobwebs hanging from the ceilings, stained carpets, bathrooms in need of serious repairs. Hallways have a smell and the carpets are very loose and not secure. Ceilings with tiles that are water stained and most likely with mold! Rooms are just as bad housekeeping is lacking very much. Short staffed and in the lounge which opened at noon you could never find anyone working except for one person one evening who was very nice.... Tom! Breakfast is horrible and the coffee bitter and with no flavor at all except colored water! Outside in serious need of repairs and a good groundskeeper. Staff seemed uninterested in caring for the guest in the evening. One evening an alarm was going off and when calling to reception NO ONE answered the phone for over 15 minutes. The reason they were checking someone in! If there was a true emergency help could not of been called. The response from the front desk was sorry I was checking someone in!!! Only one person in the evening to answer guest calls. It seemed that when you asked for assistance in the lounge it was a bother even though there was a group of guests in there needing assistance with drinks. Food leaves at lot to be desired and even the Chicken Cesar salad was horrible. Chicken tough and the greens very wilted. Rooms are extremely hot and no air circulation and with the smell not very enjoyable. No hair dryer or toiletries provided and the towels were worn out!! The hotel seems more like a worn out state run facility in the 1700's. it was not a country retreat and only deserves one star since there was running water if that. The cobwebs and filth as well as the lack of housekeeping or pride was not acceptable! Could not eat breakfast even though included due to the filth issue and the taste. Even though there was a group of residents staying there discussing the hotel and lack of cleanliness the one manager seemed uninterested in all of our concerns. I must say the daytime front reception women with blonde hair was very lovely and could not due enough for you! Another cause for concern is that if you use a credit card to settle your bill you are charged a service fee which you are not told about on checkin although they asked you for one at checkin for incidentals! Beware of this hotel! I am sure there are much nicer ones in the area! If we were not prepaid and in a non refundable situation we would of changed hotels immediately upon seeing it! Definitely not somewhere you should stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mapeterson25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven s, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear mapeterson25,

I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations. We would like to discuss this with you in person. Please could you contact my operations manager Harpreet on hsaluja@studleycastle.com

Kind regards,

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We visited studley castle hotel for a cheeky overnight stay at bank holiday.
What a wonderful little find...great staff great place wonderful views can't wait to visit again..in fact will be tempting my daughter to get married there :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven s, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Leah E,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Lovely looking hotel in spectacular grounds, parts of the inside were tired and needed a lick of paint. Staff overworked and spread to thinly to even man the bar on a very sunny day.
Our room still had the previous occupants clothes in the wardrobe, I assume they're still there as nobody phoned us.
Overall I might stay there again if in the area but it's doubtful.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the main hotel, a low number if possible they're a lot nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali1967Deeside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven s, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Ali1967Deeside,

I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter. Please feel free to contact my Operations Manager on hsaluja@studleycastle.com to discuss this further.

Kind regards,

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This does not deserve one star! I booked via the phone and had had no email confirmation although the girl promised me that she would send one to me. I had to phone again to confirm that I WAS ACTUALLY BOOKED IN. Then they gave me a double room for me and my 18 year old son! I went to the reception and the woman said it was not a problem and switched me to another bedroom. It transpired that it was a disabled room. I could not believe that she had not the decency to tell me before the switch. I felt like crying. And the woman told me that there WAS NO OTHER TWIN ROOM! The shower patch was flooded during my short shower. I had to wash my feet with slippers on to make sure there was no unpleasant residue! There was no bath/shampoo gel into the unit. I turned up the lid to reveal an empty sac! IThe place looks filthy and looks more like Victorian prison than a hotel, not to say a castle. I am typing this out here as I am too angry for words!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AgnesandDaniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven s, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear AgnesandDaniel P,

I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations. We would like to discuss this with you in person. Please could you contact my Operations Manager Harpreet on hsaluja@studleycastle.com

Kind regards,

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Studley
3.0 mi away
Kings Court Hotel
Kings Court Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alcester
632 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
5.8 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 7 in Redditch
219 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Throckmorton
The Throckmorton
#2 of 3 in Alcester
238 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: Hotel AND CONFERENCE Centre Castle Road, Studley B80 7AJ, England (Formerly De Vere)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Studley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Studley
Price Range: $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studley Castle is a magnificent 57 bedroom grade II listed hotel that dates back to the 18th century. The hotel boasts a 28 ...acre estate, set in the heart of the beautiful Warwickshire countryside (near Stratford Upon Avon & Birmingham). The Oak Restaurant seats 80 people comfortably and plays host to a delicious lunch every Sunday. booking is essential. The Arrow bar has a wide variety of beers, spirits, wines, cocktails & speciality coffees. Studley Castle is an ideal environment for meetings, there's 11 fantastic conference rooms and lots of outdoor space for team building activities. If you are thinking of a perfect wedding venue, then we can make your day extra special from start to finish. Numbers are 90 guests for the ceremony & wedding breakfast, and up to 200 for your evening reception. Studley Castle also offers exclusive use, so you really can make the Castle your own. The dedicated and friendly staff at Studley Castle are always on hand to make your stay memorable, and will always go that extra mile to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Castle Hotel And Conference Centre England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing