We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fit for purpose” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Ashford North A20

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Ashford North A20
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hothfield
lancashire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fit for purpose”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

we had an overnight stay here whilst travelling to meet our cruise ship in Dover, the hotel is clean and the staff are freindly. We had a meal across the way at the pub attached to the hotel and the food was adequate and inexpensive. I would recommend this hotel as a stop over but doubt it would be nice enough for a long stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timmstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    209
    84
    34
    18
See reviews for
134
195
19
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

On the whole it was an enjoyable stay. The hotel lobby was comfortable. Check-in was fine - but had to endure the coachload of German tourists whilst waiting for the lifts (we have 2 babies and couldn't take the stairs) which was a downer, but not necessarily the hotel's fault!
Rooms were adequate, but we found broken glass on our bathroom floor and various dark, curly hairs in the bath and on the floor. Hence the 4/5 rather than 5/5. I don't appreciate having to clean a room that I should find clean.
Our air-con was out and there was no warning before entering the room, despite a sign that had clearly been put up a while before. A minor niggle as it wasn't too hot, but if it had been very warm my review might have been scathing.
Breakfast was fine and a decent price. Location was what it was - although it wasn't super convenient for the motorway, but we knew that when we booked. I reckon that's part of the reason why the prices aren't too bad.
Overall it was a fine stay. Price was fair, esp as it was the first night of the summer school holidays.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelLover2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor NI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We arrived here after a long day travelling up France and it was the next best thing to arriving home. The family room was the largest I have ever stayed in. The kids had full size beds in thier own alcove. We had a king size very comfortable bed, two armchairs, large office area and a good sized bathroom.

Breakfast was very good next morning and all staff were polite and well mannered.

Much better than any of the local budget 'hotels'

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerBangorNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

Stayed at this hotel numerous times when going on holidays to France. Family rooms are great if you get rooms with single beds for the children as they have their own little alcove so parents have some partial separation once the children are asleep. Lots of parking out the front of the hotel. Small gym on site which has one treadmill, a couple of bikes and a few other pieces - never busy but it is limited if you want to do a full workout!

Breakfast is good in the hotel although room service for breakfast is pricey if you need breakfast before the restuarant opens then try and bring your own. Evening meals are awful and very expensive and the pub within the grounds is awful too - we now go to Eureak Park which is about 5 minutes drive from the hotel and eat at either Pizza Hut or Frankie & Benny's there are also a few other food places and a cinema which is great for the children and much, much cheaper and nicer than eating at the hotel. Hotel rooms are brilliant but food best avoided!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsHappyFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Nice Staff, Rooms are clean and comfortable, and the Hotel has a nice atmosphere The only thing that lets it down is the food Breakfast is good but the evening menu leaves a lot to be desired, the pub opposite used to be very good great food and atmosphere but since the Hotel took over the running of it it is no longer as good as it was there are a few places near by to eat so would recommend you try one of them other then that it is a nice Hotel

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire Scotland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

We used this as a stopping off point for the Channel Tunnel, which was only a short drive from this hotel. The reception area was efficient and pleasant. The room was well fitted out, and clean. We didn't hear any noise from the motorway, in spite of it being very near. We decided to eat at the Beefeater which was just a short walk away. The only problem was crossing the A20, the traffic was very fast. We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wildew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

the bath was mouldy,the toiletry tray was dusty,large room but small bed,windows were not locking so couldnt leave them open as we were on ground floor, air con not working, breakfast was dried up with an hour to go befor the end of service, cheap quality food, we were not told about the deposit we had to leave despite having booked with card- most hotels this is enough security, would have liked to leave comments in our room on the comments card but it was alraedy filled in by the last person a month ago! so what use are comments cards and how well do the rooms get cleared!! we used one in the foyer befor leaving.

Room Tip: take a duster
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthtp59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford North A20, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
I'm sorry to read your comments following your stay at the hotel. I am quite surprised that you had a problem with house-keeping as you can see by many other guests feedback the standard of our cleanliness is rated extremely high and our Head Housekeeper has very high standards.I have spoken to my Housekeeper who passes on her sincere apologies and assures me that procedures are in place to ensure make sure these incidents are protected against.

At reception we only take a pre-authorisation on a guests card which then gives them credit facilities within the hotel. Charges are not taken from the card until checkout.

Once again please accept my apologies and perhaps you will visit again that we may show you our true standards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hothfield
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford North
Premier Inn Ashford North
#1 of 2 in Hothfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central
3.0 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford (Eureka Leisure Park) Hotel
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford Central Hotel
3.1 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ashford North A20? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ashford North A20

Property: Holiday Inn Ashford North A20
Address: Garden Court Maidstone Road, Hothfield TN26 1AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hothfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hothfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Ashford North A20 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the charming rural surroundings of the Holiday Inn Ashford-North A20 hotel, with easy access to Ashford's Eurostar train terminal.A country setting and family-friendly atmosphere make Holiday Inn Ashford-North A20 a peaceful home from home. Your Guest room overlooks rolling countryside and it's just 10 minutes' drive to the Eurostar terminal at Ashford ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Ashford North A20 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ashford North a20 Hotel Hothfield
Holiday Inn Hothfield
Hothfield Holiday Inn
Ashford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ashford North A20 Kent, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing