We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standards dropped, a shame” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Ashford North A20

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Ashford North A20
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hothfield
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Standards dropped, a shame”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

As a frequent visitor to this hotel I am saddened by the reduction in the standard of service. The hotel is now overun by coach parties and as is often the case, when this happens the service to all other guest is diminished as low numbers of inexperienced staff try to keep pace with events. May I suggest that if you wish to cater for coach parties that you employ sufficient staff to ensure your regular customers are not neglected. Also please ensure coaches do not block the car park exit so that no one can get out of the car park!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJO_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    209
    84
    34
    18
See reviews for
134
194
19
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
397 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed two nights at the atrt and end of a continental holiday. The hotel is out of Asford but easily founs. The public areas are pleasant and the staff helpful and friendly. As well as the hotel bar and restaurant there is a pub on site which does meals - we decided to eat there since the receptionist warned us that there were large groups arriving imminently for a meal.
The service in the pub and hotel bar was good in both places.
The rooms were comfortable and clean.
Ashford is a couple of miles away - from there acces to Asford International Station, the Channel Tunnel terminal at Folkestone and Dover Ferries are all easily reached.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LightAleCavalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

We wanted a nights stay near to the 'Chunnel' for a bright start for our European trip. This place delivered a comfortable modern room and a decent breakfast. We had no complaints what so ever. I have rated this on the basis of what it is and not by comparing it with the 5 star accomadation we enjoyed for the rest of our trip!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France/Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed 2 nights over a weekend. The hotel is generally comfortable and set back from the road, with a small pub sharing its car park. Staff were businesslike, but seemed overwhelmed by two coach parties. We were advised to dine in the pub, as the hotel restaurant would be too busy.

The hotel does provide a choice of free newspaper for priority club members (not all holiday inns do), and there were complimentary bottles of water and biscuits in the room. We stayed in room 102 overlooking the front car park and the pub, but weren't disturbed by any noise at night.

However, we were disappointed by the air con, which didn't seem to cool the room much (despite following the front desk's instructions), as well as the poor TV picture quality/reception and relatively limited TV channel choice. The lack of cleanliness in the bathroom, a very, very temperamental loo handle, and the shower head which sprayed water everywhere didn't impress. This holiday inn is often a little more expensive than others in the area, but on this occasion, didn't seem to merit it. On departure, we were double charged and would not have noticed it if we had not asked for a print-out, as none was initially offered. The receptionist seemed to be on her own on Sunday morning (and did her best), but the check-out time was long, compounded by the error over the bill.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmk33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
186 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

We had actually booked in at the Holiday Inn Central Ashford but due to a broken water main we were transferred to this hotel. The transfer was handled very well and with no hassle factor for us. We were a party of six taking up three rooms and were only using the hotel as a base while we went to a family gathering on the other side of Ashford. Given the short time we were here we were quite impressed with the efficiency of the staff and their friendliness.

The rooms were all standard but all were of reasonable quality. The bathrooms were well decorated and clean with sufficient towels. The bed was comfortable and even had a choice of pillows.

The buffet breakfast gave a reasonable degree of choice and was kept well stocked. The food was of good quality but only one choice of egg (scrambled). The best bit however was that it was included in the room price.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a short stay..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gallavanting Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

I have been staying at this hotel every other week for the past 8 Years and I always found it to be clean, friendly and good value for money. The staff are always welcoming.
Its postion for going to France via the chanel tunnel is a great bonus.
The hot buffet breakfast is fantastic value for money and sets you up for the day.
my only grumble is that there is wi-fi in the rooms but it is not included in the room rate. If this could be addressed then I would give this hotel 100%

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildriceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

We have stayed in this hotel for the last 10 years. Once a year I go with my mother on a short break, love my mum, but sharing a bed... we choose this hotel because is has rooms with two double beds and ans is situated on easy to reach location. The staf is very friendly and and the location of the hotel is ideal for shopping trips to Ashford and Bluewater. I have already booked for next june!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatinkaDordrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hothfield
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford North
Premier Inn Ashford North
#1 of 2 in Hothfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central
3.0 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford (Eureka Leisure Park) Hotel
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford Central Hotel
3.1 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ashford North A20? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ashford North A20

Property: Holiday Inn Ashford North A20
Address: Garden Court Maidstone Road, Hothfield TN26 1AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hothfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hothfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Ashford North A20 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the charming rural surroundings of the Holiday Inn Ashford-North A20 hotel, with easy access to Ashford's Eurostar train terminal.A country setting and family-friendly atmosphere make Holiday Inn Ashford-North A20 a peaceful home from home. Your Guest room overlooks rolling countryside and it's just 10 minutes' drive to the Eurostar terminal at Ashford ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Ashford North A20 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ashford North a20 Hotel Hothfield
Holiday Inn Hothfield
Hothfield Holiday Inn
Ashford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ashford North A20 Kent, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing