We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another ticked off the list!”

Barley Mow pub resturant
Ranked #10 of 22 Restaurants in Studley
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Another ticked off the list!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Whenever we are out and about if there is a Crown Carvery nearby we will head for it.

The Barley Mow was another ticked off the list (starting to sound like a train spotter now). Friendly staff, nice atmosphere on a Tuesday lunchtime.

Nothing much else to add, the menu is set, you know what you are going to get, and how much you are going to pay for it. You won't get a roast dinner for these sort of prices anywhere else, so we always regard them as very good value.

The ratings are not excellent throughout because it is self service, the food is good quality, terrific value, ok for families, but a special occasion would warrant something more classy (for me anyway).

Visit again, oh yes !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oxford71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    82
    55
    29
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Go here at least once a month, food is always good, staff are always friendly, great value for money, deserts are yummy. My 4yr daugher loves it here. Its the only place she eats ALL her dinner, anything for the bottomless icecream. Highly reccomend

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steineratheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Cheap Carvery- Ok if you want basic food. I was not that impressed with the food, but like I said you get what you pay for!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda_68186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“carvery heaven”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice people I asked how we went on about ordering the carvery she explained took my money gace me 2 tickets went to carvery got it sat down and eat!! Very simple and very nice food was lovely the pork was very tender certainly one of the best carverys I have had, it wins over tobyy carvery anyday and very well priced at just over £4!!! Very nice pub

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best carvery in Studley”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We come here lots of times and always enjoy our carvery. Very good value and the food is always well cooked and tasty. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annash2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barley Mow pub resturant also viewed

Redditch, Worcestershire
Studley, Warwickshire
 
Studley, Warwickshire
Studley, Warwickshire
 

Been to Barley Mow pub resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing