We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be classified a 2 star hotel”
Review of Hotel Radika

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Radika
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mavrovo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“To be classified a 2 star hotel”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very arrogant main waiter that always shout to the waiters and treat them very bed in front of the clients, poor breakfast without coffee and very expensive buffet dinner for what it offers. A real delusion. very poor entertainment for kids, only ping pong and some dirty plastic toys. Staying in Mavrovo I learned that they are better places to stay. Do not spend your money at radika.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank assunta t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    22
    12
    15
    11
See reviews for
28
34
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

I liked very much staying in this hotel it was quit and clean everything it was ok the room the food and the staff it was expectional dedicated to all the guess except for the swimming pool where it was not warm enough.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deggendorf
Level Contributor
128 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

At the time of our visit the hotel made a fairly abandoned impression. Big ads on the roadside in the vicinity of the hotel tried to attract visitors by offering large discounts of room rates.

The hotel seems to have been quite attractive some time ago but now there is a need of renovation as can be seen when looking at the roof.

Outside the hotel a large free parking lot is available. Shopping facilities cannot be found in the vicinity; the tourist center of Mavrovo is about 10 km away.

The hotel's location in the natural park at Mavrovo Lake is very pleasant. The building is not directly at the lake shore but on a hill above the lake. There is a path with many steps leading down to the lake.

People at the front desk were friendly. Breakfast was served in the large restaurant. The food was nicely arranged but not very tasty.

The hotel has a large indoor and outdoor pool area, but none of the pools could be used. There was either no water or it was freezing cold.

Our room was very spacious, had a balcony and was attractively decorated as was the bathroom. The bed was huge but the blanket too small. From the window you had a scenic view of Mavrovo Lake and the surrounding mountains. The Wi-Fi worked well. Unfortunately minibar prices were excessive.

The hotel claims to be 5-star and the number 1 in Macedonia. Our expectations were not met.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sumavax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmamv
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I recently went to Mavrovo specifically to stay at this hotel and enjoy its spa amenities. Upon first arrival, it seemed to be what I expected. The rooms are decorated very nicely, and at a quick glance it seems as if it is the 5 star I was expecting. However, for a few reasons I would say it is an average hotel.

1. To my surprise, ALL of the spa amenities were closed for renovations. While I was there, no work was being done so I do not think it will be a quick turn around. I was very upset because they call themselves a "SPA RESORT". This was extremely miss leading, as there were NO spa features to my stay - which was the only reason I visited. I had e-mailed the hotel prior to booking to get information on the spa, they had replied to me as if it would be available. NO WHERE on the reservations , or on their website did they state that the spa feautres would not be offered.

2. The staff at this hotel do not offer 5 star service. Once our complaints regarding the spa were brought to their attention, they did not have much to say. I would have expected AT LEAST a free breakfast, but they did not have any resolutions for us.

3. FOOD - the food at the hotel is outrageously priced, even for North American standards.
A simple breakfast is $15. If you still choose to visit this hotel, eat elsewhere. You will save A LOT of money and still get great quality food. We chose to eat a different restaurants in Mavrovo and had GREAT meals, and EXCELLENT service.

4. Cleanliness - The hotel wasn't filthy by any means, but it wasn't sparkling fresh either.
Our room was decent, but the hallways and outdoors needed attention. Simply vacuum the hallway carpets instead of sitting around. The grass was not cut outside, there was random bits of trash here and there. Not 5 star !

OVERALL - They need better management and business skills. If the spa needed renovations, they simply should have done one item at a time. Example, close saunas first, and keep the indoor pool. Once saunas are done, work on the indoor pool. There are ways to get renovations done, and still satisfy your customers. People who plan to go to your hotel want the SPA, if they just needed a bed to sleep in they would be going elsewhere. If they put more efforts into this hotel it COULD BE a 5 star. The location is perfect, the room set up is trendy, and amenities ( if working ) are 5 star. Work on your management and customer service skills!

Room Tip: Get a lake view room! Well worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tmamv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mavrovo hotels

Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel has the potential to be a 7-star, but unfortunately too many mistakes are being made to make this any more than a 2-star. The location is perfect, the mountain setting is breathtaking, and the spa and indoor pool looked great in photos, but was closed for unannounced renovations! We booked online a month in advance, and specifically asked if all amenities (indoor/outdoor pools, saunas, spa, heated chairs) were available and included in the price, and they confirmed that this was the case. When we arrived we were very disappointed to find that the indoor pools, saunas, spa, and heated chairs were under 'renovation/maintenance'. This was very frustrating because this means we are receiving less than half of the services that we planned on receiving, and we still had to pay the same rate. The staff at reception made excuses for 15 minutes telling me that they call everyone ahead of time to tell them this (this is a lie), then after arguing for a while they told me they would remove 5 euros from my price per person per night. This wasn't good enough at all, but I was tired of arguing, I was supposed to have a nice weekend with my family. Coffee is 3 times the price per cup of what it is in the nicest cafes in Skopje, so it is much better to drive to the old town of Mavrovo (10km) and have a coffee there for 0.5 euro instead of 2.5 euros. I feel bad, because the owner has clearly invested LOTS of money in this beautiful building, but there is clearly a lack of management. How can you not tell people that your most popular amenities will be unavailable?? Every time I walked into the lobby staff were watching TV, and immediately jumped on their feet when they saw me. You should NEVER be watching TV when you work!! If you have time to watch TV, then you have time to clean or do other things to make the guests more welcome in your hotel. Hopefully the owner reads all my comments and helps to make this place better, because the hotel deserves better.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms are BEAUTIFUL - very clean, well decorated, and welcoming.Jacuzzi is also worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angelovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pristina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I booked the one weekend trip trought Booking.com after having visited the web site. Everything was beautiful, expecially the SPA. When we checked in no info was given that the SPA is under renovation. So the following morning we were without a word when we realized that: Saunas, Tourkish baths, jacuzzis, the swiming pool with salted water from the death sea and the internal swimming pool were CLOSED!!!! Only the outside door pool was open. At the reception when I complained the answer was: "We are not the one that are taking care of the web site"!!!!!
They have ruined the weekend to me and my family. No excuses!!!!!!!
If you want to go: You do it at your own risk!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with the Lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pristina, Kosovo
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

To start with, 5 * hotels in the balkans cannot be considered the same as in most parts of central Europe. In this light, the Radika becomes a hotel worthwhile to visit. The socialistic influences are still visible, however are overriden by the breathtaking setting next to the great lake. Looking at the sun, dissapearing behind the mountaneous scenery I was wondering if I wasn't actually looking at a painting. The restaurant was kinda ok, lacking some more local specialties to the menu could help. Breakfast, was alright too, however it seemed odd to me to pay 5 Euros extra for two coffees, when the whole breakfast cost 18 Euros for two persons.
As a summary, worthwhile visiting for a romantic weekend getaway but not neccessarily more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gece77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mavrovo
22.8 mi away
Scardus Hotel
Scardus Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tetovo
12 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel Banjisht
Hotel Banjisht
#2 of 2 in Debar
8 reviews
23.7 mi away
Lirak Hotel
Lirak Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tetovo
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kosovrast Resort And Spa
23.7 mi away
Hotel Tivoli
Hotel Tivoli
#3 of 3 in Tetovo
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sport Hotel Bistra Mavrovo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Radika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Radika

Property: Hotel Radika
Address: S. Leunovo, Mavrovo, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Polog Region > Mavrovo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mavrovo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Radika 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Radika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing